We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will be going back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will be going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great place to stay! Had family at the medical center at OSU for three days and stayed at this hotel each night. Very clean and comfortable. Especially liked the size of the room. Like a suite at other hotels, but for a standard fee. Great to have a couch to sit on for watching TV or reading.
The staff was very attentive and eager to please. Will be staying here again when we return to OSU medical center for a 30 day stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kspethtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again during your next stay.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    103
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
142
54
14
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Really cool hotel with a great layout, perfect location and really awesome staff. We had check in early and made that request in our reservation notes. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile and with "I've already prepared a room for you." Nice! This isn't a full service hotel and the breakfast is what you'd expect. There's a popular local restaurant next store. We were a mile from a shopping area and just 3 miles from OSU.

Room Tip: This is in a great location just outside of the city in a revitalized industrial area so get a 6th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. We truly value your business and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Columbus.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A great hotel for those with business in the Ohio State University area. Rooms are clearly geared to the business traveler, with a well thought out work area, good lighting, and plugs and outlets for all electronics. The rooms are clean, modern, quiet and bright. Parking is free and easily accessible so there is no fussing with valets or long treks to the garage. Wifi is free, with no password to log on. There is a quality pool and exercise room. Breakfast is served on site free and is adequate but ordinary. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Check in and check out were a breeze. Not, however, a hotel to stay at if you expect to walk to your appointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay. During your next trip to our hotel ask about our complimentary shuttle that goes within 3 mile of the hotel. The shuttle typical runs from 7am to 9pm and leaves every half hour. It may get crowded during peak times so I recommend putting your name on the shuttle list the night before.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very attentive and hospitable staff. Appears to be a new property with excellent maintenance. Rooms are quiet, comfortable, spacious, and well appointed. Free breakfast. Very nice indoor pool and gym. Free parking (covered) just across the driveway. Buckeye Hall of Fame Grill is right next door.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscpd98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattplaceosu, General Manager at Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,

I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel. My goal for the hotel is that every guest feels that our propety is worth a 5 ranking. Let me know what we can do for your next stay to get a 5 ranking. Feel free to email me at mholtzleiter@columbushospitality.com or call my direct line at 614-569-2910.

Best Regards,
Michael Holtzleiter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Room was clean and we enjoyed the free breakfast (I would not say the food was wonderful, but enough choices that everyone should be able to find something). Also nice that parking is free in the adjacent lot. It looks as though the hotel does have a shuttle but you would probably need a car; hotel is part of a newer development that is a little isolated (make sure to double check directions). There is a restaurant and a deli just next door that you can walk to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cf131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed again at the Hyatt Place for our yearly trip to the All American Quarter Horse Congress and it was great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. TThe beds are probably some of the most comfortable I've experienced. The location is very convenient to the Congress and my daughter and I felt very safe coming in and out at all hours such as we have to do when riding, You are really just about 5 minutes from the showgrounds. i also love the fact that you can get a quick meal at any time. Once again a wonderful experience. We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel knows how to treat its travelers! We arrived late and were greeted by friendly staff. Love the late hours of the little cafe. Parking was extremely convenient. Great room!!! And extremely comfie bed!!

The morning breakfast buffet was better than I've ever experienced -- and I've been to many hotels. Can't say enough about the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
1.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing