We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join RediCard-Free Nights
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland suburb, OH
2 reviews
“Good value for a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

I stayed 3 nights in early April 2009 for a conference at the convention center. This hotel does NOT have covered access to the convention center so bring an umbrella just in case. Parking lot is across the street and does have in/out privileges, but is not covered and spaces are VERY TINY, so big trucks/vehicles took up a space and half and parking was getting scarce when I checked in around 9 p.m. My room had a great view of Nationwide Blvd.- I booked the junior suite so I would have wireless internet access included. You have to go get an internet access code card every day though which was not a big deal, but not as convenient as all inclusive internet access. The suite was spacious with LOTS of room and king-size bed. Wet bar area with sink and small fridge. Room seemed clean, but upon my initial entry to room, there was an overwhelming smell of cheap mens cologne- so much so that I hesitated to stay in the room for fear there was someone already in the room. I even looked under the bed and couch to be sure! The odor lingered for the first day or so but seemed to dissipate after running the air conditioner/heater- or maybe I just got used to the smell. It wasn't that offensive, but very noticeable. Perhaps it was a fumigation smell of some sort? It did not trigger my asthma. The room showed some wear/tear, but nothing extensive. There was no desk area which made using my laptop challenging when I had to do work because I had to hold it on my lap while sitting on the couch or bed. The restaurant next door (shares parking lot) is AWESOME- highly recommended for a good dinner. Overall, this is a great location for the price if you need a last minute booking- within walking distance to everything. I still prefer the Drury Inn & Suites across the street because they offer a hot breakfast and nightly manager's reception plus covered parking & access to the convention center as well as internet included and an indoor pool. I would consider booking at this Red Roof if my first choice is not available.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinsmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    200
    56
    19
    24
See reviews for
90
88
55
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
202 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

This property is one of the few reasonable options in an over-priced downtown hotel market that tops the sky high rates with a 16 to17 percent room tax (to add insult to injury). This property is not your typical off the interstate Red Roof Inn. It's a quiet high rise near downtown and walkable to the very trendy Short North District (great restaurants there). The negatives: the coffee is undrinkable (in the breakfast room) and there are no coffee machines in the rooms. Walk to the nearby Crowne Plaza coffee bar for your coffee (a block away).

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

I stayed here for two nights while attending a conference across the street at the Columbus Convention Center. I was very satisfied with most aspects of the stay, beginning with the price of the room, which was nearly half that of the conference hotel, even including the "conference discount"!

The room was large and clean, and surprisingly quiet for being downtown in a large city. The beds and other furniture were clean and comfortable. The television had one of those huge remote controls with a thousand buttons for everything from shopping to internet to (maybe) watching TV. There was no channel listing provided and I didn't think to call the front desk; I just surfed until I located the channel I wanted.

The bathroom was also clean and nice, except that the provided shampoo came in a tear-open packet. These are difficult to use and they spill when you set them down. If anyone else had been staying with me, there would not have been enough for two people. I also did not get a second packet for my second morning.

I had some difficulty locating the hotel, since it is set back from the road and the sign is a little too demure. I was looking for something bright red like the logo when it was just a tasteful brick thing with the name of the hotel. Parking is not free. You can park for ten minutes outside the front door, but after that you have to move your vehicle to a controlled-access lot across the street which costs $10 per day, added to your room bill. I'm not too upset about that, since it was good to have parking so close to the hotel, but I didn't realize it was going to cost extra until I got there, and so that was a surprise.

The free breakfast was hideous, but sometimes you get what you pay for. There was a choice of pastry or muffins, each individually wrapped in plastic so I felt that I was eating from a vending machine. There was no hot water for tea-making, but there was a strange machine that made various coffee drinks. There was also a machine dispensing three different fruit juices. That was absolutely all. Throughout the day, the television in the breakfast room blared FoxNews loudly, which was annoying. Luckily, there are many good restaurants in the area that serve breakfast (including the food court at the convention center) and I would recommend eating at one of them instead.

The staff was efficient and friendly during my stay. Everyone at the front desk wore nice business clothes, including the manager who strolled through the breakfast area asking everyone how they were doing. The elevator was fast and silent, so that was also a plus.

  • Liked — Great location and great price!
  • Disliked — Breakfast offerings were terrible.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pferdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

I travel extensively, and this is one of only two hotels I've stayed at in recent years that CHARGES FOR INTERNET! While the front desk warmly informed me that if I'd booked a "business class room," I'd have free internet (a lot of good that did mid-evening!), I was forced to purchase a $9.50/day temporary pass from T-Mobile Hotspots. Worse, they tried to mark the price up at the front desk.

Adding insult to injury, the hotel charges $10/night for parking. While I'd expect this in a large or dense city, the extra charge seemed inappropriate for the hotel's location. Incidentally, the paid parking is across a 6-lane road and a grass median strip.

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Disliked — charged for internet and parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank klb365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

The staff at the front desk were curtious. The room that was reserved did not have a view of the city. I went to the desk and though it was busy they switched my room. The room was clean. The only fault with it was that the pillows had a not so plesant odor (BO) to them. Upon my departure there was some miscomunication. The room was to be put on my bosses credit card. The staff was aware of that when I checked in. When I went to leave they said he checked out of his room,( I knew that ) and that they did not have his credit card number. They said that I would have to put it on my credit card since we were unable to reach him on his phone.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aerobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Great location, great price. We haven't had any problems with cleanliness or service. The staff have been helpful, and the location is perfect for accessing the convention center and many nearby restaurants, markets, and bars.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Etoile983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanborn, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

This is the second time we have stayed at this Red Roof. [see previous review] Again we were satisfied with the room and cleanliness. If my wife is satisfied with the cleanliness, it must be clean. It still is a good bargain when attending events at the convention center. Just a short walk saves a lot of money. The only downside is the breakfast -- only packaged pastries and bagels, no cereal. The coffee is from a new fancy machine that has many flavors, but it is instant coffee and not "real" coffee. We would stay there again in the future, but just eat breakfast somewhere else. The money we saved would buy breakfast elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Pekinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#14 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#29 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio near the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This hotel is also conveniently located near Nationwide Arena, The North Market and the State Capitol. This terrific 100% Smoke-Free downtown Columbus Red Roof offers free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and free access to nearby fitness center. It also offers suites, a coin laundry facility, elevators and interior corridors. All rooms feature an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe for a nominal fee, microwave and refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. We have meeting space for up to 50 people--please contact our property sales department for more information. Shuttle service available to and from Port Columbus Airport for a nominal fee, please contact hotel for details. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing