We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good for kids”

Center of Science and Industry (COSI)
Ranked #8 of 152 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as "COSI," this enormously popular attraction offers all sorts of hands-on exhibits, from conducting your own water experiments to creating a newscast to watching yourself age. Three movie theaters provide enough entertainment variety for the whole family.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Expensive but good for kids”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a good science learning center for lids approximately 6-12. The center consists of various sections such as energy conservation, the human body showing muscles, etc.that apparently are changed periodically. Note: The human body exhibits were excellent but might be too graphic for some younger children. We went to this science center in early January so there were no outdoor exhibits. There are several nature type movies for additional cost which we skipped. There's a food court which had a decent 'fast food' selection a reasonable cost. IMHO the admission was a little high. The website has more information on what is available at any given time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tfp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    303
    116
    44
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
322 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Small, Lack of Handson, High Cost”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Used to be a member, now I barely go once every 2 years. The science center is small compared to others I've been too. Even the one in Winston Salem was bigger. The hands on exhibits are rare and the ones that do exist have hordes of kids on them. The price is way too high for what you get. I'd save your money and pick a better science center elsewhere.

From experience in the past, going on a weekday when something else major is going on in Columbus.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The right mix of Fun and Educational”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I live in the Columbus area and used to visit COSI (when it was in a different location) when I was young. A few years ago my wife and I decided to go for a visit. It was even better than I remembered (the "new" facility is much larger). We ended up buying a membership and renew it every year.

The permanent exhibits are good and there are always several traveling exhibits running. Live demonstrations, the IMAX theatre, and much more.

This is one of the top science centers in the country and it is a great place for children and adults. You can easily stay entertained for most of a day if you include a movie in the IMAX theatre.

COSI is part of a network of museums that offer a recipricol aggreement to members so if you already belong to another museum you may receive free admission here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NoScreenName1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“lot of funs”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The ‘water’ part is nicely setup like a playground. It is so much fun that I wonder the children will stop to read / learn what they are playing! There is also a play area for younger children under 5. The outdoor exhibit has an eco-friendly house although small has everything, nice design. You can also pull up a car by hand with a giant lever. There is a treasury hunting game set up in a lost civilization (pay extra). You will be looking for signs, solving riddles, translating symbols. It will take quite a bit of time and difficulty level is for bigger kids. Other parts are similar to other science centres. If you have membership of other science centers, the admission is most likely free. Be careful, some shows produce loud sound when hydrogen catches fire!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank edwin_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kids Loved It!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great Place for the Kids to go. They can touch almost everything. Some good exhibts for the adults too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Center of Science and Industry (COSI) also viewed

 

Been to Center of Science and Industry (COSI)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing