We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice indoor pool and hot tub, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Ranked #47 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice indoor pool and hot tub, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights while family member in OSU Med Center. Very good value; will discount if you let them know you are there because of hospitalization. I stayed very late at the hospital and wanted to unwind before going to bed so I especially enjoyed the pool and hot tub being open till at least 11 pm. The room was very nice, bed comfortable, bathroom clean; all the room equipment and supplies were very good quality. It was convenient place to stay and for the price and amenities it was a very good value. Breakfast was fine... the usual pretty much, but convenient and hot, and the environment in the dining area was very nice and that's about all one needs, right? My only complaint was that, okay they don't want to run a dishwasher and clean plates and silverware... but cheap plastic forks and knives just don't work for breakfast food; invest in some high quality disposable forks and knives, spoons.

Room Tip: My room was right by the elevator but it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear FunSunSeeker,

Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again the next time your in the Columbus, Ohio area.

Best Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    84
    26
    10
    21
See reviews for
109
35
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My family stays at a lot of different hotels. All over. Many in Columbus as we have sooooo many friends here. We were booked into the HILTON and something happened with the reservation. A week before we got set up to stay at HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - never have we stayed at one before. Figured they were the same as the old school chain.
MUCH TO OUR SURPRISE...... FANTASTIC !!
From check in to departure - everyone / everything was perfect.
I LOVE the fact that the pillow cases actually say if they are firm or soft etc. FABULOUS.
Very clean, comfortable and they have COOKIES ..... we will book again.
Thank you for the wonderful stay - look forward to the next one !
Tracy and Jim

Room Tip: stay here - you will not be disappointed if you are looking for friendly service, clean rooms, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We are humbled and delighted that we fulfilled your expectations and appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, furnishings, accommodations, and service.  Our cookies are amazing just wait until we get the holiday flavors... Yumm! Thanks again for choosing us, we hope to see you the next time you are in the Columbus, Ohio area.
Best Regards, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel the very first time we cease a year ago and it has only gotten better. I've noticed a lot of upgrades and the staff has gone from very efficient to excellent. They are by far some of the most professional people I have dealt with. The rooms are as always spotless and spacious. I usually used to stay at the Blackwell before this place opened but now it's my new home. Thanks express for treating and my family right

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn & Suites- OSU and for your 5-star review!
We are delighted that we fulfilled your expectations and appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, furnishings, accommodations, and service. 
Best Regards, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I hosted a group of colleagues that stayed at this property and heard nothing but good feedback. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful for all requests. We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lori K.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to having you with us in the future. Thanks again, Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed 2 nights .Went there for the USA Soccer match against Mexico. Will most def stay there again. It was hot outside and the front desk gave us water when we checked in and there was lemonade in the lobby.

Room Tip: End Room was Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natessoccergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Natessoccergirl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your kind thoughts. We look forward to having you with us during your next visit to the Columbus, Ohio area.
Best Regards, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Friendly staff, spacious rooms, very clean, free wifi. Breakfast is ok but I wish the coffee was a stronger brew. While the linens are always clean, they are starting to show some wear. But overall, still my favorite hotel near campus. Book early if you're coming for football weekends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4EVRBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear 4everBucks,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you appreciate us. We strive daily to exceed guest expectations and be your home away from home. I will share your concerns with housekeeping; thank you.

We look forward to seeing you in the future. Cheers!

Best Regards, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a great choice to make if you are trying to stay close to the campus but yet be far enough away to enjoy peace and serenity of being in a big city. Love the hotel...it is clean, staff is hospitable, accommodations are new and up to date. Breakfast is top of the line not just juice in a cup or yogurt. You get eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.

Room Tip: Unfortunately when I chose to go I didn't have much choice to choose for a room. A nearby event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bseenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your refreshing comments on your recent experience with us at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites- OSU. It’s our goal as a team to provide a relaxing and enjoyable experience; as well as to provide excellent hospitable service. I am elated to hear you enjoyed all the amenities provided to you as our guest. We look forward to having you with us again.

Best Regards,
Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing