We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent OSU-area Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent OSU-area Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel was perfect for the purpose of my trip....to watch my daughter play golf for Purdue at the Lady Buckeye Invitational. The location is ideal for OSU activities, very clean, safe and pleasant. Dan, the front desk attendant, could easily qualify as Hilton Employee of the Year! He was very helpful with the many questions I had that night and extremely polite.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    134
    43
    22
    4
See reviews for
167
49
33
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our family stayed at the Hilton Garden during the Columbus Equine Affaire 2014. I was impressed with the décor and high quality furnishings. But more importantly, I was impressed with the QUIETNESS of the hotel. Very little noise. I really appreciated that! The rooms/bathroom are a little on the small side for the price you pay, but they are in tip-top shape in cleanliness. The beds are very comfortable! Nice big TV! Our room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker that makes Great coffee! I had an enjoyable stay for one night. I would have stayed another night or more! The location is great, too. Bob Evans is just next door--perfect for a family!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kristi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel staff, restaurant food, service, room, cleanliness were WONDERFUL. The mattress was hard as a rock so I felt like a 90 year old woman. I was stiff and my back and shoulders hurt. The pillows weren't fluffy. The pool is a lot smaller than it appears in the photo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Clean, comfortable hotel. Perfect location. Helpful, very friendly, inviting staff. The beds were not very comfortable. They had some sort of ability to adjust the firmness of the mattress, but it didn't seem to work. Otherwise, we had and excellent stay and would stay here again if we have the chance

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank marylisas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Check the mattress before you lay down or else you may be sleeping in a hole. Just terribly uncomfortable. Good luck! Restaurant staff for breakfast were very nice but could not make up for the terrible lack of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank MarkTravel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Fals, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This Garden Inn offered no surprises at all. It is clean, efficient, staff friendly and helpful. I did not need to ask for anything and was greeted warmly each time i went thru the lobby. It kept the standard I have grown to love about the Garden Inn Brand. It has become my "go to" place when traveling. I seek them out!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The stay was nice. We wanted to check in early but the room was not ready. We were told we would get a call but never did. Arrived back at check in time and room was still not ready. We were given another room which was exactly the kind of room we reserved.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.6 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#4 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Address: 3232 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area hotel near Ohio State University and Jerome Schottenstein Center, home of Buckeye basketball and ice hockey. Enjoy a convenient location minutes from Short North Arts and Entertainment District, Ohio State University Hospital, and the Greater Columbus Convention Center. There are all kinds of attractions near Ohio State University. Bring the kids to experience the Electrostatic Generator at COSI, Center for Science and Industry, or visit Jungle Jack and the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. Whether you're in Columbus, Ohio on business or to tailgate at the Buckeye's football game, we'll provide a comfortable hotel room near Ohio State University to help you feel at home. Enjoy a comfortable bed, in-room hospitality center, and a flat-screen HDTV. Appreciate features such as complimentary wired and wireless WiFi, a modern fitness center, an indoor pool and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing