We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

6 of us had 2 rooms for Arnold weekend. The hotel is very close to down town, and many area restaurants. Both rooms were very nice. The King bed plus pullout had a bit nicer bathroom than the room with 2 doubles and a pullout. The beds were comfortable as were the pullouts. Breakfast was good. Internet was plenty fast. They had a small business area to print boarding passes, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Will most likely stay again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel. If there is anything that we can do next time to earn 5 stars please feel free to email me directly at mholtzleiter@columbushospitality.com or call my direct phone number at 614-569-2910.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    103
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
142
54
14
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I chose the hotel because most others were sold out or jacked the prices crazy high because of all the stuff going on at the convention center. It's a bit far off from everything but they do offer a free shuttle service.
I checked in late and was given a wheelchair accessible room and told there weren't any others which of course, had to be true given the craziness in town. The room is a bit too clinical for my tastes and I do prefer a tub as I am not in a wheelchair. I just hope nobody who actually needed that type of room checked in later than me. But otherwise, the room was adequately comfortable.
The fitness facility is ok and they have only one bench and no mats or ab stuff but if you wanna pay for a day pass you can always go to the gym located just steps away.
The food at the bar was good and everyone there was very helpful and friendly.
Just a few bumps that couldn't be avoided but my overall stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryDiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello,

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. It sounds like your stay was during the Arnold Sport Classics, which is one the busiest and exciting weekends in Columbus. On your next stay please feel free to utilize our complimentary shuttle. The hotel is only located 1.5 miles from downtown Columbus, 1.5 miles from The Ohio State University and 1 mile from Downtown Grandview Heights. Our shuttle cans usual get guests to the major attractions in Columbus is about 5-7 minutes. Thank you again for staying with us while in Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
207 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Would have gone to five stars but for two issues:

1. Greasy fingerprints on the bathroom door. Looked like someone had been eating french fries, then pushed the door open with their fingers.

2. Sofa cushions coming unstitched along the piping and generally worn-looking.

Other than that, this place is amazing. VERY clean (other than the extremely obvious fingerprints). Super-friendly staff. Great breakfast, comfortable lobby, handy shuttle (free - but be sure to tip your driver!). Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. Loved the separate sitting area, plus the desk area with the mini-fridge!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. I glad that the staff, complimentary breakfast, and shuttle made it a great stay. I've address the issue that you noticed with the room and I'm extremely confident that you will be able to rate the hotel a 5 out of 5 on your next trip to Columbus.

Please feel free to contact me at 614-569-2910 if there is anything I can do.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
407 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent five days here and found that it was one of the nicest, cleanest hotels we have stayed with in a very long time. The public bathrooms were always being scrubbed as were the common areas. The staff was always accomodating and friendly. All of them seemed to work very hard keeping the place top notch. Managers used brooms and mops, etc. Nice to see the combined effort from everyone. Great breakfast, with a newspaper. If you are staying in northwest Columbus, no need to look anywhere else. This place is the greatest and so close to everything. Closets were a little small for our 5 day stay but if you are here only 1-3, they are fine. (My wife brings way too many clothes, thus the problem)

Room Tip: All rooms are great but if you need more closet space, tell them and get the king rooms, they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onceinawhile31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. My entire hospitality family looks forward to seeing you on your next trip into town.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Terrific, awesome, amazing, and oh my goodness.You will love this Hotel its amazing and so so quite. And in a great area.Its perfect.This place is so amazing I had to book another evening this place is wonderful.Staff here are great.And u can take a nice walk around its perfect.U must go and stay at this Hotel.U will fall in love.Come on u can do it.Try it out

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the great review and I’m glad you loved the hotel and our service. I’ll be sure to share this with my staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, NY
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We visit Columbus a few times a year to visit our daughter and the Hyatt is our favorite hotel so far! New, clean, modern, and friendly! The room was spacious and attractive. We loved the L shaped couch and huge tv! Very good mattress and bedding. Beautiful walk-in shower. Decent breakfast, nice location, easy parking. A great value for what you get. You feel like you are in a much more expensive hotel! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I’m glad you enjoyed the hotel on your recent stay. I also love the “cozy corner” couch that is in every room. It really makes it nice to watch the 42 inch HD TV. We are in the process of making some improvement to the Breakfast so be on the lookout during your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I rate this hotel four dots because of its excellent value proposition in its category rating. It's clean, new and modern. Plenty of COVERED FREE parking!. Decent bedding and ample room space (with a sit down desk) even for a large family of five. Nice flat screens TV with plenty of channels and HDMI input (pack your Roku and HDMI cable). Breakfast is complete although basic and it's included in the room rate.

There are just a few things that needs attention to make this hotel perfect for its class category (five dots out of five). The hotel needs to improve the room's shower water pressure which is lacking (we stayed in the top floor). Management may want to add one more piece of cardio of equipment in the gym (it was fine during our stay but it could be a problem during busy times). Finally a note to the folk at Hyatt corporate - please consider changing the liquid soap that you provide at Hyatt Place (the ones now don't smell very good). although thanks for the tube of Aquafresh toothpaste (very nice). All in all a very good stay at Hyatt Place OSU Columbus.

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Ohio State University, but you'll need to have your own transportation to move around and explore the town. There not much around so with out a car you will be stuck.

During our visit, we went to an OSU Basketball game; the opposing team stay at this hotel so looks like is popular with visiting team.

Room Tip: OSU fans will enjoy getting a bite to eat at the Buckeye theme restaurant (menu similar to Chili'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANewPlaceEveryTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Columbus. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of changing out bathroom soap, shampoo, and conditioner to an updated product. This will be in the rooms starting in February 2013.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
1.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing