We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

what a nice hotel! the staff were awesome, the rooms looked brand new. the continental breakfast was as described. great deal for the money! only drawback was the sirens going all night (fire station a few blocks away), the paper thin walls...i could hear the conversation in the next room, and they weren't shouting, and the lack of parking on property...i had to pay $10 for parking? overall the place was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank win-ning2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Glad you had a good experience in our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the noise that disturbed you. We hope you will visit us again when you are returning to Columbus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 791 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice rooms, great location and great staff at front desk. Breakfast was very nice with special attention to details and a pleasant greeting by Ruby. free coffee available all day, very good value for a reasonable cost - and only 2 minutes from the convention center!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Your comments about your recent stay in our hotel are greatly appreciated. Ruby will especially like being mentioned for her hard work on our continental breakfast. Your compliments will also be shared with our front desk staff and the rest of our team. Glad you found the 2 minute walk to the Greater Columbus Convention Center to be so connvenient. Thank you for telling us about your visit. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Comfortable, large, clean rooms, everything good appart from the rubbish breakfasts. Ruby the breakfast attendant is wonderful, very friendly and welcoming, and she deserves a raise, but there was no milk, no cereals, often no fruit (not her fault). Breakfast basically consisted of Sarah Lee muffins or bagels or oatmeal (without any milk!). Poor show.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to tell us about what you liked and disliked on your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed our large, comfy & clean rooms. Ruby will be delighted with your comments about her service. Please accept my apologies for the limited selections on our continental breakfast. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you need a hotel in Columbus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

She was a wonderful Continental Breakfast attendant. I looked forward to seeing her every morning. What a lady! Look for Ruby next time you stay :) The rooms were very, very nice for a Red Roof Inn. Parking was a bit of a hassle but it still was a very nice hotel with incredible customer service. But really I am just writing this review to thank Ruby the breakfast attendant. She is wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for commenting about your stay and our free continental breakfast. I know Ruby is going to be thrilled to see your compliments about her service. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The rooms were big and well furnished. Beds were comfortable and the big flat screen TV was nice for watching football. I was disappointed they did not have roll away beds as there was plenty of room for one. Three of us only needed one room, but had to get 2 because of the lack of roll away beds. The hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, and restaurants and night life. The breakfast was pretty modest. Juice, coffee, instant oatmeal, and tons of pastries and bread. No protein at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egregclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for telling us about your stay. Good to know that you enjoyed your time here and found us to be conveniently located within walking distance of so many fine Columbus restaurants, night clubs and shopping. Many guests do like our flat panel TV's and the micro-fridges that are in all of our rooms. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find the room so contemporary with wood floors and streamlined cabinets. I love the decor theme. Everything coordinated. They even used the latest in window treatments. Mind you we had to stay here for 6 days straight and it would have been disastrous if it werent perfect. Love the breakfast and lounge areas they were just as pleasant and clean and accommodating. Furnitures were quite contemporary as well. And loved my first morning because the flat screen TV was on my fav network: FNC. You have to meet Ruby. She is the breakfast hostess. Quite a perfect one for her job. Always anticipating what you need before you need it. The folks at the check in counter were friendly and accommodating as well. There was nothing we asked that they did not give us. For a non-hotel category I felt like we were in one.
My favorites:
1.parking across the street 24/7 for $10 a day
2.The black streamlined modern built in cabinet or counter system in the room that incorporated a nice size black fridge with freezer, a microwave, a safe, counters for nick-naks, cabinet with modern handles, good size flat screen TV, and a movable writing desk when you want to move it to use it for eating etc. and a computer chair with custers.
3.An unusual type bagel toaster that moves the bagel through the grill ad throws it to down to a catcher once its done.
4.All day coffee at the lounge area.
5. modern bath sink area.
6. I could cross the street to go to the Convention Center to eat at their food court.
7. I was able to walk to their North Market, a big warehouse looking place where lots of merchants have their own stalls and sell and serve every kid of organic and ethnic foods.I went for Thai food since Im Asian.
8. Breakfast time was between 7AM - 10AM. My absolute favorite
9. Check in time was 3PM, check out time 12PM, now that's more reasonable.
Overall we enjoyed our stay there for such a under-reasonable price. I say that because my husband attended a conference 4 blocks away and in the conference he was offered a discount by the sponsors to stay in the same hotel at a price per night that the amount we paid for 6 nights at Red Roof when totaled was less than the cost of the two nights at the conference hotel. So who's smiling then? We did not miss going for a visit at the famous OSU. We also ate at nearby Bonefish Grill restaurant nearby where you can see Red Roof while sitting out at the patio with a live singer entertainment. Seafood was great and server was excellent.

Room Tip: We started with 4th floor corner room northeast and we love the sunny effect but we were told someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TzG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

It was our pleasure to serve you for your six-day stay in our hotel. It is always nice to hear from our guests. Especially when you take the time to tell us how much you liked your visit and our downtown area. I know Ruby will appreciate your compliments about her service in our continental breakfast lounge. Please return as often as you like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised by how close this was to the Columbus Convention Center! I'm 7 months pregnant and came to a convention by myself, but was nervous about walking to and from the convention center. Didn't know what the neighborhood would be like, but reserved too late (and was too cheap!) to book at the other hotels. No regrets! Clean, secure, lovely short walk in a nice nabe. Just don't order takeout. From the in room menu--worst red-sauce Italian I've ever had.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Gretchen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI262, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is nice to know you liked our hotel, the neighborhood and the convenient walk across the street to the convention center. Sorry about that red sauce. I will be sure to let our order-in restaurant know about it. Take care, come back again, and most importantly- congratulations and best wishes for your new little one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 145 in Columbus
1,711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 145 in Columbus
1,950 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 111 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $92 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio near the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This hotel is also conveniently located near Nationwide Arena, The North Market and the State Capitol. This terrific 100% Smoke-Free downtown Columbus Red Roof offers free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and free access to nearby fitness center. It also offers suites, a coin laundry facility, elevators and interior corridors. All rooms feature an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe for a nominal fee, microwave and refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. We have meeting space for up to 50 people--please contact our property sales department for more information. Shuttle service available to and from Port Columbus Airport for a nominal fee, please contact hotel for details. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing