We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tough call”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Ranked #27 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Tough call”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

From the front desk to valet to the restaurant, the staff here are wonderful, capable and very eager to please. The public areas very classy looking and I realize prices for in town tend be more expensive but the value is not here.
Curious about the parking fee...We paid $25 per day, I've seen various amounts in other reviews???
Folding bathroom door is not bad, the fact that the bathroom is so tiny is! More room in a standard Hampton Inn room and bath. Room was very noisy, we could actually hear conversation in next room.
Food is okay but expensive, keep in mind that if you're here on a weekend there are not alot of choices for breakfast - most closed on the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    230
    100
    37
    31
See reviews for
99
124
37
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went for a cousins wedding. Hotel was really nice. Rooms were big, bed was very comfortable. We needed extra towels they brought them right away. The restaurant in hotel was very expensive and on the gourmet side. Bar was very fun over weekend the had a lot of different thing going on in hotel this weekend. You also have to pay 16 a day for parking which i thought was a lot. But i do have to say the valet guys were great and right on target when ever we had to leave.Also there are a lot of taxi right outside. Nothing in town was open sat. morning we had to drive to get something to eat. Also if your into going out go to bar louie think it was on north shore drive lots of bars so much fun 7 cab ride so worth it. Columbus is a nice town. Want to make it to the zoo but way to cold to walk around. But heard it was real good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

It's somewhat clean and normal but both times I've stayed here there have been a few issues...
- kind of shabby. Clock radio and phone look ancient.
- bathroom a bit rough
- walls thin (guess who brought a dog? Next door neighbors!)
- breakfast room service menu ("morning cravings") a bit lacking. Yogurt? No. Cereal? No.

I checked in late this time and was given the handicapped accessible room. The bathroom has seen way better days (#705).
Also, did I mention sound proofing?

All in all, why didn't I just stay at the nearby Hilton? Or a Courtyard? What's the appeal of the Renaissance? Isn't this supposed to be an upscale Marriott property?

So, to sum up: it's fine. If you need to sleep somewhere, knock yourself out. But if I was staying here more than 12 hours I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its location - blocks for the Ohio Capitol and many state office buildings. As Renaissance Hotels go, this one is a little limited on its offerings, especially the hotel restaurant menu. (Luckily, there are good restaurants in the neighborhood.). The rooms are decently appointed and clean. Make sure that you do not get a handicapped equipped room if you don't need one. These are among the smallest rooms in the house. The staff, especially the front desk, gets kudos for helpfulness.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rt66er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was very clean and beautiful. Every staff person was welcoming and helpful. The food was excellent and not over priced. It is a wonderful place to stay. The gentleman who checked me in asked if he could make dinner reservations for me which he did. I had to call twice to move the reservations to a later time and the people in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful and willing to do whatever it took to make me happy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a night in this excellent establishment. I arrived very late, but the staff was as pleasant as if it was noon. The lobby was warm and inviting. A great deal of attention was paid to the details in the room to insure a high level of comfort. High marks for value for this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a friend's wedding to attend in Columbus, OH last weekend. He booked 35 rooms at the lovely Renaissance Hotel in downtown. I spent an extra day there due to the pending snow storm back east (Nemo. Why on Earth are we giving cute little Disney character names to snow storms, now? Does that make them any less scary or inconvenient?).
The hotel is situated in the center of the city, about 20 minutes' drive from the airport.
The lobby is modern and attractively decorated. Hotel staff are prompt, polite and attentive. The bellman who greeted me seemed quite happy for the $1.00 I tipped him just for holding the door open (my bags all have wheels, so I tend to push them myself when possible).
Check in was quick and efficient. I opted for two keys, even though I was a solo traveler this time.
I had a room on the 18th floor. There is a bank of four elevators so I didn't have to wait long.
The hallways are decorated nicely. Clean, modern.
The rooms are nice. Two comfy Queen sized beds, billowing comforters and lots of pillows - both feather and hypo-allergenic.
I found my room to be quite cold and turned on the heat immediately. I later learned you had to push the temp up to about 81 for it to actually kick in. That was a minor negative.
There was a nice sized flat screen TV, a safe, a fridge, and a decent sized closet. Not enough hangers but I've come to expect that and brought my own.
The only negative is the odd shaped bathroom and the shower set up.
The door on the triangular shaped bathroom FOLDS! That's weird in itself. But the shower (there is no bath tub) is a step in affair, with a HALF GLASS wall and no slider or way to reach the water controls without stepping inside and getting scalded. I found that disturbing but I got used to it by the third night.
The food in the hotel is generally good, but don't order a Spanish Omelet. They have no idea what that is. But it was kind of them to try.
I ordered Room Service the first night I was there. It was late - around 9:45. The food didn't arrive until 10:40, but it was exactly what I asked for. A vegetarian tomato and pepper soup and a side of their Brussels Sprouts and Potato Hash (sounded good to me at the time and it was quite good). They also delivered a piping hot carafe for some Earl Grey Tea.
There is a very nice spa located on the fourth floor. Needless to say, I didn't try the outdoor pool (temp was in the teens with the wind chill) but the equipment is very well maintained and there's plenty of it. I pretty much had the facility to myself both days I worked out. Elliptical machines and treadmills galore. Many equipped with a TV and the ones without are positioned in front of flat screen TVs hanging from the wall. There is a very nice, very clean locker room for both men and women. I used the sauna which could have been hotter, but it got the job done. Plenty of towels on hand, too.
All in all, I had a pleasant stay and if I ever find myself in Columbus, I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGuy_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Address: 50 N 3rd St, Columbus, OH 43215-3510 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
#35 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in over 400 luxurious Columbus hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling while enjoying stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from this hotel in Columbus, OH near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. Tantalize your palate at Latitude 41, a Dean James Max destination restaurant using local products and naturally-raised meats to create uniquely-simple dishes, or wind down with bar selections at the chic and vibrant Bar 41. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy a Columbus, OH hotel with tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing