We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Very wonderful staff the area is great. We visited for a concert, got snowed in! Very vBulletin ery notice visit will definitely come back later. They had pizza delivery. Nice area. Downtown location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aleisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Your comments following your snowed-in stay at our hotel are greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. The pizza delivery is good, but I encourage you to try the excellent food at the Flat Iron Grill located next to our hotel. They will also deliver. I hope you enjoyed your concert and will be back again for another stay in the very near future. We are just a short walk to many entertainment facilities in downtown Columbus. A very Happy Holiday season to you & yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    229
    72
    22
    26
See reviews for
116
107
58
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Everything was great! Service was friendly and helpful. Close to all the hotspots in town and very affordable. If you drive parking cost 10 bucks a night. It may be a little pricey for parking but atleast you know you have a spot. Special thanks to Michael Ambros at the front desk for being helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for letting our team know how much you enjoyed their service and your stay in our hotel. Michael will be very pleased to know that you identified him personally for his helpfulness at the front desk. Although our parking charge is $10.00, I know you will find it to be the lowest of any of the downtown hotels. Hope you had an opportunity to sample our free continental breakfast and use our free Wi-Fi connection. Thanks again for telling us about your visit. Please come back again soon. Happy Holidays from the Red Roof Inn Columbus-Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel again is located right next to the convention center and just down the asreet from the arena. If you're going there during a game or event, prepare for mad parking issues and noise all over the place. This stay didn't have any of that.

As mentioned, the parking facilities are across Nationwide Boulevard, which has no crosswalk and no path across the grassy and sometimes muddy median.

The room was clean and except for neighbor noise, quiet. My girlfriend discovered an issue with the bathroom sink where cloudy water smelling heavily of chlorine was coming out of the hot side of the sink faucet, but the tub faucet was unaffected. The warmer the water, the more cloudy it looked. I alerted the hotel staff who didn't seem too terribly bothered by it. While my stay was part of RediCard rewards they still should have seemed a little more alert to the issue.

Still a lockout from using the HDMI & A/V ports on the side of the TV, a major disappointment. The hookups are there but the source button on the side of the TV is locked out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you very much for returning to our hotel for another visit. We love to have repeat guests. My apologies for our parking lot location, which has been the same for 15 years now. With some luck, and the necessary approval from the City of Columbus, we might be allowed to improve the walk path and add a cross walk in the coming year. We will give it our best shot. Also, I don't know what might have caused the unusual amount of air in the hot water from the sink faucet. That's a new one for us to investigate. Thank you for making us aware of it. Please keep coming back and letting us know how your stay goes. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
304 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Not too bad for a red roof. They offer specials if you stay for 3 nights or more. Close to everything. Modern decor is a nice fit for the downtown. Great inexpensive place to stay for events and the Columbus Convention center Parking is a nightmare and will cost at least 1$10 per night with in-and-out privileges. The parking for this hotel is across the street, be prepare to walk 200' to you car. Parking lot attendants were horrible, card swipe machines at the parking lots worked sporadically. Would be a 4 star if it wasn't for the parking. They offer free pick up at the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenluck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for telling us about your stay in our hotel. Glad you liked our modern décor with hardwood flooring, flat panel TVs, micro-fridge and free Wi-Fi connection in all rooms. Our location is excellent for downtown activities and events. Once you get parked, you can pretty much plan on walking to everything you need in our downtown districts. Please come back and visit us again when you are in Columbus, OH. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I got this hotel on Hotwire, and the price was probably half of what other hotels would cost with that proximity to the Convention Center. There was free pick-up at the airport. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable, and everything was functional. Good supply of electric outlets (a common pet peeve). The only unsatisfactory thing was breakfast, which contained a miserable selection of very unhealthy packaged pastries, sweetened packaged oatmeal (not even any cold cereals), bad coffee, mushy apples. So stay here, and use some of the money you save to go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for telling us about your recent stay and how much you enjoyed your room. Nice to know that you found it to be a good value. Many of our guests agree with you that our rooms are quite spacious. My apologies for the limited selections on our continental breakfast. Please come back and visit with us again whenever you happen to be back in Columbus. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at RRI Downtown (RRI-262),10/23 - 10/25/2013. Overall it was a good experience: clean room, attentive staff, convenient location. The lady who set up the continental breakfast was a very pleasant person, performed her work efficiently and was a delight to talk with. Her name was Ruby...Please tell her "nice going!"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navybrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
RUBY is going to be so very pleased that you singled her out for her excellent customer service on our FREE continental breakfast. All of us appreciate you taking your time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay at the Red Roof Inn Columbus-Downtown. Remember, FREE Wi-Fi and we are a pet friendly hotel. Please visit us again when you are back in Columbus. Nothing is better than seeing repeat guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Red Roof for one night on Saturday for a concert at Nationwide Arena. I made the booking via a Priceline Express deal for approximately half of the asking price. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Arena with convenient $10 in/out access parking across the street from the hotel in an outdoor lot.

We entered the lobby for checkin and were loudly greeted by 10-15 middle-aged guys all with coolers drinking Busch who proclaimed - 'welcome to the party' - they were looking for rooms but had no reservations. The lobby staff did a very, very good job in laying down the law on them and warning them about excess noise. When getting my room key, I asked the front desk if we could be placed on a floor separate from this group, and they happily did so. This was really appreciated.

We were on the 4th floor on a corner room at the end of the hall, so it was very quiet. Red Roofs nationwide completed room renovations that provided a more modern furniture design, new modern sinks, and carpet removed and laminate wood installed, etc.- we stay in their hotels whenever we travel with our dog. If you haven't seen the rooms, it certainly is not the Red Roof of the last 20 years. The room has free WifI, a mini fridge, 37" flatscreen, etc. The bathroom amenities supplied were Pantene 2in1 shampoo/conditioner and an oatmeal-based soap bars.

The room was very clean. The staff was still setting up the bathroom when we came into the room. The use of wood laminate does allow for better/easier cleaning overall (and is much better for hotels than carpet), although when cleaning with swiffer-type cloth mops, dust and dirt will build up on corners and borders, which can be noticeable since the wood laminate is light-colored.

There is complimentary continental breakfast provided in the lobby from 7-10am. This included on Sunday morning - English Muffins, bananas, pastries, blueberry/banana walnut muffins, hard-boiled eggs, coffee and OJ/Apple Juice. The staff worker kept everything fully stocked and continuously cleaned the counters and emptied trash.

Overall, the lobby staff was very patience with a clearly rowdy group of men, so they should be commended with that. The hotel is a great value in downtown Columbus for Arena events.

Room Tip: I would request a room on the opposite side of US 23, such as a corner room (423) away from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengals9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay in our Red Roof Inn Columbus-Downtown hotel. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient for downtown activities and that our prices were a good value for you. Please be aware that we also offer a free airport shuttle to and from the airport daily from 8 AM to 6 PM. Thanks again for taking the time to tell us about your visit. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#16 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 111 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio near the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This hotel is also conveniently located near Nationwide Arena, The North Market and the State Capitol. This terrific 100% Smoke-Free downtown Columbus Red Roof offers free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and free access to nearby fitness center. It also offers suites, a coin laundry facility, elevators and interior corridors. All rooms feature an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe for a nominal fee, microwave and refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. We have meeting space for up to 50 people--please contact our property sales department for more information. Shuttle service available to and from Port Columbus Airport for a nominal fee, please contact hotel for details. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing