We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star for its type” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Five star for its type”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I rate this hotel four dots because of its excellent value proposition in its category rating. It's clean, new and modern. Plenty of COVERED FREE parking!. Decent bedding and ample room space (with a sit down desk) even for a large family of five. Nice flat screens TV with plenty of channels and HDMI input (pack your Roku and HDMI cable). Breakfast is complete although basic and it's included in the room rate.

There are just a few things that needs attention to make this hotel perfect for its class category (five dots out of five). The hotel needs to improve the room's shower water pressure which is lacking (we stayed in the top floor). Management may want to add one more piece of cardio of equipment in the gym (it was fine during our stay but it could be a problem during busy times). Finally a note to the folk at Hyatt corporate - please consider changing the liquid soap that you provide at Hyatt Place (the ones now don't smell very good). although thanks for the tube of Aquafresh toothpaste (very nice). All in all a very good stay at Hyatt Place OSU Columbus.

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Ohio State University, but you'll need to have your own transportation to move around and explore the town. There not much around so with out a car you will be stuck.

During our visit, we went to an OSU Basketball game; the opposing team stay at this hotel so looks like is popular with visiting team.

Room Tip: OSU fans will enjoy getting a bite to eat at the Buckeye theme restaurant (menu similar to Chili'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANewPlaceEveryTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Columbus. You will be happy to know that we are in the process of changing out bathroom soap, shampoo, and conditioner to an updated product. This will be in the rooms starting in February 2013.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    108
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
150
56
14
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location and a Buckeye bar right next door. Clean and spacious rooms. Big screen television. Free parking. Great place to stay for Buckeye games or entertaining in the Arena district. Good quality breakfast. Highly recommend for Ohio State Football games.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioTexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip into Columbus. The Buckeye Grill is a favorite of many guests and really shows the OSU spirit that our area has to offer. Go Bucks!

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked my trip on Priceline, and read all the details provided to me. My wife was traveling with children and our 2 small dogs. When she arrived at the hotel after 8 hours of driving, she was told about the pet fee. $150 for the first dog and $50 per dog after that. We didn't know about the pet fee. The person at the counter presented a Priceline screen shot that had the pet fee. I contacted the front desk to discuss this issue. I walked the person through how to book a hotel on Priceline, and she verified that the fees are not on there.

I am in day 2 of discussions relating to this issue. The discussion with the supervisor today contiually led to a statement or,"The fees are on OUR website." I didn't book on the Hyatt webiste, the same as most of you who read this.

I have to wait until day 3 to discuss this with the hotel general manager. I am hopeful that my issue will be resolved, but with the customer service I have received so far, I doubt it. We will not stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iLiketoeatpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I’m sorry that there was confusion about our pet policy. I have addressed this issue with Priceline on why they are not accurately explaining the hotel policy. The hotel does accept pets but there is a cleaning charged associated with this. Our pet policy can been seen on the hotel main website and is “Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU allows a maximum of 2 pets per room. Pets must not exceed 50 lbs and must be housebroken. Pets are designated as a dog. A non-refundable cleaning fee of $150 for the first pet, and if there is a second pet, then an additional $50 will be charged to the guest. The cleaning fee will be inclusive of taxes.”

I believe we have spoken about this issue and the issue has been resolved. If not feel free to contact me at 614-569-2910 or by email at mholtzleiter@columbushospitality.com to get this issue resolved.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great place to stay! Had family at the medical center at OSU for three days and stayed at this hotel each night. Very clean and comfortable. Especially liked the size of the room. Like a suite at other hotels, but for a standard fee. Great to have a couch to sit on for watching TV or reading.
The staff was very attentive and eager to please. Will be staying here again when we return to OSU medical center for a 30 day stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kspethtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Really cool hotel with a great layout, perfect location and really awesome staff. We had check in early and made that request in our reservation notes. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile and with "I've already prepared a room for you." Nice! This isn't a full service hotel and the breakfast is what you'd expect. There's a popular local restaurant next store. We were a mile from a shopping area and just 3 miles from OSU.

Room Tip: This is in a great location just outside of the city in a revitalized industrial area so get a 6th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. We truly value your business and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A great hotel for those with business in the Ohio State University area. Rooms are clearly geared to the business traveler, with a well thought out work area, good lighting, and plugs and outlets for all electronics. The rooms are clean, modern, quiet and bright. Parking is free and easily accessible so there is no fussing with valets or long treks to the garage. Wifi is free, with no password to log on. There is a quality pool and exercise room. Breakfast is served on site free and is adequate but ordinary. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Check in and check out were a breeze. Not, however, a hotel to stay at if you expect to walk to your appointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay. During your next trip to our hotel ask about our complimentary shuttle that goes within 3 mile of the hotel. The shuttle typical runs from 7am to 9pm and leaves every half hour. It may get crowded during peak times so I recommend putting your name on the shuttle list the night before.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very attentive and hospitable staff. Appears to be a new property with excellent maintenance. Rooms are quiet, comfortable, spacious, and well appointed. Free breakfast. Very nice indoor pool and gym. Free parking (covered) just across the driveway. Buckeye Hall of Fame Grill is right next door.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscpd98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel. My goal for the hotel is that every guest feels that our propety is worth a 5 ranking. Let me know what we can do for your next stay to get a 5 ranking. Feel free to email me at mholtzleiter@columbushospitality.com or call my direct line at 614-569-2910.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#17 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing