We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Ranked #34 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the Spring Hill Suites for a business trip to OSU. I had never been to this part of Columbus so I was not familiar with the surroundings. It was very easy to find. There are several restaurants and shops close by to pass the time.

The lobby is very modern. The staff was very polite and check in was simple. There was a little bar in the lobby that could be nice to have a drink after a long day. The breakfast buffet was set up next to the bar. It was one of the nicest continental breakfasts that I have seen. It was very European. There was sliced fruit, cheeses, meats, hot choice, waffles, cereals, and danishes.

The workout room and pool was nothing to get excited about. There were 2 treadmills and ellipticals. There were a few free weights and an inclined bike. The pool was very small and probably for laps only. The water dispenser was empty. The front desk does provide ear phones , which I thought was a nice touch.

The rooms were very nice, but a little strange. The toilet and sink are in a separate room with a frosted door. The shower and another sink are in another room. I guess if you are sharing a room then 2 people can get ready sooner.

The living area was very nice and comfortable. There was a couch, desk, and refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable with three pillows on each bed. There was a lot of noise in the hallways throughout the night which didn't help with sleep. The doors seemed to slam very loud when closed.

The entire experience was very positive and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Liz B,
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We're pleased to hear that our comfortable accommodations, friendly service, and value added amenities made for a positive and memorable stay. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your business travels, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    106
    37
    15
    6
See reviews for
92
46
10
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our second visit in a month. Great location for OSU visit or to get anywhere in Columbus. Hotel is modern clean and quiet. Rooms are euro modern. Toilet and shower are in separate rooms which require you to walk thru the bedroom area to go from one to the other. Different. My wife liked that, I did not. Staff was all friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Doug H,
Thank you for your review and return visit with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. It's fantastic to hear you found our location and accommodations well suited for your travels. We hope to welcome you and your wife back as our guests again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We tend to stay at Marriott hotels and the spring hill suites are a much better value than courtyard. Same comfy beds but the bathrooms are larger and they have free hot breakfasts. Staff was very friendly. Only complaint was that hot tub was full of teenagers at night so we could not use it but it is a college town so that's expected.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilpigggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Lilpigggy,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. It's unfortunate to hear you were unable to use the pool area during your stay, and I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced as a result. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
259 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We selected the SpringHill Suites for a 2-night stay for a nearby family wedding. It was an Ohio State University football weekend so the place was pretty full.

Our room was perfect: a good size, white window shades that softened the view of the roads outside but still let in the light, a mini-fridge and microwave, and one bath with tub/shower and another with the toilet. Note, though, that there are no kitchen utensils in the room so if you heat up food you’ll have to have your own forks and spoons. You’ll find the TV channel listing in the in-room guide.

Coffee and water were available in the lobby 24/7. Breakfast was good and included in the room rate; hot foods included sausage patties and what my husband described as “egg pellets” (although they were labeled scrambled eggs) which were the only real disappointment. I suspected that the yellow blobs had been though several processing steps since it had originated with the chicken. Fresh spinach and grated cheese for the eggs were a nice touch. There was a good variety of breads, oatmeal and a waffle maker as well. Coffee mugs would have been nice for those in the breakfast area; Styrofoam cups were the only option and they always add an off-taste to the coffee.

The pool was tiny; I didn’t use it. Fitness center was better; it had 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical trainers and an exercise bike, all new and equipped with TV screens that had an iPod dock. The dock, unfortunately, was for the old, wider iPod connector so it didn’t work with mine. It might work with an adaptor. The gym was full when I used it which was late Saturday AM.

The immediate area doesn’t have a lot of variety within walking distance. There are 2 restaurants (Varsity Inn and Bob Evans), convenience stores attached to gas stations, and a Target just down the road if you’re up to a longer hike. There's plenty available within a short car drive.

Housekeeping was fine; they showed up around 10 AM and we asked them to return later. We thought they were gone for good but showed up again at about 3 PM, so we did go to sleep in a freshly-made bed.

The room rate seemed a bit steep- just under $400, all-in for 2 nights, nothing other than room and taxes- but I peeked at a few receipts under doors Sunday morning and saw some with a base rate of $199.99. I guess we got a good rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
AThena53,
Thank you for selecting SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU while attending a nearby family wedding. We appreciate you writing a review and sharing feedback both on positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. I'm glad you found our spacious accommodations perfectly suited for your travels, and enjoyed the amenities that we offer. Thank you again for your valuable comments and review. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Location is convenient to campus and downtown area. Lots of restaurants, shopping and movies in close proximity. Rooms are updated and nicely appointed. Staff was professional, courteous and competent. Decent breakfast included or you can go next door to the Bob Evans. Light sleepers may have difficulty with train tracks behind and a busy road in front of hotel. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ritch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
ritch32,
We're happy to hear from you, and we thank you for sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. It's fantastic to hear that our friendly staff and close proximity to campus, downtown, along with many entertainment and dining options made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel every other week for the past six months, and not one of those visits has been poor. I'll e staying here for the foreseeable future on this project. My team flies in as a large group, all together, and the front desk staff knows most of our names, has our quirky room preferences down, and always have good suggestions for food, places to run, and things to do.

Facilities are always clean, rooms are comfortable and modern. The staff is friendly and talkative, but they will also let you be when you have work to do. Breakfast in the mornings is actually pretty decent! Located close to major highways for easy transportation and navigation. Right nights to the OSU medical campus as well.

I highly recommend this location for professional or semi-professional visits. If you're going for something more social, you might want to look closer to the city. Though, like I said, you're practically across the street from OSU.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping with lights coming through your window, avoid the north side of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Brian F,
Thank you for your review and continued patronage at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I'm pleased to hear we consistently provide friendly service and clean accommodations that makes for a comfortable stay during your business travels. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your professional trips, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you again for writing and sharing your high recommendations of our great hotel.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaugnsville Ohio 45893
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently stayed the SpringHill Suites OSU while attending Grandson's wedding.. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness in accommodating the friends and relatives of the bridal party went far beyond our expectations. Thanks to Melody Dinges and her staff. Wonderful décor and VERY clean. Nice, big rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Sharon N,
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU while attending your Grandson's wedding. We're happy to have been a part of such a special occasion, and we're glad you found our staff's sincere hospitality to exceed your expectations. I'll be certain to pass along your kind comments and will recognize Melody with a special commendation for her outstanding service. Thank you again for writing and sharing your reflections. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#8 of 143 in Columbus
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
601 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbus OSU
Courtyard Columbus OSU
#1 of 1 in Grandview Heights
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Address: 1421 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Columbus
#31 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing