We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pricey parking, small bathroom, great beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Ranked #28 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pricey parking, small bathroom, great beds”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a cheering competition at the Convention Center. (2 adults, 2 pre-teen girls)
1. Valet is the only parking offered and it costs $25 per day. (24 hour in & out privileges, I never waited for my car but I always phoned ahead)
2. Outdoor pool ONLY, which is obviously not useful in November.
3. We drove to the convention center 2 days (and had to pay to park there.) It is walkable, but it is not practical with cheer bags, etc. and when on a time schedule, or in the cold weather. (I was told its a 15 min walk) We asked about shuttle service to Conv. Ctr... valet said yes, and to schedule w front desk, front desk employee was rude and stated that shuttle was only available to the airport. Valet wouldn't confirm that they could offer a shuttle, so we drove. It seemed so close to be driving to, but just out of that comfortable walking range, for the reasons stated above.
4. Beds were VERY nice, VERY comfortable. One of the best hotel beds we have ever slept in.
5. Bathroom is tiny, no counter space at all. The door is cut in half with hinges in the middle just so that it can open!! (I have never seen anything like this) You have to be careful bc the sink sticks out from it's corner position very awkwardly. Toilet is commercial with the stick flusher and loud (it comes out from the wall, and is basically against the bathtub).
6. There were no outlets near the desk (that we could find) so with 4 females trying to get ready, the small bathroom counter space was an issue. We had to take turns in there. My daughter sat on a towel on the floor in front of the mirrored closet door to do her hair.
7. Mini-fridge was MINI! TINY! Half gallon of milk, small bottle of coffee cream and 2 - 20 ounce bottles or water is what fit. Anything more and the door wouldn't close. We had to use a cooler w ice for beverages ;)
8. We didn't use room service or eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment on that.
9. Some of the front desk employees seemed snooty...some were friendly and said "hi" and smiled as we walked by...their attitudes varied. The man I asked about the shuttle was RUDE, the woman that handled a key issue for us was friendly. (You'll have that everywhere I guess).
OVERALL: Nice hotel, with some flaws. We spent A LOT on parking w tips, and having to pay at Conv. Ctr. too) If you're going to the Conv. Ctr., I would try to stay closer to Convention Center (Drury, Crowne Plaza, Hyatt, Hilton, Hampton Inn are all closer...Friends stayed at Red Roof Inn and said they would never stay there again.)
Hope this helps someone! :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    233
    101
    38
    31
See reviews for
100
125
38
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed two nights for a conference. The rooms are not large, but they are well decorated and comfortable. They feature a walk-in shower only in a small bathroom. the beds are comfortable and the hotel is quiet. I had a great view from the 18th floor.

Check in and check out were both a breeze. Parking in the garage is by valet only, at a cost of $17 per day for guests. There are some restaurants but not much actual shopping nearby, but the Short North arts district is not far. The hotel is more conveniently located next to the state capitol building.

The food served during the conference was average. We had dinner/program in the Latitude restaurant that is part of the hotel. The food served there attempts to be trendy but it's all overcooked and under-portioned. For a luxury hotel it is pretty average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The location for this hotel is great for concerts or Ohio State games! But the room itself was lacking. As a woman, the bathroom/counter space is important to me. The countertop was tiny. Barely enough room for a makeup bag, much less a hair dryer, straightener, or my husbands Dopp kit. The bathroom door had been cut in two with hinges on it to make it a 'bi-fold' door. I should have taken a picture because I've never seen anything like it! Was quite comical. The bed was very cozy however with a good view of the city. Pretty lobby and breakfast buffet was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHWVSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business oct 21-24, 2013. Beds were very comfortable, room was very clean and hotel did great job at accommodating us as we were a large group. There was a pool and a hot tub, both looked great. Would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dannie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise .
You will not meet the extreme luxury as you can find in the big Las vegas hotels, but here you can find a more intimate quality.
The hotel has what it needs, and no more, but everything is of high quality.
Taste the food in the restaurant "Lattitude 41". here most of the food is organic and very very delicious.
Only complaint is the hotel-wifi which was only working once in a while.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The property is well maintained. The heat/air conditioning unit was so quiet on the low fan setting, you could hardly tell it was running (and it did a great job keeping the room cool). The staff was just terrific. This hotel is one of those properties where each and every staff member greets you and says hello. The check-in staff was exceptionally friendly. Each and every employee made me feel that I was truly welcome. The flat screen, widescreen TV has numerous channels, and most were in a HD digital format. The in-room safe was large and mounted in a location that was easy to access. It was truly appreciated! About the only disappointment was that a couple of items were found in the room that should not have been there. The first was a licorice stick that was found on a shelf in the cabinet that housed the safe. The other was a partially smoked, water-logged cigarette that was found on the window ledge of this non-smoking room. Other that that, the stay was exceptional, and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwell, TN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Why stay here and pay through the nose when you can stay in a Choice Hotel and pay less than half the rate this hotel charges. No valet parking fee at Choice Hotel and refrigerator/microwave and FREE wi-fi. ADA accessible bathroom was a joke with water going everywhere from the shower. Poor plumbing and noisy room. 7:30 am vacuum cleaners in the hallway. Very poor TV reception and selection of channels. Personnel OK, valets very helpful.

Room Tip: Like I said, choose Choice Hotel family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestigeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#43 of 143 in Columbus
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.2 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Address: 50 N 3rd St, Columbus, OH 43215-3510 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
#35 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in over 400 luxurious Columbus hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling while enjoying stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from this hotel in Columbus, OH near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. Tantalize your palate at Latitude 41, a Dean James Max destination restaurant using local products and naturally-raised meats to create uniquely-simple dishes, or wind down with bar selections at the chic and vibrant Bar 41. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy a Columbus, OH hotel with tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing