We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Ranked #36 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its central proximity to several Columbus venues. We found the hotel to be clean, service was very timely, and the staff extremely friendly. Our room was very clean and provided plenty of space for our 5 visitors.

Our only complaint would be the lack of fans in the bathrooms. The sliding doors provide viewing privacy however you can hear everything taking place on the other side of the door. This can be uncomfortable when sharing a room with friends.

Overall, our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SStrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
SStrat,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. It’s great to know our central location to Columbus venues met your satisfaction and you found our accommodations clean and spacious during your stay. We appreciate your feedback on both positive and opportunities for improving our guest experience. We’re happy to inform you that our bathrooms are equipped with exhaust fans, however, they do not produce a sound while in use. I’m glad you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us, and we do hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    105
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
91
46
9
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here when we went to visit my sister at OSU. One of the main reasons we picked this hotel was because it was very close to my sister's apartment. When we looked at pictures online, we were impressed and looking forward to our stay. We arrived on a Friday during rush hour, and getting into the hotel was a bit of a pain (if turning left into the hotel), but once we got inside, all went well. Check-in was smooth, and the gentleman checking us in was very pleasant.
We got a room on the ground floor, (later that night I wish I would've asked for the top floor) and the room was clean and very nice. I really like the layout of the rooms. The only thing I will complain about is the bathroom door(s). They do not block light very well. I had read reviews that people complained about being able to actually see figures on the other side of the door, but that doesn't seem to be an issue any more, but they block out very little light and sound. Luckily it was just my daughter and I staying, because my husband has a tendency to get up very early and that would have definitely woke me up. And it's very uncomfortable to use the restroom with visitors, they can hear everything! But, they're pretty.
I was awoken around 11pm on our first night by the air conditioner making funny noises, but that didn't bother me too much. What really bothered me was the jumping around I could hear above us. It sounded like someone doing flips/jumps/leaps until at least 2 in the morning. I know, I should have called the front desk, but I just sucked it up and went back to sleep.
Overall, the stay was very pleasant. Breakfast is your usual free hotel fare - waffles, fruit, bagels, muffins, etc. Before arriving, I looked on Tripadvisor and one of the most recent reviews mentioned seeing a bug in the room. I thought, no big deal. Until our last morning. I was sitting eating our breakfast (in the room, too busy in the breakfast area) and out of the corner of my eye I see this big black bug walking by my foot. Ick. It just creeped me out, and made me lose my appetite. Soon after that, we went to go check out. This time, there were two people working behind the counter, and a couple in front of us asking about the area. I understand helping guests, but I stood there five minutes while both of the employees chit-chatted away. I kept my calm and waited my turn, but it really bothered me. When it was finally my turn, I told the gentleman I was checking out. He asked if I got my invoice under my door, and I did, but they leave them sticking outside the door (that really needs to change for the safety and privacy of your guests). That was the extent of our conversation. He did not ask me if everything was okay with our stay, because I would have mentioned the bug and the noise. Oh well, here I am telling the Tripadvisor world.
The trains aren't really that noisy IMO, but I do live in a town with over 100 trains (bells, whistles, and all) that drive through constantly, so I'm used to that and appreciated how quiet these trains were! LOL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimieb822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
jaimieb822,
Thank you for writing a review. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff, clean accommodations, and spacious layout of our rooms. We always appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback both positive and opportunities for improvement. I sincerely apologize for the noisy disturbances encountered during your visit, as well as the bug you saw on your last day. Please know we take any issues of pests seriously and have addressed your comments with our team inorder to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you travel to Columbus.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed staying with our sister at this hotel; staff was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and they were very accommodating for our requests for extra towels, etc.

The only downfall is that we wanted a cot which did not seem to be available. The breakfast is good and my son enjoyed using the wafflemaker; even though he was disappointed it was not available on Monday (appears to be weekend only)

Room Tip: Have your room opposite the side with the train tracks as it gets noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMAICANToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
JAMAICANToronto,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m pleased to know you found our clean accommodations and helpful staff to meet your expectations. We apologize for your disappointment in not being able to fulfill your cot request. Since every guest room includes a pull-out sofa bed, the space limitations restricts us from offering cots as well. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here one weeknight before an OSU Tour. Check-In was fast, efficient, accommodating and friendly honoring our request of a high floor (4th floor is highest) on a quieter side of the hotel. (The front of the hotel is actually more quiet as a train runs behind the hotel.) The lobby was clean and modern. Staff super. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean. No complaints on noise here but for a new hotel while the bed linens were great the mattress was soft & lumpy (no heavenly bed here) & the towels were thin & cheap. The complimentary breakfast in the lobby looked great (we passed) but it was crowded & seating limited at the 8am time we were there for coffee. Free wifi was a bonus. All in all this hotel is just minutes from OSU and very clean & modern & friendly. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Top floor (4) on front side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverMusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
CompassionMomma,
Thank you your review and kind comments about our great hotel and wonderful staff. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while visiting OSU, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is important to us so we appreciate hearing from you. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU.

Kind regards,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here with my family for a softball tournament. The staff was very friendly and competent. The rooms were large, bright and very clean. Location was great. Very close to the OSU campus. Would be a great place to stay for a football game.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
FamilyTravels09,
We appreciate you and your family staying with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU while in town for a softball tournament. We’re glad you enjoyed our great location, friendly staff, as well as our clean and spacious accommodations during your visit. Please plan to visit us again for another family trip or an upcoming OSU football game. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We usually stay in pretty high end hotels but we wanted to be really close to the house of some friends we were visiting and opted for this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised!! We've never stayed at Springhill properties before but I would return to this one and consider others if I had too.

We liked the layout of the room with the separate water closet and separate shower room and sink. The room was really modern even though the sofa was sort of low end looking it provided plenty of comfort and room for us to relax. I sat at the desk a lot while we were there and it was well appointed and laid out. The bed and pillows were just AWFUL!!! We were there for 4 nights and every morning we woke up saying we had slept horribly and that the bed was like a bumpy rack and pillows just flattened the minute your head hit them! But other than that the accommodations were good.

My partner ate in the breakfast area (I did not). He said it was decent but the food didn't look anything like the pictures that were in the elevators or in the pictures we saw online. But he enjoyed getting up and reading the paper and sat there for 90 minutes or so each morning having his coffee. So not a big deal overall. There was a Bob Evans right next door so I always wanted to eat there!

The staff was really nice and always were around to help if we needed anything. I requested extra towels a couple of times during our stay and they brought them up very quickly each time I asked for them.

Overall I would stay there again but we would hope the beds would be more comfortable than the king sized bed we were in during this stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the railroad tracks! We were right along the tracks and heard the rumbl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
scottyhouston,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our spacious accommodations and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improvement and apologize for the areas that we fell short of meeting your expectations. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had a room on the 4th floor on the side of the hotel. The room was modern, clean and generally nice and all the bathroom fittings look brand new. There is a train track at the rear of the hotel and I heard the trains at intervals through the night. The room tariff included breakfast which was available on the entrance level in a large bar/sitting area. It was nice to have plenty of space and tables to choose from. The breakfast fare was ok, not outstanding, but at least it wasn't an additional cost. The hotel is about 1 mile from OSU and the medical centre so it is possible to walk (it is flat all the way) but is some distance from the downtown area. There didn't seem to be an airport shuttle for the hotel so it was a $30 taxi ride instead.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bandicoot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Bandicoot2,
We appreciate you writing a review and sharing your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and our clean accommodations. We sincerely apologize for the noise you encountered from the train. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#8 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#102 of 143 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbus OSU
Courtyard Columbus OSU
#1 of 1 in Grandview Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Address: 1421 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Columbus
#31 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing