We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, no problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #10 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay, no problems”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Room was clean and we enjoyed the free breakfast (I would not say the food was wonderful, but enough choices that everyone should be able to find something). Also nice that parking is free in the adjacent lot. It looks as though the hotel does have a shuttle but you would probably need a car; hotel is part of a newer development that is a little isolated (make sure to double check directions). There is a restaurant and a deli just next door that you can walk to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cf131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    139
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
215
72
19
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed again at the Hyatt Place for our yearly trip to the All American Quarter Horse Congress and it was great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. TThe beds are probably some of the most comfortable I've experienced. The location is very convenient to the Congress and my daughter and I felt very safe coming in and out at all hours such as we have to do when riding, You are really just about 5 minutes from the showgrounds. i also love the fact that you can get a quick meal at any time. Once again a wonderful experience. We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel knows how to treat its travelers! We arrived late and were greeted by friendly staff. Love the late hours of the little cafe. Parking was extremely convenient. Great room!!! And extremely comfie bed!!

The morning breakfast buffet was better than I've ever experienced -- and I've been to many hotels. Can't say enough about the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I enjoy Hyatt Place hotels. They are all exactly alike and are pretty nice. Great location, easy to get to, free covered parking across the street/driveway. The Buckeye Bar next door had nice outdoor seating and a good menu. Food was decent, a little overpriced.
The hotel has an indoor pool which was nice, well maintained. Lots of fluffy towels.
Rooms were a decent size, nice to have the mini fridge, a microwave would be even nicer. Lots of space but no place to hang a coat. Closet is set up strange, very small, door doesn't open all they way. Drawers in the dressing area if needed.
Hard to fall asleep on a Sat night with the noise from the bar next door. Just turn on the AC fan. And use the nice blanket provided in the room to cover up when you freeze.
Breakfast was OK, not as good as I have had at other properties.
Soap and shampoo THE WORST SMELLING STUFF I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED!!!!! Take your own soaps!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Hyatt Place Columbus OSU is a newish hotel (built in 2009). It is located about 1 mile from downtown Columbus and the commute to and from is simple and easy. The rooms are large, beautiful and modern. I appreciated the free wi-fi and the convenience ports for computers, and other electronics. The staff were all wonderful (professional, gracious and had a genuine service based mindset). This hotel serves a continental breakfast (which actually was amazing given that you get egg McMuffin like breakfast sandwiches, tons of fresh fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, waffles, bagels, coffee, teas, juices, etc... It was easily one of the best "free" breakfasts I'd ever experienced. Near the front desk is a coffee bar which also sells delicious pastries. There is a pool & fitness room (which unfortunately I didn't have time to enjoy as I was at a conference). We paid $134 a night which made this an AMAZING value. If you're visiting Columbus and are going to be near the downtown area, you must try this phenomenal hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor. I can't comment about the other ones, but our room (a suite actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,679 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great little hotel in a newly developed strip near OSU. We had an okay view of Columbus (not exactly NYC, but whatever) and could see trains pass by in the distance and a few CMH planes fly overhead.

The rooms are new, quite large, and well-conceived. There’s a living room study combo area (large desk) slightly separated from the main bedroom, decent sized dressing area, and respectable bathroom. Good lighting throughout. Bedding was new, and super plush Sealy Posturepedic pillowtop mattresses were very comfortable (although I wish they had foam instead of feather pillows). Free wireless is strong and secure. Parking, local calls, and fresh fruit are also free. Large LG flat screen TV. No bed bugs (we always check, especially around Columbus). Rooms are nicely equipped with bumpy “massage” soap, face soap, shampoo, conditioner, and even Aqua Fresh toothpaste. Pleasant service downstairs. The women on duty (especially Melissa) were responsive and genuine.

Breakfast was different than usual but still very good: Starbucks coffee, choice of juices, the usual sugary pastries, oatmeal with all the fixings, some cut fruit, and three types of homemade breakfast sandwiches.

Respectable pool could be a tad warmer (no jacuzzi). Still, it's well-maintained and certainly better than nothing.

Even the color coordination was remarkable. I liked the Hyatt orange in the rooms, on the walls, and even on the attire worn by staff. There’s a certain amount of class here that you just don’t find elsewhere.

Suggestion to management: get rid of uncovered glasses in the hotel room. Studies have shown that housekeeping does a poor job with hygiene. Nobody knows if our cups are fresh out of the dishwasher, “cleaned” with the same towel that was used to wipe toilets, or, in our case, masking residue of a previous tenant’s drink.

All in all though, hard to complain about much here. Good job, Hyatt Place!

Room Tip: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU only requires 5000 Hyatt Points. That's a great deal if you have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here recently for my nephew's wedding in the area. The hotel was very nice, staff very friendly and complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of delicious food and beverages. The room was nice and I really enjoyed the sitting room area where our family could hang out and visit. There were a couple of good restaurants adjacent to the hotel that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmgal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,648 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,754 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing