We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't have my room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
1 review
“Didn't have my room”
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed at The Columbus in Ohio in October of 2007. When booking my stay I informed them that I would Have a VERY late checkin , they said that would be fine and that they would note it in the computer. The day before leaving I called to make sure they knew we were coming in late they said that it was noted in the computer. When we arrived at 6:30 in the morning from driving all night with two children they had given our room with two beds away and all they had was one room with one bed wanted us to make due until another room would become available and after telling them that with having FOUR people we could not all stay in one bed. I told this lady that we had been driving all night and she looked at me with a smile and said that she understands. After telling them that a room with ONE BED would not work and I wanted a refund and would find somewhere else They found us a room and gave us free breakfast for our entire stay. The only good thing I would say is the restaurant was good a little pricey and there was a steakhouse across the street and a good pizza place they said was good. The room was very small including the bathroom. The valet service was speedy.

  • Liked — restaurants and starbucks in walking distance
  • Disliked — Checkin
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank show2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    230
    100
    37
    31
See reviews for
99
124
37
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington (Long Island), New York, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights from September 13th through the 16th, in a room on the 19th floor which I had booked three months in advance as part of a wedding block at a reduced rate of $119 per night (or so we were told when I booked.)

The room and hotel was decent enough, but have to say we were UN-impressed with this place and after our horible check out experience, would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are plenty of other nice hotels in the downtown Columbus area if you need to be there.

Let's start with the hotel bar staff - stopped in for a drink before going out with some friends the night we arrived. As we were not part of the special group who was holding a party in part of the bar that night, we basically got ignored by the bartenders (who did ask us upon entering if we were with the party. When we said no, they turned around and proceeded to ignore us until we asked one of them if we could be served, and he begrudgingly did so, but took his sweet time doing that.) There were 4 of us, three of us ordered mixed drinks and I ordered a glass of wine. Took forever to get our drinks, and even once three of us had been served the bartender hadn't yet poured my wine, and after a few minutes of wondering what happened, we had to ask if he forgot about it, and he finally poured my wine. All in all, what should have been a quick drink before going out, took half an hour. OK so that was strike one - possible to overlook if the rest of our stay had gone ok.

BUT upon checking out on Sunday morning, when the front desk presented me with the final bill, I noticed they had charged me the NON-wedding block rate of $159 a night for my room. When I alerted the staff that this needed to be changed, they said they couldn't change it so I asked for the manager, who came out and very quickly told me the same thing. I explained that our room was booked months ago as part of my friend's wedding block of rooms, and the rate was indeed $119 not $159. He said there was nothing he could do to help us, and when I asked for someone who could help he said his manager was out of the office that day. All of this in and of itself could have been smoothed over had he 1) offered to look into the reason for the price discrepancy, and 2) been a bit more willing to listen to us and understand what the issue was. His attitude was moreso "not my problem, this is what you have to pay..." rather than "let's see what we can do to figure this out."

Anyway, long story short, my husband and I left as very unsatisfied customers, upset that we had been offered one rate by phone when booking, and been charged another much more expensive rate when checking out, with no explanation. I did call the 800 customer service line to see if they would be of more assistance than the manager guy was, and they did see that our rate should have been $119 (since that was shown in the booking record.) Had the manager taken two minutes to look that up, he would have seen the same thing. While I was on the phone with the 800 customer service woman, she said she wanted to contact the manager to have him apologize, which he did (profusely) once he realized we had actually taken the time to complain about the problem.

Too little too late. We are still awaiting our refund (it's Sunday so they couldn't credit us until their accounting department comes in tomorrow.) So while we THINK this whole rate issue will be cleared up soon, the handling of it by the manager and hotel staff was inappropriate and off-putting.

In short - don't stay here: rude staff and bartenders, and not really that great of a place to be, considering the annoyances we had to put up with and the rude staff. Go with another hotel in downtown Columbus. This place needs to get its act together.

  • Disliked — Rude staff, poor service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emyers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2007

My daughter left her swimsuit there. I called and they said they would look for it. I got an e-mail from them saying they did not find it. I'm 100% sure the swimsuit was left there. It didn't get up and walk away by itself.

  • Liked — close to conference
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RondaIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Stayed at the Renaissance in July 2007. Room was newly renovated. Bed was excellent. No minibar in rooms. Service was just okay. Valet was slow to retrieve car. Front desk service was okay. Pool was too cold to utilize. Room was clean . I would stay here again but would not pay more than $120.00 per night as the stay was "average."

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — ease of parking. Swimming pool too cold in July.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

I have stayed here a lot over the past year and I am happy that Columbus has this hotel.

They really do try to provide some good service. I am always able to check in early (before 11am) and they do it with a smile. Sometimes though, the staff is a little awkward or rehearsed but you know they are trying to follow some rules.

The rooms are great - some junior suites with some bright decor. However, the TV placement in the junior suite is not good. I think they need to upgrade to some flat screen TVs so they can put them in better viewing locations.

Room service is spotty. I've gotten some great food and some bad food (cold). I do like that they try to serve local produce. The restaurant service is also hit or miss. Lots of people in training I think.

I've had spotty results with their internet though. Maybe it's my computer but I've had to call their tech support more than a few times (always helpful).

Their club room/lounge is wonderful. Cereals (hot & cold), fruit, and some hot food in the morning. Warm appetizers & sweets in the evening. It does get boring after going there so frequently but occasionally it's great. They also have coffee, tea, soda, water, & beer & wine.

The gym is very usable. The weight machine isn't great but the cardio machings are very good. One quirk in the gym though is that people have no control over the audio. They usually have music blaring so if you want to watch tv - no luck. It didn't used to be that way though. Not sure what changed.

Overall, I've been very happy with the Renaissance in Columbus. It's been a great home away from home.

FYI - Overnight parking is $23.

  • Liked — Recent renovation
  • Disliked — TV locations
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBlueOcean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

This is a great, centrally located downtown hotel. Had business near the Nationwide Arena and it was a 20 minute walk. The bed was very comfortable and the room very modern. The bathroom had a stand-alone shower that was real nice. Did not eat in the hotel but the restaurant and bar looked real high class. Hotel at a very swanky feel with modern music pumped into the lobby. Valet parking only was $23.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

The hotel is currently mismanaged and is in the midst of finding a new general manager. Absolute amateur hour, and one of the worst managed hotels I have stayed in. It shows. I traveled from Florida to Columbus, Ohio and after 9 hours of traveling time I was greeted by loud and I mean LOUD lobby music (throughout the lobby, restaurants and bar) which fluctuated between Rap, Rock and Roll and Heavy Metal. This was evident throughout my stay, I have never seen anything like this before. All of the employees I talked with found the music to be loud. This has been going on for months according to the employees. To give you an idea of how loud it is, when speaking in the middle of the lobby, (I was on a business call) I could not hear my client on the other end of my cell phone. I had to step out onto the street where it was quieter.
Other issues. I did not receive a bill under my door for check out after requesting this. The room was not available upon check in. I had to beg for a room (this was ater 3:00PM) and finally I was given one. The soap and shampo were never replaced in my bathroom. I asked to speak with a hotel manager, they never called or attempted to reach me. I asked for compensation upon check out, and the front desk stated they were not authorized to do anything. I had to speak to and have this authorized by management, and they were closed. I ordered room service food and an overcooked chicken sandwich on very stale bread.
The signage on the hotel is not viewable from close, so if your driving pay attention and look for the hotel in the distance. The hotel is trying to be overly hip and LOUD, kind of like a pretend W Hotel without any training.
Try another hotel, unless you want to party hard on the lobby disco floor. If Bill Marriot's office (or anyone in upper management) is reading this, they should investigate, they will be amazed. Marriott normally stands for quality.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank executivedirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#46 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Address: 50 N 3rd St, Columbus, OH 43215-3510 (Formerly Adam's Mark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#29 Business Hotel in Columbus
#35 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in over 400 luxurious Columbus hotel rooms with upscale amenities and contemporary styling while enjoying stunning views of downtown. Let the colorful art of local artisans guide you to the rooftop terrace for relaxation in a uniquely urban poolside oasis. During your stay, explore top attractions from this hotel in Columbus, OH near Nationwide Arena, Columbus Convention Center, and The Ohio State University. Tantalize your palate at Latitude 41, a Dean James Max destination restaurant using local products and naturally-raised meats to create uniquely-simple dishes, or wind down with bar selections at the chic and vibrant Bar 41. For exclusive gatherings, enjoy a Columbus, OH hotel with tastefully renovated indoor and outdoor event space that provides an ideal backdrop for business functions and wedding celebrations. Feel the energy of the state's capital at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbus Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel Ohio
Columbus Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing