We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undesirables”
Review of German Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
German Village Inn
Ranked #103 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Undesirables”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lots of undesirables staying here! While here for one week for work i got to see working girls come and go! I also was standing in the office one day while the manager rented some rooms for $40 for four hours! The whole time i stayed here I never once saw the maids wash a comforter! The staff was super nice! The location was fantastic! I am aware that senators stay here! But this place is not for families!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    25
    12
    12
See reviews for
14
16
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed during the Columbus marathon and reserved 4 months ahead of event. Front desk staff were very friendly and informed us they would open the continental breakfast early for us since we had to check out before they served it.
A little run down on the outside but in a very convenient location and served our needs well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronAlexpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The people that run this hotel will sell your room from under you and you will be left homeless for the night, and all you will get is im sorry by you have to go somewhere els. They are all about filling the hotel and not about fuffilling your reservation.
on 5 July I made a reservation gave my CC# and recived a confiermaiton # only to arrive and not have a room. This is 830 at night and no other rooms were avalable in town. ended up costing me over $100 bucks to drive out of town and take any room i could find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntertown
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Some of the reviews had me a little scared to stay here. We were very surprised how nice the rooms were. They were very nice and also very clean. I would suggest it as a great place to stay. It is also a great place to stay if you want to visit the German Village as we did.

Room Tip: Don't be scared to stay here. It is fixed up very nice. Rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Location and good price was the main criteria for booking this hotel. The room was clean, but didnt smell good and one of the lamps was not working. The AC was working but had a broken frame. The place is just okay for an overnight stay in German Village, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My employer booked this room for me. Never again! Check in through the bullet-proof glass, room stunk like cigarettes, sheets didn't fit bed well and revealed dirty mattress cover. My co-worker was in a different room. Around 2 a.m. the guests on both sides of him were extremely loud. He dressed, went to the front desk and asked to have something said to the people about the noise... office staff refused. No breakfast.... So to sum up: Dirty, loud, uncooperative employees. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byspecialarrangement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The German Village Inn's best attribute is it's location: right next to the most charming place in Colombus Ohio, German Village. The village has restored homes built by German immigrants, in an amazing neighborhood with an awesome park. The motel has a McDonald's within two blocks, a nearby Starbucks in a quaint location, several local pubs and restaurants, ands a great local wine shop. Check out Rooster's, one block north and two blocks east. The motel itself is a "cheapie", so son't expect 5-star accomodations. The rooms are spartan but generally clean. My room was non-smoking, had a king-sized bed, a compact refrigerator, microwave, a table and chairs, and double sinks. Everything worked well, and the bed was comfortable. Nothing memorable, but worth the price. I have stayed here several times.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rickydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#85 of 143 in Columbus
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.9 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#63 of 143 in Columbus
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#41 of 143 in Columbus
204 reviews
3.6 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#104 of 143 in Columbus
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to German Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about German Village Inn

Property: German Village Inn
Address: 920 S High St, Columbus, OH 43206-2524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — German Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your German Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
German Village Hotel Columbus
German Village Inn Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing