We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but old decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Columbus Airport
Ranked #54 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was very nice and clean but older. Service was awesome! They upgraded up because we had a baby with us. Very sweet staff. The pool area didnt look very clean. We got a good deal on priceline; I wouldn't pay the going price for this hotel though.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovethapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Newnew29,

Thank you for your review. We’re glad to have had your family stay with us at Courtyard. I’m pleased to hear that our service was awesome and you enjoyed our staff. We welcome you to come and stay with us again soon.

All the best,
Garry Kirkland, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 247 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Flight was cancelled leaving Columbus and we had already checked out of our Hilton Garden Inn and returned our rental car so figured we'd stay nearby at the Courtyard. Should have looked at other hotels in the area. I found the room to be dingy and it looked like the housekeeping was hit or miss. Carpet could have been vacuumed a little better and the furniture was sticky and old. Bedding was disheveled and looked like it hadn't been made up properly. Oh, and the sheers at the window were a wrinkled mess. Granted we were only there for about 10 hours but still ..... Also, because it was Sunday the tiny lounge they had was closed. Walked to the Marriott across the way for dinner which was actually pretty good. One positive was that they provided a shuttle to the airport in the morning which was much appreciated. If you're staying near the airport I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3hundrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

3hundrd,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have had you stay with us during your recent trip to Columbus. I welcome both positive and negative comments as we continually strive to make improvements for our valued guests. I will address your issues with our housekeeping staff in our next weekly staff meeting. Thank you for bringing them to my attention. We do hope to earn your business again.

Sincerely,

Garry Kirkland
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed her 6 times this month for work. Some rooms are nicer then others. Room 253 furniture looks terrible. The finish is coming off and has the gooey sticky look. Things stick to the finish. Staff is nice but some rooms need more help then others. Inspect your room before you decide to stay in that room. Rest of room OK.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank dottopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear dottopilot: Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We’re very happy you’ve chosen to stay with us on several occasions. Your feedback regarding the issue with some of the rooms is importance to us. I’ll be reviewing the comments with my leadership team. We appreciate your return business and hope to see you on your next trip to Columbus. Please feel free to contact me personally if you need anything.
Sincerely,

Garry Kirkland
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

hotel rooms need renovation. I have been in better courtyards. One of the elevators was broken. The decor was old. If you can find a comparable price I would stay some where else.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriottgoldmember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Columbus Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

marriottgoldmember12,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the elevator being temporarily out of order and hope it didn’t cause too much of an inconvenience for you. We always take into consideration suggestions for improvement from our guests. We hope you will choose our Courtyard the next time you stay in Columbus.
Regards,
Garry Kirkland, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Convenient location efficient and helpful front desk staff. Indoor pool clean and relaxing. Great for business travelers and to catch early flight to airport as hotel is 5 minutes away. Will definately stay here in future!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takeatrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you takeatrp! We’re glad you had a relaxing stay with us and found our staff accommodating. Thank you so much writing a review and recommendation for the Courtyard Columbus Airport. We look forward to your next stay.
Warmest regards,
Garry Kirkland, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My letter to Marriott...we'll see how long this stays up:


Courtyard by Marriott

On  July 5, I had a room reserved online and paid for at the Courtyard by Marriott on Airport Drive near the Port Columbus airport.  The following is a list of things that happened in my brief eight hour stay at this facility.

Because of my son's baseball game in Cincinnati, we were unable to arrive at the hotel until after 10 p.m.  However, the room was paid for in advance. When we arrived in the lobby, we were greeted with perplexed looks and then told that it would be a few minutes as our room needed to be "freshened up". 

Exactly why was that? And, if I indeed had a reservation and had paid for it, why would my room not be ready by 10 p.m.? At age 50, I have traveled for years.  If I arrive at 10 a.m., I understand that my room won't be ready.  I understand that you usually can't get in until after 3 p.m.  If  I arrive before, a wait is not unreasonable.

On the other hand, I seriously question why a room at a reputable chain is not ready by 10 p.m. Or, why does it need "freshened up" (this I would find later).
Was there someone else in my paid for room? If so, perhaps they could contribute to my bill?

After about 10 minutes, we ventured up to our room which was allegedly a non-smoking room.  Perhaps this is why we had to be "freshened up" as I detected smoke on the towels and on the pillows even though they had attempted to mask it with clean pillowcases.

The worst was yet to come.  I pulled out the blanket from the closet which was in the  ziplock bag.  I was knocked over by the smell. The blanket reeked of urine and appeared to have been in the closet for some time as that's what the closet smelled like.  I had to throw it out in the hall because of the horrific odor and call for a semi-clean replacement.

The reason for the blanket was the a/c unit.  No matter where you set it, it was on and then off and then on and then off,etc. all night long.  Other hotels have a way of setting it in some sort of constant mode.  Not this one, this was on intermittent annoyance for the brief time I was there.

Later, at 5a.m., our phone rang.  We did have a morning flight, and were going to get up early, but not that early.  We DID NOT request a wake-up call.  With an alarm clock and the era of cellphones, I'm mesmerized by anyone that would need such a primitive service.

Anyway, I got up and showered and went to the lobby to investigate.  I asked why I was called and they erroneously said our room was down for a wake-up call.  They had asked my wife, when we arrived and she definitively said, "No".

My guess is that it was for a previous day and had not been updated.  I then asked to have my Marriott number put on my room.  The clerk did so, but then curtly said that since I bought from an online third party that I might not get credit.

I then asked why our room wasn't ready at 10:30 or whatever it was when we finally came in.  He said, "We were overbooked."

Is that how this works?  When you book a room, do you not actually have a room? You actually sell more rooms than you have?  Then, God forbid someone didn't pay the inflated rate for what is these days is a run of-the-mill room, you treat them like second-class citizens by sending them into the bowels of the hotel like the guy in "Office Space".  To find that someone relieved themselves on the spare blanket 10 years ago and no one has bothered to replace it, is even more disturbing.

Then, to treat me in a condescending manner because I got a better deal on my room is outrageous.  I've had much better rooms and experiences at lesser known chains that don't boast as many "stars".  In the past, "Marriott" meant something.  If it doesn't anymore, if you just run customers through the ringer as if they should be honored to be mistreated, then let me know and I just won't bother anymore.

Are you renting rooms by the hour? Is that why my room needed " freshened up"? And, if you are going to "freshen up" a room, shouldn't it maybe smell "fresh"?

Finally, if you're renting me a room that doesn't exist, that's fraudulent.  Giving me a urine-filled blanket is worse.  Even worse are the excuses I've got and will get for what has happened.

Scott -Cincinnati

Room Tip: Maybe look across te street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you Scott S for your candid review. Customer services is very important to us. Your concerns have been addressed through Marriott's Customer Care platform. Regards, Garry Kirkland, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed here for our "weekend get away" June 21-22, 2012. The location was perfect for Easton and Gahanna and the lower room rate let us spend more on shopping and dinning out. We had connecting rooms which were clean and well kept. All of the hotel personel that we came in contact with were welcoming and professional. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlnmomOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

I’m so glad you two got the chance to get away for a weekend and we hope you get to come back soon! Thank you for your review and recommendation. I’m pleased you found our staff and hotel welcoming.
Regards,
Garry Kirkland, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus Airport
0.1 mi away
Columbus Airport Marriott
Columbus Airport Marriott
#28 of 145 in Columbus
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Columbus Ohio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbus - Airport
0.2 mi away
Best Western Port Columbus
Best Western Port Columbus
#31 of 145 in Columbus
393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbus Airport

Address: 2901 Airport Dr, Columbus, OH 43219-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $102 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbus Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Columbus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbus Airport Hotel Columbus
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Courtyard
Courtyard Columbus Airport Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing