We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomindating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Ranked #40 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Tiffin, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Accomindating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Me and my wife were given a one night stay at this hotel as Christmas gift for a Valentine's weekend getaway from my parents. Upon arrival I noticed the lobby had an excellent post modern look with a waterfall and faux fireplace. My father was assured by someone at the hotel that I would not need his credit card to check in. Of course, being standard operating procedure, the front desk clerk did indeed ask for it. Well, I didn't have it and the manager was extremely nice and understanding and worked with us to get checked in after we got everything sorted out. In fact, he felt so bad about all the confusion he bumped us up to an King Suite and no extra charge! The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The pool is fantastic for a family. The breakfast was nice and the attendant was very friendly. Great place to stay. Will be back when come around Columbus again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for your review of the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris. I'm so pleased that you & your wife chose to spend Valentine's Day with us!
I do apologize for the confusion regarding the need to present a credit card but am very happy to hear that our manager not only took care of the problem, but upgraded your room as well!
We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to our area again!

Warmest Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    79
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
145
45
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here two nights for a little family get away. Great location right off I-71, north of Columbus, near lots of restaurants and a mall. Hotel was clean with a great pool. The water was chilly for a toddler, but okay for about 20 minutes; hot tub- nice and hot. There is an awesome kiddie slide in shallow end; as well as a bigger slide for older kids and adults, however it was not open when we were there (no lifeguard). Breakfast- Attendant sweet as can be, breakfast area bright and roomy, cinnamon rolls good, cereal, milk, bread etc.; not a fan of the hot food omelets, sausauge, pancakes. No complaints, no hidden fees, free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanlover226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Oceanlover,
Thank you so much for your recent stay and online review of the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris! We truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests.
I do apologize that the pool water was on the chilly side during your stay. I know that it can be tricky to get toddlers out of the pool when they're having so much fun. Should you have the same problems on a future visit, please do let the staff know and we can check that the pool heater is working as it should be. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay enough to write a review and we hope to have you as our return guest in the future!
Warm Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I took two 13 year old girls to Columbus for a concert. I looked at hotels closer to the arena but when I saw that this hotel was close to Polaris, another thing we were going to do and had a water park I decided to stay here. I am so glad we did. The girls had a fantastic time in the water park. We arrived at 6 on Friday night and a lifeguard was on duty so the slide was open. The girls played in the water park until it closed at 11 only stopping to eat pizza I picked up nearby. They loved the slide but also loved the basketball hoop and the hot tub. The room was very nice. We had a two queen room and the beds were comfortable and the mini fridge was nice. The woman working in the breakfast room was very efficient and friendly. I think her name was Leslie. She even took the time to show the girls how the automatic pancake maker worked. We went back to the water park on Sunday morning and there was a lifeguard on duty and the slide was open. I asked for a late check out and that request was granted and so the girls played for three hours and had to be dragged out of the pool. My only small complaint is that they have loud flushing toilets and you can hear them in rooms nearby when they are flushed. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele45030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Michele,
Thank you so much for your recent stay at the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris. We're so pleased to hear how much the girls and you enjoyed your stay! I hope you enjoyed the concern just as much! Since you mentioned the Arena District, I'm guessing you saw Rascal Flatts? :) I hear they are amazing in concert!
We hope your travels bring you back to the Polaris area and you stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We just came down for Martin Luther King Weekend and picked this hotel based on reviews and pics. Sure, it might have been a little pricier than some of the smaller hotels......but I'm a firm believer in "you get what you pay for" and that couldn't be any more true with this hotel!!! From the check-in, I was amazed at how clean the place was. We opted for a Double-Queen suite, since we have several kids, and it was also great, lots of space. The kids loved the pool and we spent over two hours down there, which made going to sleep a snap. Finally, the breakfast was great, and the staff we exceptionally friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Patrick,
Thank you so much for your recent stay at the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris. I am so happy to hear that your stay was so enjoyable! How wonderful to hear what a great time your family had in the pool recreation area! (I hear that it's a great way to get the kids to go to sleep all the time!)
We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future!
Best Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel is just a few months old and everything still seems so new. We live down the street but stayed one night for a special slumber party for my daughter's birthday. Our 2 Queen suite was spacious and clean and the girls loved it, especially the plum colored wall behind the beds. The mini-fridge, microwave and in-room sink came in very handy for snacks especially after the 11pm run down to the snack center in the lobby for the late night treat.

The staff very friendly and accommodating. When I told them I would have 4 nine-year-olds in a room, they didn't bat an eye. We stayed in room 210 which was perfect for us - the room below was the lobby and we were close to the elevator but not too close that it was noisy.

The highlight of the trip was the swimming pool or as we called it, a mini-indoor waterpark. We arrived on a Friday night and the lifeguard was on duty until 11pm! All slides were open and all water features on. The hot tub was nice as I could sit in it and watch the girls play in the pool below. The girls played for hours that night and were back at it at 8am the next morning when the pool opened.

The breakfast fare is the typical HI Express Continental - pancakes,scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits, muffins, toast, english muffins, cinnamon rolls, fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, cereal, instant oatmeal, milk, juices, tea,coffee and hot chocolate. A good variety and included in the room price, can't be beat.

The girls are already planning their next sleep over at the HI Express. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 210- perfect for 5 young girls as the lobby was directly below so no worries if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelsOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so pleased to hear that we helped to make your daughter's birthday celebration such a happy one - I'm sure the girls loved the water features, especially the slide! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review to let others know about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris!
We look forward to seeing you when you return!

Best Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

This 4 month old Holiday Inn Express far exceeded expectations. When you first walk into the lobby you're instantly impressed. It's trendy and beautifully decorated. The desk clerk ( Alex Settlemire) was friendly and accommodating. We we're in a 2 Queen suite and it was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The only thing that didn't match the rest of the room was the bathtub and shower walls. The rest of the bathroom was trendy and nice. The only issue in the room...and this is a VERY minor issue...is that the only trash can in the room was extra small so we had to ask housekeeping for extra trash bags.

Now let's get to the indoor swimming pool....or should I say swimming pool/mini water park/kiddie pool. Very impressive. The water slide was open and the kids loved it.There was a great balance between a fun area for kids of all ages, adults that just wanted a nice swim and those who enjoy relaxing in a spacious jacuzzi whirlpool tub. They even had handicap accessible chair lift to accommodate those wheelchair bound so they too could enjoy the pool. There were plenty of tables, chairs and loungers for those wanting to just hang out poolside. I didn't get to use the gym but it was very nice and well equipped with modern new equipment. They also have a laundry facility for guest use.

The breakfast was better than most but not as great as others. They had scrambled eggs, sausage links, biscuits { no gravy :o( }, cinnamon rolls, cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, milk, variety of juices, oatmeal, hot chocolate, tea and coffee. The highlight was an automated pancake machine, although I prefer waffles, it was great because they came out perfect every time. I would like to have seen some fresh fruit and yogurt. The dining area is spacious with plenty of seating and televisions. We ate ours on a comfy couch in front of a warm cozy modern wall fireplace and watched the huge flat screen television mounted above.

Over all, I loved this hotel, I will return again and I think it's great for families, couples and those in town for business. The cost to stay was very economically affordable I was surprised the cost to stay wasn't higher. Honestly, I've stayed at other hotels paid way more and got way less. The management was so nice they allowed us to do a 2pm complimentary late check out so we could enjoy the pool area a little longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the front side of the hotel...next time I'll request one towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisluvoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Krislovuh,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much you took the time to write this review!
I will happily pass along your compliments to Alex and the rest of the staff - we are lucky that we have such an amazing staff here!
We very much look forward to your return visit and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Rooms are large, very clean, modern, and new. Plenty of electrical outlets, and a very large HDTV with HD cable.

The shower is very big, and the wifi is very fast (wired access available in room as well). The staff is also very friendly. Remember to ask for your bonus points on check in.

Room Tip: Elevators are very quiet, no need to fear being near them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkinnear, Management Company Representative at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Polaris. I am very pleased to hear that your stay went so well and we look forward to having you as our return guest!

Best Regards,
Betsy Kinnear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
13.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Address: 8670 Orion Pl, Columbus, OH 43240-4030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Columbus
#18 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing