We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a great dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Cucina di Spirito

Z Cucina di Spirito
Reserve with OpenTable
Z Cucina di Spirito is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 2,185 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd Street
Description: We specialize in rustic Italian cuisine with a modern flare. Handmade cheeses, bread, pastas and desserts as well as house cured salumi combine with an artisan wine list in a warm environment. Please note that we are open for lunch for groups of 8 or more with advanced notice. We also have semi-private dining options available as well.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Z is always wonderful! The melon Gaspacho was delicious! Risotto Fritters perfect as always! Great service, the owner Rick is always available and no detail missed! Beautiful patio, one of the best in town!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick z, Owner at Z Cucina di Spirito, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for the visit and the review. I am glad your group had a great time on our newly designed patio! We hope you are able to return soon.
Sincerely,
Rick Ziliak
Owner, Z Cucina di Spirito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    47
    22
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food in an inviting atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This restaurant is now a regular spot for dinner. The owner, Rick, greats everyone warmly and makes sure everything is done correctly. A must stop in Grandview.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick z, Owner at Z Cucina di Spirito, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank your for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Z Cucina, We all do our best to impress every night and I hope that you can come back to see us soon.

Sincerely,

Rick Ziliak
Owner, Z Cucina di Spirito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
256 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“SO disappointing - has really gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We hadn't been here in a few years (it used to be one of our favorites) and decided to go for a special celebration. We had reservations, and when we arrived they didn't seem to know what to do with us, and sort of tossed us to someone who wandered around and finally gave us a table. We were brought a small basket of bread - cakelike texture, not warm, and rather flavorless. For appetizer, we ordered bruschetta with housemade ricotta and carmelized onions. The "bruschetta: were four large cubes of a thick, very soft, flavorless bread topped with a spoonfull of onions and a mound of ricotta in the middle. Very hard to eat, and quite mushy,, tho flavors were good.
Two of us ordered the crispy duck ... which was actually formed pressed duck rolls served barely warm on top of room temperature stewed cherries and carmelized oniions -- mushy, not good - we didn't even finish. Two of us ordered lasagne which arrived so hot that it took ten minutes to cool to eating temperture ... it was a big gooey mess that tasted like cheap pizza. We didn't bother with dessert as they were all mushy-types (gelato, mousse, tira misu) and why waste calories on bad desserts ?
We were all extremely disappointed and won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Grandview has many good restaurant choices for dinner.At Z Cucina we had an excellent dinner of homemade pasta and sauce. The seafood was fresh and flavorful. The bolognese sauce was the best we have tasted in a long time. The service was very good. The excellent meal followed by dessert of chocolate mousse convinced us that we should put this restaurant at the top of our list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick z, Owner at Z Cucina di Spirito, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for the review! I am very glad to know that Z Cucina is at the top of your list. With so many great restaurants in Columbus, I am glad that we resonated so positively with you. I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Rick Ziliak
Owner, Z Cucina di Spirito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Current yet still with a feel of the old world elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The food is ever changing with the seasons and available fresh ingredients. The staff is well trained and Tony, the manager/bartender is exceptional.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick z, Owner at Z Cucina di Spirito, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Gary,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you appreciate the Old and New World blend of what we offer at Z Cucina. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Rick Ziliak
Owner, Z Cucina di Spirito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Z Cucina di Spirito also viewed

 

Been to Z Cucina di Spirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing