We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, clean property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Ranked #48 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Friendly service, clean property”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I hosted a group of colleagues that stayed at this property and heard nothing but good feedback. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful for all requests. We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lori K.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to having you with us in the future. Thanks again, Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    87
    27
    10
    22
See reviews for
111
35
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed 2 nights .Went there for the USA Soccer match against Mexico. Will most def stay there again. It was hot outside and the front desk gave us water when we checked in and there was lemonade in the lobby.

Room Tip: End Room was Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natessoccergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Natessoccergirl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your kind thoughts. We look forward to having you with us during your next visit to the Columbus, Ohio area.
Best Regards, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Friendly staff, spacious rooms, very clean, free wifi. Breakfast is ok but I wish the coffee was a stronger brew. While the linens are always clean, they are starting to show some wear. But overall, still my favorite hotel near campus. Book early if you're coming for football weekends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4EVRBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear 4everBucks,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you appreciate us. We strive daily to exceed guest expectations and be your home away from home. I will share your concerns with housekeeping; thank you.

We look forward to seeing you in the future. Cheers!

Best Regards, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a great choice to make if you are trying to stay close to the campus but yet be far enough away to enjoy peace and serenity of being in a big city. Love the hotel...it is clean, staff is hospitable, accommodations are new and up to date. Breakfast is top of the line not just juice in a cup or yogurt. You get eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.

Room Tip: Unfortunately when I chose to go I didn't have much choice to choose for a room. A nearby event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bseenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your refreshing comments on your recent experience with us at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites- OSU. It’s our goal as a team to provide a relaxing and enjoyable experience; as well as to provide excellent hospitable service. I am elated to hear you enjoyed all the amenities provided to you as our guest. We look forward to having you with us again.

Best Regards,
Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable suite-very roomy. Clean room, friendly staff, great location. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend. This hotel was actually recommended to us by a professor at OSU because we were unfamiliar with the area. We weren't disappointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smdaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Smdaley,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites-OSU and for taking the time to share your great experience with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, hotel, amenities and location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed four nights during a trip to visit family. Great location central to most things in Columbus, right off route 315 and very close to OSU. Easy access and parking. Lots of nearby restaurants, stores, gas stations, etc. and a Kroger on one side. N. High Street is just a five minute drive and has many interesting local places to eat. The hotel area is older and has a mix of both older and newer in-fill buildings, stores, etc. I felt comfortable in terms of safety, and I'm picky about that (the crummy looking muffler shop next door is an anomaly - don't worry about that when you drive up).

We booked a suite. It was a small extra fee (I think $10 or so) and adds a couch/table area in the room. Well worth it. Huge room! Good layout. Everything spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Much nicer than I would have expected. Very quiet - no noise from adjoining room TVs or occupants the entire time, even though the hotel was full. Indoor pool, hot tub and workout room were all also immaculately clean and looked inviting, though we didn't use them. Wi-fi was a little weird. Worked without the password at all for a couple of days, then started asking for a password and wouldn't accept multiple ones they provided. Finally got one that worked for remainder of the stay. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is served in a pleasant and attractive room, and breakfast attendants kept it clean and well stocked. Eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereal, biscuits, fruit, yogurt, juice. Not great quality, but good enough. I wish the coffee was better.

A few of the TV channels were snowy on the first day, just a minor little issue. Hubby finally called the desk and a maintenance man knocked on the door in less than five minutes. Wow! Simple connection issue and all was fixed. Then we got a follow up call making sure all was well. Very impressive process.

Overall it was a great experience, especially for the price, and I will happily stay here again next time I'm in Columbus.

Room Tip: Room key card allows you access through doors on both sides of hotel. You can park on the sides and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayde100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jayde100,

Thank you for your comments and for giving the Holiday Inn Express and Suites- OSU the opportunity to make it right. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Midalina Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
313 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from a "Holiday Inn" but this one excelled on many levels. First, the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Secondly, the hotel is in a very convenient location to the university and Ohio State Medical Center which is why we were there, and several close by restaurants including Bob Evans and some others. Also, it has a shuttle which take you for free within a two mile radius to other locations. The hotel was clean, had nice design features and felt like a "Hampton Inn" in some ways, others not. They are definitely on the right track but need some improvement, particularly breakfast. Also, we reserved a "one bedroom suite" which turned out to be a long room which included a sitting area with pull out sofa, table and two chairs, fridge, microwave... a bit misleading since no separate room or divider from the bed area. However, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was subpar. No waffle maker like Hampton and eggs were awful. Not many choices other than cereal and breads, poor selection of muffins, some yogurt. Other than the breakfast, can't go wrong with this property. The staff were particularly well trained and friendly. Thumbs up to Holiday Inn. Now, work on that breakfast!

Room Tip: Be aware that one bedroom suite is one long room. That being said, it has both a pull out sofa and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressOSU, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Travelforless,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites-OSU and for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. We strive to exceed the customary; We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, hotel, amenities and location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Midalina Maldonado
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
1.4 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
600 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing