We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for OSU Hospital!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Ranked #47 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay for OSU Hospital!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Being there for almost 2 weeks I can honestly say this was a FANTASTIC staff!!! Everyone was very friendly and helpful with our needs! The rooms were very clean, hot breakfast every morning, coffee any time and the shuttle service to the hospital was great!!! All of our rooms had small refrigerators and microwaves. This was very helpful with such a long stay. Several restaurants within walking distance as well as a grocery store.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bldsckr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Bldsckr52,

Thank you for your kind words! It is always unfortunate when family members are admitted to a hospital, but we are so glad we could make your time in Columbus a little more enjoyable. Next time you are in Columbus we look forward being your choice in hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    84
    26
    10
    21
See reviews for
109
35
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was an excellent place to stay, no only was it within walking distance of the Schottenstein Center, and if the weather had been better, we would definitely have walked there, but it was clean and the staff (all the staff) were friendly and so willing to make our stay a pleasant one. This was the cleanest Holiday Inn Express that we've ever stayed in. It is well worth the money. The pool and spa were spotless as was the fitness room. They had an excellent breakfast with anything from yogurt and hard boiled eggs, to eggs and sausage or cereal or biscuits and gravy. Whatever you appetite was, you could certainly satisfy it at the breakfast. There was coffee in the breakfast area 24 hours. The check-in/out staff were friendly and helpful with questions we had on directions. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay there again if we visit the Ohio State University area again.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room in this hotel. It would just be your preference if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrance A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Terrance,
Thank you so much for your kind words. You are appreciated! It was our absolute pleasure to host you and your family during your stay. We hope to see you again the next time your in the Columbus, Ohio area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

My mom was in Riverside Hospital which was right around the corner from the hotel - which was very convenient. The staff was excellent. The price was right! The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, breakfast was great. It was one of the nicer Holiday Inn Express hotels we've stayed in. Coffee etc.... 24 hours. Free cookies in the evening! The room also had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Antoinette,

Thank you for your kind words! It is always unfortunate when family members are admitted to a hospital, but we are so glad we could make your time in Columbus a little more enjoyable. Next time you are in Columbus we look forward being your choice in hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I went there last week ...the staff was super friendly and very nice ..the room is very clean and comfy. .it's a very strategic location..there's a bus stop across the street. .breakfast tasted really nice too !!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank viviannpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Vivian,
Thank you so much for your kind words. You are appreciated! It was our pleasure to host you during your stay. We hope to see you again the next time your in the Columbus, Ohio area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I reserved one of their suites for my 87 year-old aunt during Christmas week. She had stayed there two years ago and really enjoyed her stay. As far as I could tell, the place shows no wear and tear after two years. Her room was spacious and on the 7th floor because I asked for a room that would be quiet. She LOVED the breakfast offered each morning and made sure I knew everything that was offered. The motel was not busy and the front desk was very helpful to me and to my aunt. I would recommend this place to anyone coming to the OSU campus area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Karen,

Happy New Year to you and your family! Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy the hotel was still up to your aunts standards, we always do our best to keep everything fresh and new. We look forward to your future visits in Columbus to enjoy our hot breakfast buffett!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I don’t like to be surprised when I travel and this hotel was exactly what I was looking for. Clean, quiet comfortable rooms, friendly efficient staff and a good location are what you’ll find here. I’ve stayed three three weeks here and getting ready to start my fourth week at the HIE property.

Room Tip: Suite rooms face the highway and regular rooms face the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We are thrilled to hear we are exactly what you want when looking for a hotel to stay at in Columbus. As you mentioned you stay with Holiday Inn Express regularly, I hope you are a Rewards Member so you can earn points for staying with us, if you are not please let us know when you arrive next so we can sign you up. We look forward to your next visit with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a mediocre experience with our first stay at this hotel and were unhappy with the way we saw management and staff interact with customers. They were not very helpful and we found their attitude to be rather rude compared to other HI properties we frequent. Because of our loyalty to the HI brand, we decided to give the place a second chance and this time we experienced a weather related cancellation. When calling in to cancel, we were told that the front desk staff member could not help us and to call back in the morning to talk with the manager. Following day, we had been listed as a no show and charged for the night's stay. Attempts to talk with the GM and IHG to correct the issue have been unsuccessful and I am more than disappointed to have to pay for the unused hotel room. I travel extensively throughout the US and this is the worse I have been treated by any hotel in the Holiday Inn chain. Most HIE properties have gone out of their way to assist when weather issues arise and place safety as a top priority. Needless to say, we will not be staying at this hotel again and it is unfortunate that this experience will tarnish the HI brand that we had come to rely upon. They had many options to correct this error and keep me as a customer but refused to do anything . . .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sue A,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing