We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GREAT LOCATION FOR DOWNTOWN COLUMBUS OHIO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join RediCard-Free Nights
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION FOR DOWNTOWN COLUMBUS OHIO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Stayed here for Red, White and Boom for two nights. Nice hotel, safe location, went through the web for the rate. Good check in, clean, contemp. style, request fourth floor or higher, and ask for room at end of the hall. Had two windows in room, which made for a great view of downtown, "that was neat." Near German Village, a must to see. Also, Short North, Arena District, and Brewery District is in five minute walking distance. Other hotels near by to drop in for breakfast, lunch, dinner. Max and Erma's, next door. NEGATIVES, no bar, don't fret, plenty around. Limited continental breakfast, I mean limited. Coffee, tea, danish, a litttle friut, muffins in wrappers, yougurt, ten dollar parking per night, not bad though for downtown. Overall, I would stay again, great for walking around the town. Just eat breakfast somewhere else. Cheaper and just as nice than staying across the street at the Convention Center.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank punjabkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
thanks for your comments about our hotel. glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. our renovation will be done by the end of August, 2010.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    200
    57
    19
    24
See reviews for
90
88
56
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

That basically says my feelings. This is the “bargain” hotel of the convention center area and is close to Downtown, Arena District and Short North. So, you've got plenty of restaurants, bars, etc in easy walking distance.

I’ve been coming to Columbus about once a year for 10+ years and have stayed here many times (and at least 3 of the other convention center area hotels). In my experience, they have the lowest room rate of the hotels around the convention center and the saving is greater if you're driving; their parking charge is much lower than most of the other options (especially the valet rates at the nearby hotel options).

Check-in was smooth as silk as was check-out. That’s about all the interaction I had with the staff (no other reasons). I’ll just add that I can’t imagine how the other reviewer could spend 20 minutes looking for the parking lot, you can literally see it from the front door. (And, if I remember correctly also the big sign which says “Red Roof Inn Parking,” but maybe the sign was added after his/her stay.)

The remodel continues, 1st floor (meeting rooms?) were being worked on while I was there, but with one exception, the work didn’t cause any disruption or bothersome noise. The exception was a water outage for the entire hotel. It didn’t cause me a problem as management had posted warnings in the elevators the day before and scheduled it for the middle of the day.

The remodeled rooms are definitely nicer than the old ones (can’t say if all are remodeled yet or not), but remember this is still a Red Roof Inn. Yes, you've got a flat screen TV now (at least I did), but it's not a Hilton, Hyatt, Sheraton, etc.

I do find it a little strange that for all the time, money & effort going into the remodel that a lot of little things seem to have been overlooked. Some of these could easily have been addressed as part of the remodel, others would just be a matter of allocating the upgrade dollars into things other then the physical plant.

To briefly recap:

Pros:

Close to convention center and (generally/always?) the lowest price.

Least expensive parking in the area.

Newly remodel rooms (not sure if everything is done yet).

Free breakfast (but more on this later).

Free wi-fi (but more on this later).

In-room fridge, microwave, iron & coffee maker.

Cons:

Linens/bedding: Bed was so/so to bad (clearly wasn’t part of upgrade or hadn’t happened yet). Had my wife been with me (who likes a cold room for sleeping), I would have froze to death - the blanket & bedspread were the thinnest I’ve ever seen in anything but a Motel 6 - come on guys, I don’t expect a down comforter, but I shouldn’t be comparing your bedding to Motel 6.

Clearly lots of money was spent on the remodel, you couldn’t have gotten *new* (and better) showerheads?

Nickel & dime charges (you had a separate charge in my room for the safe which I didn’t use?), maybe this was just a breakout charge, but I don’t think so.

The wi-fi is now free, but reception can be spotty. It was fine in the lobby area, but I was on the 7th (top) near the elevator. The reception there was never good and occasionally nonexistent. If being "close" to the the lobby area was a plus, I can't imagine the entire 7th floor has wi-fi reception.

Yes, breakfast is free, but it’s really just drinks & packaged muffins, etc (not a problem if you know that’s what you’re getting, but if you're not aware that's what it is . . .)


As for the bottom line, would I stay here again? Yes. Would I automatically choose the Red Roof Inn when I want to stay in the convention center area? No, I would see what else is available, compare rates & amenities, etc. before deciding on where to stay.

hlo

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huntlawoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. We always appreciate what our guests have to say about their stay. our renovation project will be completed by the end of August. We hope you will return and experience our many improvements. comments from our guests help us to continue to improve our services. thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Attended a conference at the convention center, stayed at the Red Roof for two nights. Was able to obtain a coupon code on the internet - so I got it even cheaper than the conference people were able to get it for. Newly redecorated~!! Very Nice!! In room coffee had little to desire but they imformed me they are changing to a different brand soon. Continental Breakfast was decent..... muffins, bagels, toast, coffee, juices

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay here was. Our convention was at the Hyatt, but we didn't want to pay triple the cost per night for our room. Our room at the Red Roof Inn was less than five minutes from our conference venue, and a lovely a.m. and p.m. walk.

The room was spacious, clean, had a safe, a refrigerator, a microwave, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, flat screen tv and free wifii connection. What more could we ask for from a room! Plus we got a AAA discount on top of the already low rate!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The staff were great, from the shuttle driver who picked me up at the airport, to the folks who answered the phone when I called with some questions, to the desk workers and the attendant at the breakfast bar.

The remodeled rooms look fantastic (I stayed in 701), and I wish I could have spent more time in the room. Widescreen TV, nice work area, fridge, microwave.

But I fear they spent too much of their remodeling budget on the designer. The beds were hard foam and low to the ground. The pillows were lumpy. It was a quiet night, despite the fact of lots of well-behaved teens in the hotel for a youth conference. But I had a rough night's sleep because of the bed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We showed up at 2:30 and check-in was at 3. We were given HORRIBLE directions to their off-site parking garage and drove around for 20 minutes looking for it. We ended up stopping at the Crowne Plaza and a worker there ended up getting directions for us. Ridiculous. Then we went back at 3:30 to check in and were told our room wouldn't be ready for another 45 minutes. After arguing with the front desk attendants, we were told we'd get the next available room, only to watch several other groups get rooms before us. The front desk people were not apologetic and blamed it on the fact that it was "the busiest weekend in Columbus." Too bad!!! When someone expects to check in at a certain time, you make sure that rooms are ready by that time. I will NEVER make the mistake of staying at a Red Roof Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iuandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
As the General Manager of this location, I appreciate your comments and I want to personally apologize for the bad experience that you had at our hotel. Please contact me at i0262@redroof.com, so I can discuss this issue and follow up with corrective measures. I look forward to hearing from you.
Again,
I do sincerely apologize,
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kane, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Visited Columbus for a concert and I was so thrilled with the quality of this hotel for the price. It is quite modern and fairly recently remodeled. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was also conveniently located so we could walk a few blocks to the Nationwide Arena for the concert.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LindyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#14 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#29 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio near the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This hotel is also conveniently located near Nationwide Arena, The North Market and the State Capitol. This terrific 100% Smoke-Free downtown Columbus Red Roof offers free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and free access to nearby fitness center. It also offers suites, a coin laundry facility, elevators and interior corridors. All rooms feature an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe for a nominal fee, microwave and refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. We have meeting space for up to 50 people--please contact our property sales department for more information. Shuttle service available to and from Port Columbus Airport for a nominal fee, please contact hotel for details. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing