We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #43 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Came up for a football camp and did not know what to expect. The people at the hotel were great. Rooms were clean and spotless. Very nice hotel and worth the money. Convenient to OSU.
ONe of the better mid-level hotels I have stayed at in a couple years.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and vending machines for a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    76
    20
    8
    19
See reviews for
94
28
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was a nice hotel. Very clean. Only thing that appeared to be dirty was the dust ruffle on the bed. I didn't hear any noise. About 3 miles from main OSU campus. Indoor pool was nice and water clear, but they need to clean the tile at the water level- quite a bit of build up there. Breakfast was average- but some of us don't like cheese in our eggs. Beds were average. Pillows were marked for Firm or Soft
My only critiques would be: parking lot is small- if you're pulling a trailer, you will have to detach or park somewhere nearby.
We reserved a room for 4 yet the towel setup was for 3- I find this pretty common. The reservation is for four, everything is ready to go when I check in. Why not the extra towels- so I make a trip to the desk.
I would definitely stay here again. And probably will.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyman454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed over night for a weekend sports tournament, as apparently did most of the other hotel guests. Pool area was very warm, would be much better if windows could be opened during the summer time but hot tub and pool were nice and the area was clean.
Room was very nice. Had a double queen bed room, very clean. Beds and pillows were comfy. Air conditioner was a little noisy but nothing to get too excited about.
Staff were average, check in and out were simple for us but almost seemed like we were bothering them by checking in. Also our laptop has had some connectivity issues with wireless and they clearly advertise and have a flyer in the room offering free Ethernet cable. Front desk was unable to locate them after searching all the desk drawers. You would think this might be marked in a drawer that says Ethernet cables? Breakfast was decent, the pancakes machine was working good, muffins, eggs, sausage links, bananas, cinnamon rolls etc. Only minor issue which we didn't need but another couple with a baby and high chair issues did was that we were in the breakfast lounge for a good 35 minutes and did not see one service employee at all .Even just to be hanging out or seeing if anybody needed anything etc. All in all a decent stay but I think we'll try another HIex in the fall when we return to Columbus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ4traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed here when we were visiting our sons at Ohio State for Mom's weekend. We got a 2 Queen bed suite. The room was huge! Along with the 2 queen beds, there was a sitting room with a pull out queen sofabed and a large chair that also pulled out to a single sofabed. This was much more than we needed but it was nice to have the room. This would have been a perfect room during the days when I was going to soccer tournaments with my son and bringing along 1-2 other players. The front desk was helpful and friendly and the breakfast was simple but good. The location is great if you are seeing a game at the Schottenstein Center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveler621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel for ourselves and his athletes for the Ohio State Track and Field Meet. The hotel is very close to Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium and we had a great experience the last time we stayed here.

The hotel itself is very clean. Upon arrival, we were promptly waited on and the staff was very helpful and accommodating when we explained that our reservation was made together but rooms had to be paid separately. The pool area was used by some of the younger folks in our group and they seemed to really like it. Many other guests were using the pool facilities and the fitness area too.

This hotel has the express breakfast service, which is great! The food was typical fare, but there was always plenty of it and everyone in our group was able to find something to satisfy his or her needs.

Our room, a king suite, was wonderful. It included a bed, tv, dresser, desk with chair, armchair with ottoman, nightstands, sofa, coffee table, dining table with two chairs, mini fridge, microwave, food prep sink, coffee machine and standard bathroom.

Only two minor complaints: no fan in the bathroom and the air conditioner didn't cool the room very well. Otherwise, we had a great stay and will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber12478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed there for a local soccer tournament.
The Rooms are way overpiced. The accomadations where good, but the service was awful.
They will smile at you and be polite, but your requests will go by the wayside.
I have travelled all over the world and this staff and management is in the bottom 10%.

The rollaway beds, if one is over 40 lbs, will not support you comfortably.

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear dasweet,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor experience with the staff services, I have taken note and will follow up with the staff to ensure similar incidents do not reoccur. I am pleased you were satisfied with your accommodations. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very clean lobby and rooms. Good breakfast choices. Street outside under construction, but hotel still accessible.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back (west side) are away from the main road and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center
1.4 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Address: 3045 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Columbus
#24 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites located right outside of downtown Columbus, in the heart of the Ohio State University! This is an upscale luxurious hotel with every amenity you can think of. We offer a free extended hot breakfast as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Columbus University Area - Osu
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing