We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Can't find a bad thing to say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Ranked #34 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't find a bad thing to say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My group stayed at this Springhill for two nights last week while we attended Rock on the Range in Columbus. We arrived very early (long before check in) and would not be able to return to the hotel until after midnight. The front desk clerk offered to put a note on the reservation that we would be back after midnight to make sure the room was not given away. When we returned later that night the very friendly (and pretty) night clerk checked us in with no problem and we were off to our rooms within minutes. She also asked us how the concerts were each night when we got in which was very nice and unexpected.

The room itself was outstanding. The queen beds made us realize how bad our beds and home were and we slept like babies. The separate shower and toilet rooms made getting ready in the morning much easier than if we had to wait for each other to finish. The room also had a very comfortable couch, a mini fridge and a microwave which would have been very useful had we spent more time at the hotel. The room was extremely clean also. I always do a thorough check of the rooms and this one was without a doubt one of the cleanest I’ve ever been in.

The breakfast offered each morning was perfect to get us started: eggs, sausage, pastries, breads, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, etc. There was also plenty of seating available each morning so no one felt rushed while eating.

There was also a very nice patio out front with a little water fall and fire pit which we did not get to enjoy due to it being cold and rainy while we were there.

All in all I was very impressed with this hotel and I would be happy to stay there again next time I am in Columbus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJK925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
LJK925,
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU while attending Rock on the Range. We hope you and your group had a great time at the concert and we're happy to have been a part of your travels. It's fantastic to hear that our clean rooms, excellent service, and value added amenities reflect our high quality standards. Please come back to see us again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    100
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
85
45
6
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Hotel was EXTREMELY clean, quiet, and nice. Only issue I had was the drain in the shower was extremely slow.

Suites have an interesting setup - toilet & small sink in one cutaway, with the shower & bigger sink inside other bathroom cutaway. Nice layout for business travelers.

Closeby to restaurants & bars & campus.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomStax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
TomStax,
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU during your business trip. We appreciate your feedback and have informed our maintenance team of the issues you encountered with the shower drain. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall and would return for another visit in the future. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. Satisfactory breakfast (wife liked the oatmeal). Well configured suite. But very noisy AC - 3rd floor at rear. Very convenient location near OSU, good restaurants, and excellent bike paths.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mikeandjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Mikeandjoni,
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m sorry for the noisy AC and apologize for any inconveniences. I’ll be certain to address your comments with our maintenance staff. It’s great to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise and found our friendly staff and convenient location well suited for your travels. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you have university business, this is a great location. Plenty of room, good restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Breakfast was good although the same food each morning. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turneraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
turneraw,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, along with the many conveniences and options that our location has to offer. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This is exactly what we needed! We wanted to be away just for a couple of days and the time was great :-) The staff, Carmen, Vickie and the two young men that work the evening shift were the most pleasant staff we have ever encountered in hotel personnel especially after having been treated POORLY by the RENAISSANCE HOTEL DOWNTON COLUMBUS...The layout was convenient for us, shower and sink on one side and another sink on the other. We absolutely loved our stay and will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Sherri S,
We're happy to hear from you and pleased to know you loved your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I look for to sharing your kind comments with our staff regarding the friendly service delivered during your stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were in Columbus for a hockey game and college visit so we chose this hotel for the convenient location near both OSU and Nationwide Arena. Springhill Suites is among our favorite brands (Hyatt Place and Hampton Suites, too) because we like having an extra sitting area in our rooms.

One thing we really like about many Springhill Suite hotels is the "split" bathroom where the shower and a sink are in one private area and the toilet and an additional sink are in another area. This hotel offers this kind of layout and it's really nice for a family traveling with older children, teens or young adults because it allows two people to be in different bathroom areas at once when getting ready.

The staff was welcoming & friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Another bonus at this hotel was the free shuttle to Nationwide Arena for the hockey game. We signed up for a departure time when we checked in and the driver dropped seven of us off at the front door of the arena. Sadly, the shuttle service ends at 10:00 PM so we had to take a taxi back to the hotel but it was only $15 including tip for three passengers. So much less hassle than driving ourselves, finding a parking spot, walking to the arena and fighting traffic!

The morning buffet was fresh & tasty, consisting primarily of standard continental fare plus scrambled eggs and sausage. The hotel was busy during our stay so we had to wait for food to be refilled a couple of times.

Free parking was plentiful in the lot around the hotel.

This is a great location with nice amenities that I'd recommend to anyone wanting a hotel close to OSU or Nationwide Arena.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dashulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
dashulak,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting OSU, and it's great to hear you had an opportunity to attend a Blue Jacket's game as well! I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our staff regarding the level of service, comfort and convenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you'll return for another visit in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

But...be aware that train tracks run down the backside of the property and if you are a light sleeper then you may be awakened a couple times per night!

Having said that, the problem I feared was not too bad for me (I had last room in the corridor right at the tracks) and it did not keep me up.

Room was large, very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was nice with a pleasant seating area and constant refreshment of items. Plus coffee was available all day :-)

Fitness room looked useful (but I didn't) with an indoor pool.

Desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

An enjoyable place to stay, even with the trains, especially if you need to work at OSU or the James Medical Centre.

Room Tip: Avoid the track-side rooms if trains keep you awake, but there were generally only 2-3 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
pcrosley,
We appreciate your review and feedback from your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're pleased to hear that our comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and value added amenities made for an enjoyable stay. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#4 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
2.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
0.0 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#97 of 141 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Address: 1421 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Columbus
#31 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing