We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location decent hotel, but not as good as other Springhill Suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #32 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location decent hotel, but not as good as other Springhill Suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We drove down to Ohio from Michigan to get a puppy from a breeder. We decided to make it an overnight trip and settled on the Springhill Suites OSU. The area is busy, plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. It is very close to the OSU campus if you are visiting for that purpose. The price was decent for the accommodations.

Check in was painless. We got a room on the second floor. Room was clean and modern-looking. I loved the huge flat screen TV. I was a little surprised at the size, because I have been to other Springhill Suites and their rooms were larger. It was everything we needed though, so I was not too disappointed. The beds were not as comfortable as other Springhill Suites or hotels in the Marriott chain. One of the main reasons I stick with the Marriott brand is because of the comfort of the beds and sheets. This hotel did not have as quality beds and linens as what I am used to. Not the worst, but certainly far from other Marriotts.

The pool is teeny tiny and there is no hot tub. I did not like the fact that the pool room had floor to ceiling windows that faced the parking lot. No privacy, so I did not use it. Work out room was on the small size, but had nice new machines. The lobby was big and comfortable.

One of the highlights of our stay was the small lobby bar. Our server was a very nice young lady who was a pleasure to talk with. The bar had a good selection of local bottled beer, popular brands as well as premium liquor. The prices were not too bad, either. There was also a large flat screen TV, if you feel like vegging out during your nightcap.

I cannot comment on noise from the train, we were facing the road and were not disturbed by anything outside. The air conditioner was a little loud, but it helps me sleep, so I was fine with it. I found no bugs, stains, or anything else unpleasant. The toilet was extremely loud when it was flushed, so if others in the room are sleeping, it may wake them!

I was happy with our stay, but what prevents this hotel from being a 4 out of 5 is the not-so-comfortable beds and sheets. A minor detail, but for me, given my expectation from past Marriott experiences, it was enough to knock a point off.

Room Tip: Ask for a "river view" room if you are afraid the noise from the train may disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrixia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
adrixia,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our clean accommodations and found the friendly atmosphere of our lobby bar to be a highlight to your stay. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your valuable comments provide opportunities for improving our guest satisfaction. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    95
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
82
44
6
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My staying was very disappointed at this hotel. There are two bad things about this hotel.

First, the rear hotel by the train tracks. In the front of the hotel is a major road. If you already book this hotel I will suggest you should request for the third floor or second floor room in the front would be less noisy. Never take the room in the rear or on the fourth floor. It's noisy and you will be wondering what is that noise at 12:30 a.m.

Second, I found two bugs in the room. One live bug and one dead bug. I made a complained to the front desk staff, supervisor, supervisor escalated to his manager. They apologized about the bug in the room. They said these bugs came from outside and they are harmless. In addition, it's very common to find these bugs in Columbus, Ohio. How can you stay with a bug in the hotel room? This hotel never have exterminator to inspect yearly or bi-yearly. It is unacceptable. I requested for a room changed but they said only an accessible room is available. I did not take the accessible room in case someone is needed. I asked if I can get a two queens bed and got refused due to I paid my room at $89 per night through Priceline only can get a king size bed. They don't like customers purchase room through Priceline. They will treat you differently which is bad.

Room Tip: There are many better hotels in Columbus, OH. If you have no luck like me. Paid for the hotel then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qgirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Qgirla,
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had and sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not a satisfying one. Your feedback is important to us. Please know we take any issues of pests extremely seriously and have taken extra steps in addition to our monthly pest control treatments inorder to provide a more positive experience. We appreciate your business and value you as our guest. We hope you'll give us another chance the next time you travel to Columbus. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Awesome, and so so amazing, the stay was so so worth the stay, this place is amazing and a perfect place to stay, a lot of area shops and eatery around.Must check them out.Staff is amazing andvery very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Blessed73,
Thank you for writing a review about your experience with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. I’m pleased to hear that our great location and friendly staff made for a perfect place to stay on your travels. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for your review and kind comments.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonald, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff, our room, the breakfast....all really, really, nice. The room was a huge surprise, the couch with the lounger was soooooo comfortable, I could have slept on that all night. High end amenities were a welcome plus to our stay. And the front desk staff were very helpful with all our requests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Macmarsh6264
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate your kind comments about our helpful staff, spacious and comfortable accommodations, as well as the high end amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Columbus. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean and fresh hotel with a modern feel. This is a comfortable hotel but....not high in quality as far as sheets, towels, and breakfast. Make sure your room is not facing the train and it will be quiet; otherwise you will hear the train a few times a night. The breakfast has the gross premade eggs and sausage and the usual good selection of fruits, ceral, yogurt and breads. the work out room is small but has good functioning equipment for a quick workout. Nice location!

Room Tip: Stay away from the back by the train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
mtnspirit,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice clean hotel with breakfast next to The Ohio State University campus, when you need to be close for activities being held at the university. Beds are not as comfortable in our opinion, breakfast was ok. The price for the room was $$$ in our opinion. The layout of the room was odd, with the bed facing the bathroom. The staff was very friendly and deserve 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browns64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Browns64,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU. We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff, clean hotel, and great location. Your feedback is important to us and we apologize for the areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Columbus or visit OSU. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have been a Marriott frequenter for many years but first time at their Springhill Suites. Quite impressed. No kitchen area like many suites, but a nicely divided room with lounging area, desk area, and nice sleeping area. Somewhat Scandinavian styled. Separate toilet and shower area. Don't know about price as a company put me up, but it must be quite reasonable. We'll see what the free breakfast is like in the AM!

Room Tip: Well, this hotel is built right next to the railroad tracks! I'm on the 4th floor, and a train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCIndialantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
CCIndialantic,
Thank you for writing a review about your first stay with us at SpringHill Suites. I’m pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations with our spacious and comfortable accommodations. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
0.0 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#103 of 142 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#4 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
1.2 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Address: 1421 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43212
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Columbus
#31 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing