We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice. Hard to complain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
356 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,541 helpful votes
“Very nice. Hard to complain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great little hotel in a newly developed strip near OSU. We had an okay view of Columbus (not exactly NYC, but whatever) and could see trains pass by in the distance and a few CMH planes fly overhead.

The rooms are new, quite large, and well-conceived. There’s a living room study combo area (large desk) slightly separated from the main bedroom, decent sized dressing area, and respectable bathroom. Good lighting throughout. Bedding was new, and super plush Sealy Posturepedic pillowtop mattresses were very comfortable (although I wish they had foam instead of feather pillows). Free wireless is strong and secure. Parking, local calls, and fresh fruit are also free. Large LG flat screen TV. No bed bugs (we always check, especially around Columbus). Rooms are nicely equipped with bumpy “massage” soap, face soap, shampoo, conditioner, and even Aqua Fresh toothpaste. Pleasant service downstairs. The women on duty (especially Melissa) were responsive and genuine.

Breakfast was different than usual but still very good: Starbucks coffee, choice of juices, the usual sugary pastries, oatmeal with all the fixings, some cut fruit, and three types of homemade breakfast sandwiches.

Respectable pool could be a tad warmer (no jacuzzi). Still, it's well-maintained and certainly better than nothing.

Even the color coordination was remarkable. I liked the Hyatt orange in the rooms, on the walls, and even on the attire worn by staff. There’s a certain amount of class here that you just don’t find elsewhere.

Suggestion to management: get rid of uncovered glasses in the hotel room. Studies have shown that housekeeping does a poor job with hygiene. Nobody knows if our cups are fresh out of the dishwasher, “cleaned” with the same towel that was used to wipe toilets, or, in our case, masking residue of a previous tenant’s drink.

All in all though, hard to complain about much here. Good job, Hyatt Place!

Room Tip: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU only requires 5000 Hyatt Points. That's a great deal if you have some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    103
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
137
54
14
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here recently for my nephew's wedding in the area. The hotel was very nice, staff very friendly and complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of delicious food and beverages. The room was nice and I really enjoyed the sitting room area where our family could hang out and visit. There were a couple of good restaurants adjacent to the hotel that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmgal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapoliis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this location - each time for business purposes. It is centrally located, easy on and off the interstate plus it is convenient to OSU, the Schottenstein Center, downtown - really anywhere in Columbus you need to go. It provides free Wi-Fi throughout the building, adequate desk space for business needs, 24 hour food service and best of all FREE PARKING! For OSU Buckeye fans - this hotel is located next to a WONDERFUL restaurant (Buckeye Grill) with historic Buckeye sports memorabilia including one of Archie's Heisman Trophies! Perfect and affordable for families and business travelers alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indyirongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a trerrific hotel chain (my current favorite for routine business travel), and this particular property is terrific as well (I have stayed at several Hyatt Place hotels now). Location is near OSU in a newly developed area accessible fm a highway that connects to Route 70. Very friendly and easy check-in. I arrived after 10 pm and weary, which must have shown because I was asked if I was hungry, was offered a menu and got a standout chicken ceasar salad in a few minutes for under $10. The hotel is super clean (helped by the fact that the hotel was relatively new). The room was large, and included a desk (free wi-fi), large L-shaped couch with ottoman and flat screen TV. A clock radio that actually made sense and pulled in stations without static. The bed was made up like a higher end hotel would do, with good sheets, including sheets over and under a comforter, and comfortable pillows. Mattress was soft, but not too much so. Toiletries included a tube of travel side toothpaste, which was nice to collect. Other toiletries (i.e., soap and shampoo) need to change -- they smelled like stale sweet bubblegum or something like that -- I don't get it. Breakfast (included) was solid, and much better than most in this type of hotel. Good fresh fruit, yogurt and juices. Even the egg sandwiches were pretty good. Check out was easy, at the desk or an ATM-like kiosk. I think this chain has hit the mark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6101FCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for a quick 1-night stay before an OSU football game and would definitely come back. The hotel is very new in an industrial part of town that is being modernized. There's nothing nearby in terms of a neighborhood or restaurants, but the hotel itself is beautiful.

It's a very short drive to the OSU campus or to the Short North neighborhood for restaurants. Our double queen room had a large sitting area with a desk. The sink is outside of the bathroom which is a feature I always appreciate. A very nice hot breakfast was served including breakfast "mcmuffin" sandwiches, fruit, yogurt and cereals. The hotel ran a shuttle to OSU game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baseball_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week in July while in Columbus for business. The hotel is clean, modern, and the staff was very friendly. Also really liked the pool which, while indoors, had an outdoor feel when the sliding glass doors to the courtyard where opened. The only downside of this hotel is that it feels a bit isolated from the rest of the city and I would not reccomend staying here without a car. Otherwise, this is one of the top choices in Columbus.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElGuru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly & helpful staff, clean, comfortable and good amenities. The room was large and well designed with divided sleeping area (however no door to separate from living area). Has mini-kitchen and nice television. Quick access to OSU campus and major thoroughfares. First time at this chain and I will now try to use them always. Very impressive!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhoshallnotbenamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#14 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard Street, Columbus, OH 43212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing