We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Stay OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the property 2 nights. We had to change rooms because the cable TV didn't work in the first room. They indicated they have been having problems with a new type of HDTV they have been installing. The room was comfortable and quiet. This was a weekend stay in the summer, so the property wasn't full. In fact, the lobby was empty most of the time. Had some problems with the wireless internet connecting and then indicating no signal. Used my cell modem instead. Overall a pleasant place to stay, and convenient to our event at the Fawcett Center on the edge of the Ohio State campus

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARBINOMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just stayed 5 nights, some good some not so good.room ok but didn't cool down as much as wanted(granted it was pushing hi 90's). Front desk was usually good, but didn't follow instruction to deliver to an incoming guest important items). Housekeeping was average, they did not change sheets daily.mirrors needed cleaning and floors could have been vacuumed better.i did find a small roach too( yuk).breakfast was quite good, but didn't like hearing servers talk shop in the early morning. Some were quite friendly Melanie had a great attitude. Would probably not stay here again but would consider as a second option.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank chucksierke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed 2 nights for business close by. I normally stay closer to downtown-but this was less than a mile from where I was going. The room was clean. When the A/C and tv were off-I could hear the person next door speaking.

I did not eat at the buffet either day nor did I eat any of my meals at the hotel. I didn't use the gym this time, either.

The location is easy to find. I was hoping to be able to run from the hotel to the campus, but there weren't any sidewalks around the area. It's not pedestrian friendly at all-much better closer to high st and downtown.

There are a couple of restaurants close by-but high st is very close-much better selection there.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night to attend the state high school track and field events at Jesse Owens Stadium. The rooms were very nice and the bed was comfortable. We would stay again at this Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browns64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed here one night on a tour and we loved this hotel! The rooms were so nice and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and I would definitely return to this hotel again and again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a very good Hilton Garden Inn close to the Ohio State University campus. The rooms are big, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast buffet is good and the staff is always friendly. The nice lobby offers enough space for small group meetings with colleagues. Hilton Honors privileges were immediately given without any need to ask.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for two nights last weekend on Hilton points. Front staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean with a small refrigerator and microwave which was great. Bed was very comfortable. Ate breakfast one morning in the hotel which was just ok. For $10.00 per person you order the hot food you want and help yourself to the cold food. Not much of a selection of pastries and cold food. It was very crowded when we were there and the food was gone quick. There is a Bob Evans right next door for a much better breakfast at a cheaper price. Hotel is in a great location near Ohio State University. I would definetely stay here next time I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwizoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 146 in Columbus
603 reviews
2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
1.6 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#4 of 146 in Columbus
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Columbus University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area

Address: 3232 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
#14 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#20 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $143 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area hotel near Ohio State University and Jerome Schottenstein Center, home of Buckeye basketball and ice hockey. Enjoy a convenient location minutes from Short North Arts and Entertainment District, Ohio State University Hospital, and the Greater Columbus Convention Center. There are all kinds of attractions near Ohio State University. Bring the kids to experience the Electrostatic Generator at COSI, Center for Science and Industry, or visit Jungle Jack and the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. Whether you're in Columbus, Ohio on business or to tailgate at the Buckeye's football game, we'll provide a comfortable hotel room near Ohio State University to help you feel at home. Enjoy a comfortable bed, in-room hospitality center, and a flat-screen HDTV. Appreciate features such as complimentary wired and wireless WiFi, a modern fitness center, an indoor pool and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus-University Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing