We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was our first stay in a Hyatt Place and we were very impressed!

The layout of the room is great because of the large l-shaped couch creating your sitting area. It felt so much more spacious than a standard hotel room.

Great to have a fridge and coffee maker in the room.

The location is quite handy - we walked to both Short North and downtown on separate occasions. It's about a half hour walk to either - it's not scenic cause you are crossing the freeway but it's an easy walk.

The staff were really friendly but seemed to be new cause they didn't have a lot of info on the local area.

Free breakfast and wifi were great! It is a continental breakfast only so hot food must be ordered and paid for but with cereal, fruit, toast, muffins or bagels and yogurt plus juice and coffee, there is still plenty to choose from.

Definitely a fan of the Hyatt Place brand now!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oz2nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    128
    25
    16
    5
See reviews for
194
70
17
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our son had appointments at OSU Eye and Ear Hospital. We stayed three nights.
The rooms were exceptionally large, great flat screen TV's The sports bar on site Buckeye Grill had $5.00 hamburger specials on Wed. Food was fresh and good. Our son loved the pool. We wish it had a whirlpool but it was great. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The beds were exceptionally comfortable...The continental breakfast was good a lot of varied choices.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekrowdoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Over the past three months my daughter and I have visited OSU twice. Both times we have stayed at the Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU. This is a modern, comfortable hotel that feels very urban. The lobby is warm and inviting yet cutting edge. The guest rooms are huge and offer a comfortable sleeper sofa (a comfortable sleeper is so hard to find in hotels!) as well as comfortable beds. The decor, again, is modern but comfortable. The breakfast is delicious although food ordered from the kitchen takes a very long time and when they run out of items on the buffet, it takes a long time for them to be refilled. The staff could not be nicer but they need to work on their directions to surrounding attractions. On our first visit in April, no one at the front desk could give us directions to the OSU campus. On this visit, only one of the three staff at the front desk could explain how to get to German Village. Perhaps the hotel should print out directions to these important locations then hand them out to visitors. Just a suggestion...

Overall, this is a great hotel. If my daughter chooses to attend OSU, I will be staying here often! Moms

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Location: Opened in late 2010, the hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport. It's about 5 minutes from convention center and downtown where some of the best restaurants are at North High St. There are also plenty of places to eat within walking distance at the complex.

Reception/Room: I have stayed at many Hyatt Place hotels nationwide due to business reasons, and this is a very new one vs the other locations so it's a bit nicer with better furniture. The A/C unit is also much quieter than many other Hyatt Place locations. Like other locations, you get a living area and a sleeping area with a very large room but there is no door to separate the two. Free WiFi plus two free internet terminals in the lobby.

Breakfast: Typical Hyatt Place fare which is continental with good fruit selection. You can pay to order additional hot items and those are not too expensive.

Service: Excellent throughout from check-in to check-out. We had a very early flight the next day so the evening before, we were standing in the reception line wanting to reserve a cab. A staff member voluntarily came up to us, figured out what we needed, and told us he would take care of it. The cab was there on schedule the next morning. Everything was done with a smile.

Overall: Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyF1oyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband & I booked at this hotel to attend a OSU graduation as it is close to campus.
Terry at the desk was patient with our questions, especially directions, we appreciated the personal attention he gave us.
The room was spacious, we requested a room with a patio (only have 5 of them) and it faces downtown, not the parking lot. Parking was free.
The hotel is modern, clean & new. Breakfast was included & quite good, basic continental breakfast.
Not much around hotel, just 2 restuarants within walking distance. Need a car in Columbus anyway.

Room Tip: Even numbers face downtown, odd face parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I strongly recommend this hotel. It's brand new and you can see it. My room was very clean and fresh. There is a small gym with basic equipment and a pool. The only downside is that it's located a little far from downtown area (maybe 7 minutes by car). Good bang for your buck!!!.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaszub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is beautiful. It is very close to OSU. Rooms are large, beds are comfortable, very nice large flat screen tv's. I had requested connecting or adjoining rooms when I made my reservation for 2 rooms. They were not able to honor this request....it seemed that they had not read the comment section of the reservation form. The room was very clean, however, the doors to our two rooms had lots of greasy finger prints...this could be easily fixed.

The Ohio State grille restaurant next door was very good.

I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortwaynemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU

Property: Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Address: 795 Yard St, Columbus, OH 43212-3880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbus
#10 Business Hotel in Columbus
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU is ideally situated just minutes from The Ohio State University, the Greater Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Berliner Park and the wonderful cultural neighborhoods of Downtown Columbus. For the business traveler, Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU is within close proximity to Time Warner Cable, Battelle Memorial Institute, the Nationwide Insurance World Headquarters, AEP Ohio and the Ohio State Medical Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at the Short North Shops and Easton Towne Center or attend a live performance at the Lifestyle Community Pavilion. For the sports enthusiast, visit the Value City Arena, the Nationwide Arena or the Ohio Stadium, home to the Ohio State Buckeyes. Hyatt Place Columbus/ OSU also features 2,000 square feet of meeting room space, a gallery which offers an intimate coffee and wine café, a guest kitchen with freshly prepared snacks and entrees, and a daily complimentary A.M. Kitchen Skillet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbus/Osu Hotel Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing