We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The staff is always accomodating, cheerful and friendly and the hotel is clean.
Tim and Hayley at the front desk were excellent and should be commended. I can't say enough about this hotel and can't wait to come back with my dog.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Your comments about your recent visit with us are very much appreciated. Thanks for telling us how much you liked our service and cleanliness. Tim and Haley will be very happy that you singled them out individually for their service. We are pet friendly. Please do return as often as you like, with your pet. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 766 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great place to stay when visiting Columbus Ohio. Across the street from the Convention center.Near all the Great Resturants,Bars,shopping.Walking Distance to the Short North.The Staff is wonderful. Breakfast free Go Buckeyes...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiRizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for telling us how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, stay here and you will find you can park your car and walk to everything you need in downtown Columbus. Our free continental breakfast is open each morning from 7 AM to 10 AM. Our team hopes you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A decent hotel in a decent area.

First, the issues:
* The parking is across Nationwide Boulevard which can be busy at times. There is no shuttle or even a crosswalk, so you have to cross a divided highway (sometimes during the night) to get to the hotel (there isn't even a sidewalk so good luck if its raining, you have to trample through mud and wet grass). The parking lot is also limited (7 floors in the hotel and at least 15 rooms per floor means 100+ rooms) and there's only like...50 parking spaces available in the lot 'dedicated' to Red Roof, and I met more than one person hesitant to park in the other lot because they were afraid of being ticketed or towed (even though you could get to that other lot with the $10/night parking pass they give you).
* Hot water was slow to arrive in the shower...I waited about 1 minute for any sign of hot water and then another minute for actual hot water so I could shower
* The TV did not work correctly. The inputs on the side were locked out so you could not plug any perphrials into the TV. The channel selection was also limited, with most hotels focusing on sports, news and HBO. I would like to see a hotel that actually has shows and programming. TBS was about the only thing decent in their lineup.
* The outside perimeter of the hotel smelled disgustingly of raw sewage. This hotel is nowhere near the 'bad' parts of Columbus, nor the river.
* I could hear the elevator from my room, which was 3-4 rooms away.

The good:
* Nice, comfy bed. :)
* Big, comfy room.
* Nice views of the city if you're on a higher floor. Nice views of buildings if you're on a lower one.
* Convenient location to where I was going (just outside downtown) meant not a lot of driving to distant locations, such as Worthington or Dublin.

This trip was part of the Redi Rewards. If I have those points available again, I might stay here. But as a regular trip to Columbus, I think I'll choose another hotel in Columbus that I know and love.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We love to get feedback from our guests. Both the good and the issues. It keeps us on our toes and gives us a chance to make improvements. Please do consider visiting us again in the future. We want you back, "under our Roof."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited this Red Roof when I was in Columbus for America's Got Talent Auditions back in February. I won't stay anyplace else next time I'm in downtown Columbus. Great value, very helpful management and staff. Joy was incredibly helpful with a cart so I could move my gear around. This was an awesome visit and I will definitely refer to friends.

Room Tip: Just ask staff to help you, call the front desk, everyone is very helpful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeY765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Your comments about your stay are greatly appreciated. We thank you for your business and for telling us how much you enjoyed our customer service. Joy will be thrilled that you singled her out for going above and beyond to assist you. Please come back as often as you like. We love to see our repeat guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

In town for a conference at the Convention Center and chose to stay here vs the much pricier options in the vicinity...I was a little hesitant, but can't complain about anything. The price is half that of other options for the room and for the parking. Parking is less convenient (outdoor lot across the street; no valet) than other options in the area, but the price differential makes up for it. Free wi-fi (I've had to pay from $10 - $15 per night at other hotels in this area) which was very dependable and sufficient for my needs. The room was clean and spacious with many modern updates. Others have commented about AC (new units were arriving as I was checking in) no shampoo (I had shampoo) and only having a small travel pack of tissues vs a typical box insert (they were sanitary and the quality was much better than most). The staff was friendly and I've had at least three staff members (maintenance, front desk, and room service) go out of their way to ask if everything was okay or anything needed attention. The mattress was very clean and comfortable and the pillows actually seemed new and had some bulk to them. The walk to the Convention Center is very easy and there are MANY dining options within walking distance. Breakfast is very continental--no real protein or dairy options that I could see--mostly pre-packaged muffins and danish with some bagels. Not a bad experience at all; I won't hesitate to stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickandJane6986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We appreciate your descriptions of our location, the area, our room supplies and continental breakfast.. Just about everything you need is within easy walking distance to our Red Roof Inn-Downtown. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Good location. Many nice restaurants in walking distance. Fresh coffee was always available. Wifi signal was weak. Shuttle service was limited. There were plenty of towels, soap and shampoo. I will use this hotel again and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about how much you enjoyed your stay. I am very pleased to tell you that our Wi-Fi equipment was upgraded during the first week of April. It is now very reliable and much quicker. Thanks also for commenting about our convenient location and the easy walk to many area restaurants, as well as the Greater Columbus Convention Center and Nationwide Arena. Our team looks forward to your return visit. You know you are always welcome, under our roof!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Red Roof Inn Downtown Columbus has very friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. We were greeted by wonderful frontdesk staff, especially Haley. She was efficient and knowledgeable. Our friend Tom, maintenance supervisor, checked on us and made sure we were comfortable.
Thanks to the great staff at the Red Roof, our trip to downtown Columbus was a nice one.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the 7th floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancytaggart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Happy St. Patty's Day! We are very glad you decided to to stay with us and visit our downtown area for St. Patrick's Day. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our hotel and our staff service. Both Haley & Tom are going to be pleased that you singled them out for their exceptional customer service. Please return to us whenever you need a hotel in Columbus. Thanks again, for your comments and for staying with us at the Red Roof Inn Columbus-Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#43 of 143 in Columbus
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 111 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $104 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio near the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This hotel is also conveniently located near Nationwide Arena, The North Market and the State Capitol. This terrific 100% Smoke-Free downtown Columbus Red Roof offers free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and free access to nearby fitness center. It also offers suites, a coin laundry facility, elevators and interior corridors. All rooms feature an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe for a nominal fee, microwave and refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. We have meeting space for up to 50 people--please contact our property sales department for more information. Shuttle service available to and from Port Columbus Airport for a nominal fee, please contact hotel for details. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing