We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very dissapointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very dissapointed!”
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We recently booked this lodge to have a family getogether. From the website the lodge looked beautiful, however it is very dated and in need of major renovations. We booked 4 rooms for 2 nites. The wall paper in our bathroom was partialy peeled off, the water in the shower went from ice cold to scalding..dangerous for kids. AC blasted out ice cold air, but only on one setting, no thermostat settings.No housekeeping for one of the rooms on the 2nd day.,The indoor pool area was dark and drab. The outdoor pool was nice, but the baby pool had chunks of cement broken out and paint chips floating in the water. The area leading to the pool dressing room was littered with trash and cigarette butts, and the area itself was filthy with overflowing trash. The horshoe pits were overgrown with weeds and equiptment rusted. Cornhole boards warped, one set was usable. Staff at the desk was ok in check-in, told us if we wanted a luggage carrier that there might be some on the second floor, no offer to get them for us, Not friendly at check out either. Very dissapointed and will never go back.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — need for renovations
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barbhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    101
    38
    23
    7
See reviews for
132
72
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
338 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

I have stayed in this State Park about 4-5 times. The lodge is very nice and its a great place to visit for a weekend. There is a lot to do and the lake is very nice. Many cool trails to walk and explore.

G Man

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank GMan5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Nice place. It's an older lodge, so there were a couple of issues, like the ceiling in our room looking like it had leaked in the past. But the private balcony was great and the view gorgeous. The dining room had pretty good food, and we enoying sitting outside and watching everything go by. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deaconjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

Hueston Woods is one of the better state park resorts you would find. The lodge is getting a little dated but the area is quite nice and there is plenty to do for a few days. They have a decent indoor pool + an arcade area with ping pong, pool tables, video games. The hiking trails are good for novices or kids, with some short, easy trails. The resort has a nice view, up on a hill overlooking the lake. There is also a beach, small nature center, + miami university & the town of Oxford just a few miles away. Overall, there is less riff-raff here than at most state parks. It is pricy compared to some others as well, though. In my experience, there are extra cottages that don't show up on their web site, so you may want to call instead.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank imaprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed at the lodge on a college visit to Miami University. It is only a few miles from the town of Oxford. We have stayed at a number of Ohio State Park lodges and they are all in beautiful locations. This was no exception. However, the lodge has grown old and tired and our room had some annoying maintenance issues. The indoor pool area was depressing and needed to be cleaned. There is no whirlpool spa. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Condition of premises
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PKPOWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Corner
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oxford
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
#5 of 8 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Courtyard Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
#1 of 1 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Elms Hotel
The Elms Hotel
#4 of 8 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 5201 Lodge Rd, College Corner, OH 45003-9038
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > College Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, located in the state park and just five miles from the Miami University of Ohio, is a spacious and comfortable retreat offering modern amenities. The park offers 3,600 acres of family fun! Activities include golf, boating, swimming, fishing, horseback riding, mountain biking, paintball, geocaching and much more. The lodge has 90 guestrooms and two luxury suites. We also offer 25 two-bedroom cottages, 10 couples cottages in the woods and two premier cottages on the lake. Our full-service Trailblazer Dining Room is open seven days a week, 365 days a year. The lodge is a great place for your next business meeting, family reunion or religious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hueston Woods Hotel College Corner
Hueston Woods Resort Conference Center
Hueston Woods Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/College Corner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing