We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel, Friendly Staff, Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Ranked #45 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed @ the Holiday Inn Express - OSU the first weekend of July, and I was very impressed. The hotel is brand new (I believe it opened late April) and the rooms are beautiful. The hotel has everything, a hot breakfast, pool with jacuzzi, and I personally utilized the exercise room complete with flat screen television several times. I have stayed at several Holiday Inn's and was pleasantly surprised with how nice this hotel was. I made several reservations at this hotel while I was there, and I'm looking forward to my next visit, I absolutely would reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
Thank BuckeyeGrad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

Enjoyed our overnight stay here while visiting the campus of Ohio State. Nice new property was clean, quiet, with comfortable beds. Staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions. Nice complimentary breakfast. The waitress even asked if there was anything else we wanted from the breakfast bar as she was getting ready to close it down. View overlooking front of hotel was of an obsolete building and a graveyard off to the right, but that didn't bother us. Although hotel is located close to the road we did not hear any traffic at night. Overall a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FindYourPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My daughter had her tonsils removed in Columbus at an out-patient surgery center and needed to stay close to the local hospital. We stayed at Holiday Inn and not only did they upgrade our room free of charge so my daughter would be more comfortable, but the cost of the room actually was lower than what was quoted to me when I booked the room. Excellent staff at the front desk and the lady helping in the morning with breakfast was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious too! We have two kids who attend OSU - Columbus and we will definitely be in Columbus many more times in the future and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny50599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband is a track coach and when one of his athletes qualified to the state meet, the head coach told us this was where the rest of the team and families were staying. We called less than a week ahead of time and they had availability.

We got a single king room, which included a lounge chair and ottman, decent sized flat screen hdtv, microwave, refrigerator, desk, desk chair, and standard night tables. The bed was ultra comfortable and we were given two each of firm and soft pillows. The bathroom was equipped with standard fare - lots of towels for just two people, a curved shower curtain bar and a shower head with multiple settings. (Biggest con: fabric shower curtain)

Each morning, we were greeted by hotel staff in the eating area with a GREAT free breakfast. Menu included: yogurt, hard boiled eggs, milk, (DELICIOUS) cinnamon rolls, cold cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, sausage gravy, biscuits, an assortment of breads (including bagels and muffins), and multiple drink choices. This was a great way to start each day. The staff kept everything full all the time and it made for a great experience! One thing I didn't like was that the flow of the food set up didn't make much sense (plates, silverware and napkins in the middle, for instance).

The hotel has a pool and a fitness room - we didn't use either but did look in on them. The fitness room wasn't typical hotel equipment, this looked like top of the line stuff that was actually in working order. I remember seeing a scale, treadmill, eliptical, and stationary bike. There may have been other equipment as well. There was a tv for watching while you work out too. The pool looked like it was well maintained and there was a hot tub in the pool area as well.

The business center had two internet connected computers for use (FREE) while we were there. They had also provided a printer if you need to print anything.

The lobby was a great place to gather - it was comfortable and featured a soothing water feature. The staff was helpful!

We'll likely stay at this hotel again next year, as it is within a mile or two of the highway, Jesse Owens Staduim, and a lot of dining options too.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber12478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

As an alum of OSU, I often try to return home once or twice a year to meet up with old friends and family. Consequently, I've stayed in many hotels in the Columbus area. However, after my stay at the Holiday Inn Express near the OSU campus, I am certain this is the only hotel I will ever return to in the the future. The breakfast is complete with an assortment of cereal, eggs, bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, fruits and yogurt . . . and it's all free! The staff is friendly and accommodating. One of the young ladies attending to those eating saw that I was carrying my briefcase and luggage while at the same time balancing a coffee and a banana; she realized I was heading to my car and offered to make me a paper bag of fruit and hard boiled eggs so I could eat on the road.

My best friend and his wife stayed in a suite down the hall from mine that was absolutely amazing. The room was large with multiple king or queen size beds (big beds), a refrigerator and a wrap around island. It was nice going there to mix a few drinks at the island and watch a movie with my friend on the rooms large flat screen.

The room I was given was more or less just a smaller version of the massive suite, but it had the same flat screen television, desk, king size bed and lounge chair. And, the television was not slow when changing channels. Many hotel TVs in my opinion take painfully too long to cycle from channel to channel.

The shower area consists of a full-size tub with arcing shower curtain. The water temperature was excellent with nice pressure. Plenty of towels were provided for several days and even and assortment of facial soap, body wash and shampoo and conditioner. I forgot my toothpaste, but they even had that too!

In the morning, houskeeping worked efficiently cleaning the rooms and scanning for tenants coming and going. On two occasions one nice woman asked me if she may clean my room now and if I needed anything. She was incredibly polite and always made certain I returned to a room that was spotless.

Finally, I realize this review has already gone too long, but it's worth noting the decor of the hotel. Clearly, the architect or owner of the hotel has some strong ties with OSU. The bedrooms have a richly colored scarlet wall that opposes three neutral colored walls. OSU memorabilia can be seen in the lobby and large meeting room or common areas. Over the fireplace is a picture that reminded me of the Buckeye's past National Championship!

All in all, this hotel stay made my trip more relaxing and enjoyable that I expected. It's nice to feel at home when you travel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled on business
Thank Namosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555Raquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 145 in Columbus
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $110 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing