We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Deal near Convention Center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Deal near Convention Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed here for a convention in Columbus. Got a great rate and was not expecting too much but the other nearby hotels were sold out. The hotel was great, quiet clean rooms, fast elevator and friendly front desk. The other hotels down the street were almost twice the price!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stymie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showard08, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at our property and for choosing us to host you during your convention. We are very happy to hear that we were able to surprise you with a great stay for a great price. We thank you for allowing our future guest see that our brand can and will provide the most for your money with the goal of 100% guest satisfaction. Our team thanks you again and we all look forward to serving you again in the future
Sarah Howard AGM
111 E Nationwide Boulevard
Columbus, OH 43215
(614)224-6539 i0262@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    216
    65
    20
    25
See reviews for
105
94
57
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I was very impressed with this Red Roof Inn.
The rooms were clean and looked like they had been redone recently. There was a large flat screen tv, a refrigerator and coffee maker. The bathrooms were clean with very modern looking sinks outside the bathroom door.
The blankets were rather thin on the bed and the beds a tad bit hard but I still slept well.
The only complaint: We stayed in a room with two double beds and there were three people sleeping in our room, and we always had to ask for more washcloths. We stayed for 4 nights and it happened every day. The first night we only had one washcloth but plenty of towels. That being said the front desk was always very friendly and efficient in getting more washcloths to us.
Breakfast is nothing fancy but it's good. Bagels, danishes, muffins, coffee, and juices.
Free wi-fi which is definately a plus.
Parking is across the street and is only ten dollars a night. We never had a problem crossing the street as it's a one way.
Overall I was very pleased with the value of this hotel. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingheartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showard08, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our property and for choosing our brand to host you while in our area. Our property has gone through a makeover and we are very happy as well with the results. We do apologize that you had a problem with the amount of washcloths for your room but happy that our front desk was efficient with providing you with the correct amount and did so happily. Our complimentary breakfast and free Wi-Fi is just a few of the amenities that we offer at no extra cost. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with the value of our brand and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sarah Howard AGM
111 E Nationwide Boulevard
Columbus, OH 43215
(614)224-6539 i0262@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Red Roof Inn was very clean and our room was spacious. There was an in-room microwave, mini fridge and coffee pot provided and the bed was very comfortable. It was conveniently located near downtown and a 15 minute walk from the LC Pavilion where we went to experience an outdoor concert. It was our first time ever exploring Columbus Ohio and we very much enjoyed it. One of the only downsides was the lack of nearby affordable restaurants (we had to drive 15 minutes to get pizza) and the parking costs $10 which we didn't find out until we had arrived. Other than that I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked our hotel on Priceline.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showard08, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for choosing us to host you during your visit to our area, and for taking the time to post a review about your accommodations. It is nice for our future visitors to be able to see how our brand stands in comparison to others and the accessibility to nearby attractions. As you noted we are located close to the downtown area and a short walk to nearby restaurants, some a little pricier that others. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed exploring the area and were able to enjoy a concert in our LC Pavilion. Again we thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sarah Howard AGM
111 E Nationwide Boulevard
Columbus, OH 43215
(614)224-6539 i0262@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is the nicest Red Roof Inn I've ever stayed in. Easily comparable to any mid-scale property and half the price. The suite was clearly all new and spotlessly clean. Large flat screen TVs, modern fixtures, french doors seperating the king bedroom from the living room, refrigerator and microwave...it was really nice!

I also want to note that the staff was really nice. Little things like holding the elevator when I was half way down the hall and keeping my papers at the front desk while I went out to dinner mean a lot. I would also commend the hotel for the excellent airport shuttle service; they were 100% flexible and picked up and dropped off right on time. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showard08, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your visit to the area and for posting a review about your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you felt welcome and comfortable at our property. Our brand is proud to offer a great price for a great place and very happy that you enjoyed the savings. It is always our pleasure hold a door open or hang on to important papers for you, it is the least we can do to make you feel at home and welcomed. Our shuttle service has been a complimentary service that our guest has found to be convenient for their travels alleviating the extra cost of a rental car. We are very happy that you were able to use this service and thank you for letting our future guests know of this amenity. Again thank you for your comments and we truly look forward to serving in the future.
Sarah Howard AGM
111 E Nationwide Boulevard
Columbus, OH 43215
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Very clean and modern looking. Very pleasant staff. Large room that was very clean.

The ony thing I did not lik was the loud buzz that was emitted when ever someone put their key in the door. It did wake us a few times during the night. Being right downtown in a large city with many college students, people were comming and going all night long.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ohio_couple_movin_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showard08, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you liked your accommodations and that the guest service representatives made you feel welcome. We would like to apologize that you were disturbed by the key entry system for our doors and that you were awakened during the night. Again thank you for leaving a comment and we will look into a better weather stripping that might better muffle some of the outside sounds. Your thoughts are appreciated and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sarah Howard AGM
111 E Nationwide Boulevard
Columbus, OH 43215
(614)224-6539 i0262@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this Inn and was pleased with every aspect of my stay. Front desk staff was pleasant and very helpful. Room was clean, roomy and very comfortable. Right across the street from the convention center providing easy access to my event. Would definitely book with this facility again when in the area. Many good restaurants nearby.
Would certainly recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redtail196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showard08, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you so much for leaving such wonderful comments about your stay at our hotel. Our staff has enjoyed the compliments and wants to express their gratitude for such a nice review. We are very fortunate to have such dedicated and loyal staff in all of our departments allowing us to better serve our guests. Our location and proximity to the convention center allows our guest easy access to the center. Again thank you for positing a review and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sarah Howard AGM
111 E Nationwide Boulevard
Columbus, OH 43215
(614)224-6539 i0262@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

I've stayed in 3-star hotels in Columbus, and this Red Roof Inn definitely beats them in terms of value. Clean rooms, thoughtful layout for desk (with flat screen TV mounted on wall above), wooden floors that make it easy to roll around in your chair, free internet, and easy access to restaurants. You also get free access to a nice gym three blocks away. When I come back to Columbus, I am definitely staying here.

Room Tip: Book on websites such as priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaimyshoe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showard08, AGM at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for posting a review about your experience with our property. Your comments have brought smiles to all of our staff and are greatly appreciated. We are very pleased that you were happy with your accommodations and that you found our property suited your taste and needs. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the gym and free internet something most hotels charge extra fees for. Our property is located in conveniently close to several good restaurants and glad that you were able to enjoy them as well. We thank you again and look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
Sarah Howard AGM
111 E Nationwide Boulevard
Columbus, OH 43215
(614)224-6539 i0262@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#16 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 111 E Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215-2500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbus
#15 Family Hotel in Columbus
#25 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel in downtown Columbus, Ohio near the Greater Columbus Convention Center. This hotel is also conveniently located near Nationwide Arena, The North Market and the State Capitol. This terrific 100% Smoke-Free downtown Columbus Red Roof offers free WiFi, free continental breakfast, and free access to nearby fitness center. It also offers suites, a coin laundry facility, elevators and interior corridors. All rooms feature an iron and ironing board, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe for a nominal fee, microwave and refrigerator. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! This location offers On Command Video with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. We have meeting space for up to 50 people--please contact our property sales department for more information. Shuttle service available to and from Port Columbus Airport for a nominal fee, please contact hotel for details. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Red Roof Inn
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing