We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and food quality are sliding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Ranked #26 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service and food quality are sliding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have traditionally been thrilled to stay at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel for business. The service has been excellent and the food first rate. During my recent stay November 1-3, this was not the case.
While the check in process was smooth and I was mercifully able to get into my room very early, service after check in was dismal. Questions of staff at the front desk about game time for the Ohio State Game and in which room the hospitality suite was located were met with blank stares. I ended up asking the same questions of a fellow conference attendee and they were promptly answered.
The food. Wow! In the past the food, both at the restaurant in the hotel and the banquet lunch services were very good. This year lunch was absolutely terrible. It was a miserable beef dish with disgusting mushroom gravy that an airline would be embarrassed to serve.
That being said, the lounge decor and service in the lounge were outstanding as always!
I hope that the Renaissance makes some improvements soon, it would be sad to lose a good full-service hotel in downtown Columbus.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is home of fitness center and provides access to roof-top sundeck and pool. But note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PauletteHuber-Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    228
    97
    37
    29
See reviews for
95
118
37
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
newark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed on November 11/3/12 and overall the stay was great, other than the price. I thought it was a bit high for the size of the rooms.

Although they offer Valet parking for $25, I took advantage of the $15 overnight parking in the lot accross the street.

I had booked two rooms, Michael Marcus was the front desk clerk checking us in, upon arrival only one room was ready, we were given bottles of water and told the room number and that it was being "inspected" and the keys would be brought right up to us. After 30 minutes I was heading down to the lobby to see how much longer it would take to insepct this room, when I saw a housekeeper just starting to clean it! So we called the desk, and 30 minutes later the keys were brought up to us. Why couldn't they just tell us the room was not cleaned yet rather than lying to us? Once in the room it looked over the roof top pool, and was clean but smelt musty. It was also right behind the elevators, so we had to listen to the carts going up and down all night.

Having used to be a front desk clerk I know what should be done, and not done at check in. The clerk did not check my ID at check in like required and spoke the room numbers allowed over and over, which you are not supposed to do for security reasons.

Now upon leaving on the night of the 3rd, there was a nice young man and women, whose names i did not catch, working the front desk and were very helpful in giving me directions on how to get out of downtown and around all of the construction.

The housekeeping staff was great! Every housekeeper I ran into spoke to our group and asked how our day was!

Like I said overall, nice over priced stay with okay customer service and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohio_valleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from this hotel after booking a stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Jennifer Keller was amazing, making sure we were in a wonderful suite with special amenities. We stayed on the 16th floor, the place was like a small, upscale apartment, the decor warm and inviting, comfortable bed, clean and tidy, and the staff friendly, courteous, and helpful. The breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel offered an outstanding buffet, with omelets, pancakes, and waffles cooked to order, along with other delicious items. The hotel is beautiful inside and feels secure. You are in downtown Columbus, so venturing out late at night on foot might not be a great plan. This is why the valet parking is nice, and even though there is a charge, it makes the experience safe and is worth the extra fee. The valet attendants were personable and efficient. Before our friends picked us up for dinner, we enjoyed being in and about the lobby and other areas along with happy guests, some of which were there for a wedding. The whole stay was pleasant and we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenmanyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here Oct 5th for a Brad Paisley Concert. The hotel was amazing! Very beautiful views, we were on the 11th floor. They only have Valet parking, $25 for the night if you are going to be coming in and out. I was not a fan of the Valet parking it was alittle to fancy for me, My only complaint was the loud people in the hallways around 1 am but there is a bar at the ground floor of the hotel, I kind of expected it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here one night since I had some training at the convention center. It is about half a mile walk or a $5 cab ride away.

I utilized customer service a few times, it was prompt and courteous. Room service was also excellent and prompt.

The room was clean and I liked the Aveda toiletries. The room overlooked the roof top pool. The exercise facilities were very nice and had a bowl of fresh fruit.

Upon checkout in the morning, it was nice that they had a bowl of bananas since I was in a hurry and didn't have time for breakfast.

Overall great stay. My only complaint is that the rates are a bit high.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ww1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Bottom line....rooms were dirty, staff not knowledgable, hotel over priced, never again. The food in latitude 41 was fine.

When I pointed out the mold and mildew in bathroom, housekeeping supervisor told me that is what one expects in Columbus. My previous stay at the Hampton Inn, just around the corner had no mold or mildew.

My niece stayed in a different room, she found a pack of cigarettes and dirty socks. This is not expected in an expensive hotel.

The wall paper in bathroom was dirty and peeling. Everything was just a bit dirty and the service was a bit off.

The staff in the rest of the hotel was a beat or two off as well. There was something amiss with the hotel's management.

Room Tip: Stay at Hampton inn around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned from a quick one night stay at Renaissance Columbus Downtown and was very happy with it. My stay was part of a conference being held at the hotel and I found the staff and location to be excellent.

The valet and front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful, pointing me in the right direction for everything, even when I left, the valet asked where I was going to give me the best route out of town. The service staff that was working the food and beverage service for the conference seemed to be constantly moving, resupplying and cleaning things up.

The room on the 16th floor provided a nice view of the city looking to the west. Clean for the most part, with the carpet maybe a little beaten up. Otherwise, a very comfortable bed, nice large screen (HD?) TV with plenty of room and outlets to spread out and get some work done as well.

Since I was traveling solo, the bathroom was plenty big enough for me, but I could see it being kind of cramped with 2 people in there. The toilet itself seemed a little low to me.

Location - I didn't have a lot of time to go exploring, but there are a number of nice restaurants nearby and I did end up eating at BD's Mongolian BBQ near the arena and didn't find the walk to be that difficult. In fact I actually appreciated a little extra exercise after that dinner.

Over all a very nice experience and would have no problem returning here again if I had business downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottfromLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#42 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Address: 50 North Third Street, Columbus, OH 43215 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
#35 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in over 400 luxurious Columbus hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling while enjoying stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from this hotel in Columbus, OH near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. Tantalize your palate at Latitude 41, a Dean James Max destination restaurant using local products and naturally-raised meats to create uniquely-simple dishes, or wind down with bar selections at the chic and vibrant Bar 41. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy a Columbus, OH hotel with tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing