We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near campus”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a game weekend. So, it was crowded but there was ample parking. The rooms are large enough for my whole family of 5! The breakfast was decent for my family. The only downside being that its too far from the stadium to walk. However, it was also nice to be a reasonable distance from the stadium when it came to all the tailgaters.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lochall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    137
    26
    17
    5
See reviews for
205
71
19
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent Hyatt Place in an excellent Columbus location - close to OSU and great bistro-style restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. It's just like the Hyatt Place commercials running right now!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us. Im glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our great staff.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked this hotel because I hav enjoyed stays at Hyatt place in other locations. I noticed this hotel was 3 miles from my conference so I called and was told they had a free shuttle that would take me and pick me up to any OSU location. Upon checkin I went to schedule the shuttle and was told it was out of service. I explained that this was the only reason I booked this hotel adn if I had known this I would have stayed within walking distance to the conference. At first I was told they could do nothing but call me a cab. Eventually ( though it took a little persistance and a call to the manager on my part) they did arrrange taxis and paid fare to and from each day. This hotel is clean and the rooms are large. all the rooms had a large (like 42-46 in flat screen), sitting area with sectional, desk, and minifridge. The negative is that it is kind-of remote and not much (just a Jason's Deli) within walking distance. The taxis were a bit pricy in the area too with it ranging from 10-12 for 3 miles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for staying with us. I appologize for the issue with the shuttle. We did have a major issue with the shuttle during your stay. If in the future you have any issues with your stay please feel free to reach out to me directly at 614-569-2910.

I hope to talk with at your next stay at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Place during an event organized at the Ohio State University. I stayed for 2 nights.

What struck me the most was how helpful and courteous the HP staff was. We had a relatively large group and were utilizing the HP shuttle service and all the staff were fantastic and very accommodating.

My room was very nice and far more spacious then I needed. It felt more like a suite than a hotel room. It was very clean, well maintained, and modern. I had absolutely no complaints about the room. Wifi access was unproblematic.

The breakfast in the morning was also very nice. It was a bit packed in the eating/lobby area in the morning one of the days but generally it was a good experience. There was a selection of hot food, cereal, breads/bagels, juice, coffee, and tea. It was well done, clean, and efficiently managed despite the volume of people.

Overall, I had an excellent experience at the Hyatt Place and would highly recommend it. I will note that OSU covered our accommodations so I actually have no idea how much it cost to stay there. Because of this, I am rating it excellent value, but obviously not everyone is so fortunate!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Wong_CANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed for three nights on business and could not fault it. Very clean and well laid out. We had to go to meetings at Ohio State University and they provided the shuttle bus for us, no charge. Gym is small but it does the job and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. Wifi was excellent, never had a problem getting connected anywhere. There is an excellent sports bar next door, Buckeye Hall of Fame Grill, one of the best sports bars I've ever been to in the USA. Apart from the sports bar there is nothing around the place such as shops etc etc but you are a 20 minute walk into town and there are plenty of decent bars and places to eat. It's an easy walk with a pavement, unusual for the USA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddman572001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. I agree the Buckeye Hall of Fame is one of the best sports bars around and only steps from the hotel. Hope to see you on your next trip to columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here May 2013. From check in to getting recommendations to the actual room, everything was great. Rooms was comfortable, spacious, with workcenter and comfy bed with extra pillows. Check in and out was easy and staff were very kind and helpful. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninasue00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for the great review. Let me know if there is anything we can ever do inorder to make your stay more comfortable.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i just flew in for the weekend to visit family near by and glad we were able to get a room at the last minute (poor planning on my part). The Hyatt Place team have helped us at every turn. I have to give them an extra big kudo for having Torrefazione (tori-fah-zee-oh-knee) coffee during breakfast; being from Seattle, coffee is king and Tori is our daily cup of choice at home. Thx Hyatt Place, we will be baaaack! Oh yes, next time I will plan ahead;)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank winexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for the great review. Look forward to talking with you on your next visit.

Best Regards.
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,625 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
601 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing