We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The quality that I expect from HGI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Ranked #14 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The quality that I expect from HGI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overnighted here while working at OSU hospital.
This is your standard HGI and that is a good thing!
Clean rooms, nice exercise and business facilities, and friendly staff.
They also have an excellent complimentary shuttle service and there are several dining facilities within easy waking distance of the property.
As has been mentioned in other reviews though, the property is not really located within walking distance of the University itself but it is an easy 5-10 minute drive.
I will not hesitate to stay here again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildcat1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    132
    43
    22
    4
See reviews for
165
44
32
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a top rate hotel with great facilities and close to good restaurants, OSU and other attractions. The staff is friendly and the entry area is warm and welcoming.

They made this business trip comfortable and relaxing!! Thank you Hilton Garden Inn!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Proximity to OSU is great though a car is a necessity. The hotel is bright, cheerful, clean, and modern and the staff are friendly. The pool is somewhat small but hardly ever used during my visits so the kids can go have a loud, splashy time without annoying anyone. Having the cold breakfast buffet with oatmeal, yogurt, pastries, fruit, etc for only $3 is hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valorie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my weekend get away with my two girls and my little boy. We came to visit family, the hotel was conveniently located close by. We stayed on the third floor view wasn't too great happens to over look the entrance sky light. My stay was very restful, slept really well it was very peaceful. Clean room, clean beds "just for me" clean bathroom. Over all the staff are awesome from making the reservations to checking out. Great location for football fans! Go Blue!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Awesome people mixed with good experience. i thoght everyone was very professional and sweet durring my mother and my stay. Nice new shuttle too. Looks like a Mercades. The room was really clean and there were zero problems. The TV was a little bit older but not every hilton can have brand new tvs.

Room Tip: plan the days.... not a whole lot to do
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Friendly staff, great food! Breakfast host was very friendly. Front desk staff great with directions. Great location - I highly recommend this HGI. First floor was a bit noisy but that is with any hotel. Rates were moderate but competitive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there Nov 21/22, place was packed due to OSU home game, got in at 1A and the front desk person was excellent, the hotel was fairly new and the room was great.

There was only a paid breakfast for $9.95, and the place was understaffed totally, and very crowded. The waitress took our order (without writing it down) and both our orders were not even close to being correct. My wife asked for a de-caf refill twice from two different wait staff and she never got it. I feel I wasted $20 on a non-meal. I think they have an idea on how crowded it would be on a football weekend, but it appeared no steps were taken to supplement staff. C'mon MAN, FOR $233 A NIGHT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBlue2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.6 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Address: 3232 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#16 Family Hotel in Columbus
#20 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area hotel near Ohio State University and Jerome Schottenstein Center, home of Buckeye basketball and ice hockey. Enjoy a convenient location minutes from Short North Arts and Entertainment District, Ohio State University Hospital, and the Greater Columbus Convention Center. There are all kinds of attractions near Ohio State University. Bring the kids to experience the Electrostatic Generator at COSI, Center for Science and Industry, or visit Jungle Jack and the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. Whether you're in Columbus, Ohio on business or to tailgate at the Buckeye's football game, we'll provide a comfortable hotel room near Ohio State University to help you feel at home. Enjoy a comfortable bed, in-room hospitality center, and a flat-screen HDTV. Appreciate features such as complimentary wired and wireless WiFi, a modern fitness center, an indoor pool and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing