We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for vacation or business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #10 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this location - each time for business purposes. It is centrally located, easy on and off the interstate plus it is convenient to OSU, the Schottenstein Center, downtown - really anywhere in Columbus you need to go. It provides free Wi-Fi throughout the building, adequate desk space for business needs, 24 hour food service and best of all FREE PARKING! For OSU Buckeye fans - this hotel is located next to a WONDERFUL restaurant (Buckeye Grill) with historic Buckeye sports memorabilia including one of Archie's Heisman Trophies! Perfect and affordable for families and business travelers alike.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indyirongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 597 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a trerrific hotel chain (my current favorite for routine business travel), and this particular property is terrific as well (I have stayed at several Hyatt Place hotels now). Location is near OSU in a newly developed area accessible fm a highway that connects to Route 70. Very friendly and easy check-in. I arrived after 10 pm and weary, which must have shown because I was asked if I was hungry, was offered a menu and got a standout chicken ceasar salad in a few minutes for under $10. The hotel is super clean (helped by the fact that the hotel was relatively new). The room was large, and included a desk (free wi-fi), large L-shaped couch with ottoman and flat screen TV. A clock radio that actually made sense and pulled in stations without static. The bed was made up like a higher end hotel would do, with good sheets, including sheets over and under a comforter, and comfortable pillows. Mattress was soft, but not too much so. Toiletries included a tube of travel side toothpaste, which was nice to collect. Other toiletries (i.e., soap and shampoo) need to change -- they smelled like stale sweet bubblegum or something like that -- I don't get it. Breakfast (included) was solid, and much better than most in this type of hotel. Good fresh fruit, yogurt and juices. Even the egg sandwiches were pretty good. Check out was easy, at the desk or an ATM-like kiosk. I think this chain has hit the mark.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6101FCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for a quick 1-night stay before an OSU football game and would definitely come back. The hotel is very new in an industrial part of town that is being modernized. There's nothing nearby in terms of a neighborhood or restaurants, but the hotel itself is beautiful.

It's a very short drive to the OSU campus or to the Short North neighborhood for restaurants. Our double queen room had a large sitting area with a desk. The sink is outside of the bathroom which is a feature I always appreciate. A very nice hot breakfast was served including breakfast "mcmuffin" sandwiches, fruit, yogurt and cereals. The hotel ran a shuttle to OSU game.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baseball_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for almost a week in July while in Columbus for business. The hotel is clean, modern, and the staff was very friendly. Also really liked the pool which, while indoors, had an outdoor feel when the sliding glass doors to the courtyard where opened. The only downside of this hotel is that it feels a bit isolated from the rest of the city and I would not reccomend staying here without a car. Otherwise, this is one of the top choices in Columbus.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank ElGuru71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Friendly & helpful staff, clean, comfortable and good amenities. The room was large and well designed with divided sleeping area (however no door to separate from living area). Has mini-kitchen and nice television. Quick access to OSU campus and major thoroughfares. First time at this chain and I will now try to use them always. Very impressive!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewhoshallnotbenamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hyatt Place during my son's orientation at OSU. I must say that the hotel was clean, comfortable and just what we wanted. People may say it is away from everything but I enjoy being away from the noisy roads and congestion. It was a breeze to get to OSU and the freeways are easily accessible. I definitely would consider the hotels location a plus. The hotel was great but the staff was even better. They took the extra effort to help when I needed some administrative support and made sure that they were there for any assistance I needed. Unfortunately, I needed last minute copies made and other miscellaneous items and they graciously provided everything I asked for. It was very much appreciated and I will definitely be coming back. In fact, I just reserved my room for August when I return. Thumbs up from a frequent traveler.

Jim

Room Tip: Your GPS may not have the address in it because of the new road. Call the hotel and they will give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Hyatt property was in a new renovated area of town. Loved the location. FREE parking. The hotel staff was very nice. Property was the BEST place to view the RED WHITE AND BOOM fireworks. We were on the 6th floor and our room faced the fireworks display. We were able to watch from the comfy bed. It was great! Breakfast is a bit "stuffy". Don't expect a waffle or pancake bar...more like egg mcmuffin..and no bacon or sausage. Those of us from the south felt a bit cheated in the breakfast area. The rooms are huge. This place was perfect for our family of 3 for a long stay during a volleyball tournament. Too bad Columbus is such a dud of a place to visit. UGHHHH! Ohio State was only OK. And the football stadium didn't produce an ahhhh's. Oh well. The mascot is a buckeye. Probably won't ever go back to Columbus but I would recommend this hotel for long stays.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great view of downtown Columbus and fireworks displays during the 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fixn2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 145 in Columbus
1,757 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 145 in Columbus
1,988 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $126 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing