We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as nice as we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad
Ranked #86 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not as nice as we expected”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

When we arrived the gentleman at the counter did not even bother to get up from his chair to greet us. Soon he was on the phone with housekeeping and the manner in which he interacted with fellow employees was very inappropriate. Due to interruptions, etc it took eleven minutes for him to check us in.
We were given a room on the first floor per our request. At this time we had someone with us that has a broken leg so this was most convenient. We found the room to be adequate. Within a few hours we discovered that the sound from the pool area comes right through the wall. Since we were already settled and moving someone in this condition was not practical we opted to stay in this room. We turned the television up to try to block the sound as best we could.
The next morning we went down for breakfast (at 8:00 am) which is served until 9:30 am. We found most of the shelves completely empty and we only could get about ¼ of a cup of coffee from the coffee machine. Eventually the server brought out muffins but they were still frozen.
As we were checking out we mentioned these things to the manager. He commented since our stay was on a VIP voucher that there was nothing he could do about the problems with our stay. If this is how a VIP guest is treated I am afraid how they treat non VIP guests.
We had read good reviews about this hotel from others which is why we selected this location. After staying here I would not recommend it to others. There are plenty of other hotels in this area where you can stay and get the quality that you deserve.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieVandalia_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0735, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
First off I would like to apoligize to this guest. Most economy brand hotel's choose not to serve a great breakfast. Here at this independently owned Red Roof Inn we choose to go above and beyond to not only have breakfast, but to also include hot items, something you will NEVER see at many other hotels in our area. On this particular day our hotel was at a 100% occupancy and we were short of staff. To have this issue is a very very and I mean very rare occasion.

We value ALL of our guests, especially our VIP guest who get a free night stay with us. If you are reading this review and questioning our hotel service, I encourage you to give us a call and let us ease the anxeity of choosing our hotel or go to hotels.com and see what others are saying about our property or just simply read the other reviews below this one.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    12
    8
    16
See reviews for
25
17
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed over on Aug. 28th and we were pleased at how well this facility is managed. The room and common areas were clean, the staff knowledgable and friendly and the location had great access to main arterials. We will use this facility again.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear probably have reduced road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0735, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. It is very important to us that customer give feedback so that we may make any changes if needed. Management is certainly appreciative about this review but all the credit goes to out our other departments at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here on a trip going West on I-70. Had a wonderful stay at a great value.

Pros:
-Value. Room was comparable to a 120 dollar a room hotel at about half the price.
-Room was large and well appointed; great linens, bath amenities and granite bathroom.
-Very clean lobby, room and bathroom.
-Very nice continental breakfast that didn't leave us wanting.
-Easily accessible from 70.

Cons:
-Lackluster location with mostly fast food and chains adjacent.


Cons

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0735, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We like to thank you for your review of our hotel. Your pros are on point about our hotel and your only con will soon be resolved. Our area is being rejuvinated day by day and I find new restaurants coming into the area. The next time you visit us you will see a sigificant change and we hope you are excited about the change as much as we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

my stay was a large sucsess,in large part because of Bob the night guest service person. I have stayed in hotels for many years,and rarely do you find someone as helpful,and willing to go the extra mile as he is. KUDOS to you and to the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboy55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0735, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
We are very grateful for your review. Being that you have stayed in many hotels in your past and to be impressed with our customer service is very honorable. We strive to exceed guest expectations when staying with us and with your comments, it seems we have. I will forward this review on to Bob who I am sure will be very excited about what you had to say. Once again we appreciate the review and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were going to spend a short week in Columbus with family, but because of this hotel we ended up spending almost two weeks. It is hard to find a nice place that will allow pets. Additionally, my wife is in a wheelchair. Neither of these were an issue, the staff was very accommodating.

The Hotel is located in one of the older business districts. The Inn itself seemed to either be new or recently refurbished. The surrounding area and businesses seemed to be older and a little run down.

There is no restaurant on site, but the Inn offers a substantial Continental Breakfast. I did not use the pool or fitness center but saw many others who did and heard no complaints. The Wi-Fi was no problem.

We go to Columbus 3-4 times a year, this was the first time we stayed at this hotel. We spend the days with family and use the hotel for sleep and bathing. This Inn is about 10 minutes further than some others from family, but this is where we will stay from now on.

The accommodations, price and pet friendly policy make this a good deal. The only downside for some might be the older area but that is not a problem for us. A major freeway is just down the road so we can get where we want very easily.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barhbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0735, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
First off I'd like to thank you for your review. We certainly apprciate the time and effort you have put forth in writing this extensive review. I am glad that you mentioned our pet friendly policy because we understand the need for guests to travel with their pets in this day and age. We will welcome you back with open arms and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms but beyond that we were assisted by Todd, at the front desk with a wireless problem. He spent a lot of time fixing the problem and went way above what we expected.....nice job Todd!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loloakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0735, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I went ahead and showed Todd this review and he was very pleased with the results. All of our staff employee's are trained to be the best they can be in assisting guests, so to the management it does not come to a surprise that Todd went above and beyond for you as he would any other guest. Once again I'd like to thank you for the review and we look forward for your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Overall, quite fine and very reasonably priced. This was just an overnight stop on a long driving trip. Easy off the highway. Clean room, well appointed with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, all the basics. Didn't get to use the indoor pool, but it seemed clean and warm (although rather small). There was a free breakfast of some sort, but didn't try that either.
Overall, I'd recommend it for a basic place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0735, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for your response. It means a lot to the staff with reviews like yours given. Your review reassures us that our hard work to keep guests satisfied is very much paying off. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
#83 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#72 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Columbus West
Super 8 Columbus West
#78 of 143 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
2.2 mi away
Best Western Suites
Best Western Suites
#21 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad
Address: 4530 W Broad St, Columbus, OH 43228-1644 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Columbus-West Broad Street)
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus - West Broad is 6 miles from downtown Columbus. This centrally located Non-Smoking hotel offers Newly Renovated Rooms with free WiFi and flat screen TVs. This hotel is just minutes from all the excitement of downtown & the arena district, only half a mile from the new Hollywood Casino Columbus, or our world famous Columbus Zoo & Aquarium, only 13 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Columbus - w. Broad Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn & Suites Columbus West Broad Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing