We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price, nice area of the Arena District, charge for parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Worth the price, nice area of the Arena District, charge for parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Booked a night for a show at the Basement and the OSU game the next day. Room was newly remodeled and clean. Bathroom a little small, but a fridge and microwave was available in the room. There was an unexpected charge to park your car not mentioned when we booked the room. But, they allowed us to stay in the lot for the OSU game the following day. The only complaint was the continental breakfast. It is poor, coffee was not available, just a few muffins and hard bagels. The lady attending to the area was rude and mean. People working the front desk were very attentive. Free Wifi a nice add to the evening.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haves11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    211
    63
    20
    25
See reviews for
101
94
57
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Red Roof Inn. Front desk provided exceptional guest service. Thank you Haley and the guys from 2nd shift. Zorita made sure my room was refreshed daily and I had full service when I needed it. Great stay beautiful hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pammiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
thanks for posting such a nice review. as you can see our staff loves helping our guests. hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The room was large,clean,quiet and comfortable. Was good location for the football game at OSU. Go Bucks! Parking lot was part of the lot connected with the Convention Center. Spaces were very small. There was a 10.00 charge for parking and we were later told we could have parked in the Convention Center area for another dollar. Not much for breakfast. Muffins,tea,coffee and juice. I would stay here again. I'm just saying,be prepared. Everyone was pleasant it was clean,and there were NO BEDBUGS! I looked everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjjd010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
thanks for such nice comments about our hotel. Bucks win again!! pls come back for another game soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stayed at the Red Roof in Nationwide Arena for a few days in September 2010. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the rooms were nice. Parking was across the street on Nationwide Blvd. and $10 a day. It was fine although a bit inconvenient to try and dodge cars to get back to the hotel (although I understand that parking in downtown is difficult). The continental breakfast was more of a grab and go with juice, muffins, danishes and bagels. There is also flavored coffee available all day in the lobby which was nice to come back to. Overall a pretty nice stay especially for the price in downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We were downtown for a convention so the location was perfect and the value was great! We were within a few minutes walking distance from our meeting.The staff was friendly, helpful, and courteous at check in. We had convenient parking at a reasonable rate. The rooms felt clean -- I was surprised to see laminate flooring in the room which felt so much crisper and cleaner than some hotels with their dirty feeling and smelling carpet. (There was a carpet that the bed sat on so you had something warm to put your feet on when you got up in the morning). The continental breakfast was adequate. My only complaint is that the bed was firm and I am used to a softer pillow-top mattress at home, therefore I had problems sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I originally chose this hotel because it was $60-$80 dollars cheaper then hotels almost directly across the street. I am so happy I did because not only was the price better but the rooms were fantastic! This hotel completely changed my opinion on Red Roof Inns. Not that I had a bad opinion but always viewed them as your average weekend hotel for a business trip....gets the job done but nothing to brag about. Well, I was so happy with my lodging at this facility that I am writing my first review ever....(and I travel about once a month or more) The front desk staff was the BEST service I have had and the rooms were surprisingly contemporary, spacious and new. I was very happy about the cleanliness and aesthetics. I was even happier about the free wifi, microwave and refrigerator. As a fitness professional this was huge as I like to pack healthy snacks, meals, etc,. and had the perk to do so. I had stayed at Ritz Carltons and Renaissance's within the past 6 weeks and they didn't even provide the fridge, microwave and free wifi amenities. If you couldn't already tell I would definitely recommend this hotel and was extremely happy with the hotel I had chosen.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. we are now 100% remodeled. hope to see you back here when you return to Columbus, OH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

I stayed at the downtown Columbus Red Roof Inn last weekend, and was very pleased with the quality of the room (especially the bedding), the free continental breakfast, and the great value. Everything was immaculate, some niceties were provided with the room, and the staff was very professional. My only criticism; the coffee provided in the room could be better quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#17 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 111 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#14 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio near the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This hotel is also conveniently located near Nationwide Arena, The North Market and the State Capitol. This terrific 100% Smoke-Free downtown Columbus Red Roof offers free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and free access to nearby fitness center. It also offers suites, a coin laundry facility, elevators and interior corridors. All rooms feature an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe for a nominal fee, microwave and refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. We have meeting space for up to 50 people--please contact our property sales department for more information. Shuttle service available to and from Port Columbus Airport for a nominal fee, please contact hotel for details. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing