We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Valentines Day at the Renaissance!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Renaissance for Valentines this year and it was wonderful! The service was great, very clean room, awesome views! What more could you ask?! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling for business or leisure :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbabe342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 654 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

Room - King bed with great view of the city. It was full of very modern furniture and when I say full I mean it. I was going to post pics but from the ones that have already been posted it looks like all the rooms were the same. Very comfy bed and a cool modern-deco desk with a huge lounging chair and ottoman combo that took up damn near the entire room. They obviously had someone with good style pick the furniture but then someone blind or perhaps with levitating abilities chose the arrangement because it made no sense being arranged traditionally. The bed was comfortable except for the pillows. I'm a memory foam person and always end up rolling up the pillows to get decent support. If you like pillows you can sink into, you won't have a problem. The bathroom was full of modern and stylish features and I think it was arranged best for the use of a slightly small space. Nice closet for winter coats. HUGE freaking mirror.

Area - We were able to walk around and be touristy without trouble. I imagine in the summer the walk to the river would be pleasant. We tried out The Elevator brew pub which is a few blocks away. I believe it was in the German part of town as the full name had "Haus" in it. Ate dinner on Saturday night across the street from the hotel at Mitchell's Steakhouse which was amazing. Fantastic service (attentive without being intrusive) and amazing food. I suggest the bacon wrapped filet and creme brulee'.

Hotel overall - When we checked in there was some sort of high school volleyball tournament going on that had the place packed. They'd planned well for it though and had plenty of valets (I think it was $30/night) and front desk people. The manager was wading through the masses and just checking in with people "someone with be with you very soon" "we really appreciate your patience and hope you enjoy your stay". It was nice. There's a lounge/bar but we didn't use it because we went back across the street to Mitchell's and sat at their bar and had more desserts! Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was really good. The staff there was good. They had 2 options for the buffet which I thought was nice. I think it was $10 for the typical pastry/cereal/fruit combo or $14 for a dude to make you an omelet to order, fried eggs, oatmeal, bacon, fresh waffles, and a few other things that I was too full to explore.

We came back to our room early on Saturday afternoon and encountered the cleaning staff who were friendlier than some of my neighbors. Generally, it seems this place has found the friendliest and nicest people in Ohio and somehow wrangled them all into working here. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingShanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

If you are looking to stay in a great chain hotel, this is your hotel. The staff is great and the service is great. We've been here on two separate occasions (3 nights total) and have never encountered a problem. Room service was quicker than expected, the food at Latitude 41 is great, and parking should be left to the valet staff. People complain about cost but you pay for convenience. The standard for downtown Columbus valet parking is $20-24. Why not pay for in-out privileges? If people want perfection in a hotel accompanied by low cost, try staying in Mexico where the value of a dollar stands strong to the peso! This is a great hotel that will not disappoint. Happy travels!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeEm0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I was initially hesitant due to a review posted on this site but was very pleasantly surprised.
The room was attractive - not large but quite comfortable. The bathroom has a cool hinged door... I like the creative use of space. All of the furnishings were brand new and the entire room was very clean. Because of the former review I did an exhaustive search for any potential critters and found no sign - if they ever had a problem it had been resolved. Best of all every staff member that we encountered was just so nice - helpful, courteous and downright friendly... as though they wanted to - not just because it was their job.
We parked off site at a nearby lot and it was much cheaper than the hotel parking but then we worried about getting ticketed in the morning so we had to run out to pay again very early - so maybe the hotel lot was worth it.
We walked to the Statehouse, German Village and COSI from the hotel with no problem. Lots of panhandlers in Columbus but none very close to the hotel... maybe the odd LOUD music that the hotel pipes out to the surrounding sidewalk keeps them away.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veggieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Booked through Priceline, this was a great deal except the unexpected parking fee of $23/night. Once we arrived, we were treated like royalty by valet and check-in was very quick. We liked our room with a king bed and large desk area, but within 1 hr. the occupant of the next room was screaming and having quite a disagreement that we could hear. Being that it was 4PM,we felt it may continue through the night, so we asked for a room change and specifically to a different floor with noone around and they happily complied. They also sent security up to take care of the issue who also followed up with us later on in the night. I did not expect not having free web access in my room, but it was offered free in the business center..just had to tote my laptop back and forth. They did offer web access for a fee in-room ($12.95/24hr.) or per minute in the business center with their computer. Also had a problem with heat, but within an hour maintenance came to our room and explained that the older windows let a lot of cold in and that the individual room furnaces cool off after heating (Blow cold air!!!), but we eventually found a good heat temperature (80) being that it was in the teens outside. We stopped at the bar and were treated very politely and drinks were reasonable. We did not utilize room service, but the front desk was very forthcoming with restaurant and pizza delivery places!! Pharaoh's was great!! We needed extra blankets - no problem!
We did have buffet breakfast in the lounge and it was worth every penny of the $14.00 price!! We have never been treated so nicely by staff and all very, very friendly!! The food was great too and we had specially made omlets and I loved the waffle iron! The room was clean and the fitness center was very, very nice with lots of equipment and a sauna!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolynandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Got a great rate on priceline. The hotel was very nice but the most impressive part was the staff. Especially the front desk staff and the porters.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinson1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

For a Renaissance Hotel I was expecting a little more. I was there for a conference and my room was free of charge so I can't complain too much and I don't know how much it generally costs. The room itself was fine and the location being downtown was nice and convenient. There was also a bar that was open late at the hotel. No free WiFi in the room, but they do have it for free in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 145 in Columbus
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 145 in Columbus
1,711 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#60 of 145 in Columbus
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Address: 50 North 3rd Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
#35 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $153 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of more than 400 luxurious Columbus hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. Our upscale hotel in Columbus, Ohio offers stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from our ideally located hotel near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing