We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Miami Univesity of Ohio families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pros: Needed a place to stay for move in day that wasn't 30 min away. Pleasantly surprised to find affordable availability at the last minute when we decided to move in a day early. We stayed in the lodge and were pleased with the lake view balcony that we watched the sun set over. Very relaxing at a time that was full of emotions, and super convenient to campus.

Our bed linens and towels were very clean. Room had refrigerator for left overs. AC worked great. Room had two sinks, one inside the bathroom and one out.

Cons: My daughter and I found some of the pillows to be lumpy and uncomfortable, though my husband slept great.

There is no hairdryer in the bathroom. (good thing my daughter had everything she owned in the car!)

Wifi did not work at all in our room, though the hotel says it has free wifi. We needed to use a personal hot spot and even that was spotty.


For us, the pros outweighed the cons, and we would stay here again when visiting Oxford.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank amysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Feedback from our guests is an important management tool and I value it highly. The hair dryer has been replaced in that room and enhancements made to our Wi-Fi system to boost signal strength. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was such a peaceful and quiet area to stay after a summer of frayed and rattled nerves due to family illnesses. Room in the lodge was great ,with microwave, refrigerator , coffee maker ..and wonderful comfy beds.

Room Tip: No room service but if you order and agree ,you can go pick it up...perfect for us..lakeside view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homeral2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your response. I'm happy we could offer a relaxing atmosphere at your time of need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Need to take a business trip and brainstorm, maybe relax into a writer's paradise, or just chillin with the kids, hide-a-away @ the lodge in the woods and discover those missing puzzle pieces. I was just ending summer semester courses at U.C. and needed some new writing ideas before fall semester starts. This retreat was just what the doctor ordered; to just clear the mind and do absolutely nothing. It really felt good! The lodge has the look and feel of pure relaxation. Try it and I know you'll love it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your post. We agree....it's hard not to relax in this beautiful setting. Mother Nature did a great job with this 3600 acres!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a nice, enjoyable stay at the Lodge at Hueston Woods. I'd stayed there before, but perhaps 20 years ago. First the positives: You're in a state park, and if you're looking for rural and "back to nature," you're in the right place. The food at the Lodge was surprisingly good. Large servings, quite well prepared and reasonably priced. The room was clean and comfortable. On the downside, housekeeping had not left us any soap in the room; the room phone was disconnected, and the Lodge doesn't communicate well with the golf course (if you go for the golf package, be sure to ask for your golf voucher at the hotel desk, otherwise you may have a bit of a hassle sorting that all out.) The Lodge is in need of a serious update and just some good old TLC. It's looking a bit worn out, both in the rooms as well as in the public spaces. Even the parking lots appear to have been ignored.

The golf course is great and has really matured nicely over the past 20 years.

Room Tip: Lakeview, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family and I (husband, 4 year old, and 2 year old) stayed here for three nights for my birthday. This hotel is wonderful. Staff is very friendly, indoor pool is nice (outdoor pool was not opened yet), and there is so much to do! They have 4 fire pit tables where you can sit around a bonfire and roast marshmallows, all within view of the lake. Hiking trails and disc golf Frisbee right at the lodge, you can fish from the bank, they have a restaurant (which has very good food for dinner, didn't eat there for breakfast or lunch), Nature center and mountain bike trails that you can drive or bike to. Arcade room with ping pong and pool table. We saw a raccoon right at our room, and we also saw deer, and lots of big birds of prey. Most definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: lake view rooms have own patio with chairs and table which provide a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backincincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We returned for the first time since New Year's Eve. This time, we just visited the restaurant. We live within an hour's drive, and have visited the restaurant about 4 times yearly for several years. A couple of years ago, management changed from Xanterra to U.S. Hotel and Resort Management and we watched for changes. All seemed well until this visit. Suddenly, we were faced with additional charges for menu substitutions. For example, with the Chicken Pacifica, the sides include Garlic Rice and Buttered Baby Carrots. When we requested to substitute anything for the rice, we were told it would be a $2.00 charge. This is a new policy to us. So even though other entrees had "Roasted Garlic Potatoes" as a side, to change the rice to the potatoes with the Chicken Pacifica cost $2.00. Now, I'm always glad to pay for what I want, but this seemed a little unfriendly! So the choice was made to stick with the rice, which did not taste bad, but appeared to be plain white rice, a little below the level of Uncle Ben's, with maybe a touch of garlic and a touch of margarine. I'm not sure how this is "pilaf." We also ordered the Brisket, which had been served in the past with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Cole Slaw, and with a small stainless steel boat of gravy and BBQ sauce on the table, if desired. This time, it comes with the roasted potatoes, buttered carrots, and BBQ sauce on the table. I don't like BBQ sauce, and there was no gravy. I asked for gravy, and was told there would be an additional charge. Seriously!?! I took one bite of the brisket, which had good flavor, but was dry. So I sent it back, and ordered the "House Salad," described as "Crisp greens topped with red onion, strawberries, feta cheese, toasted almonds and croutons with your choice of dressing." It actually consisted of iceberg lettuce, a few leaves of limp, wilted spinach, white onion, strawberries, very low quality feta cheese, almonds, and croutons. My husband, who also ordered the brisket, agreed the brisket was dry, but does eat BBQ sauce. He opted to pay the charge to have fries instead of the roasted potatoes. He doesn't like carrots but didn't want to pay a 2nd charge to substitute cole slaw. Over the years, we have driven an hour to eat here, enjoying the scenery, and overlooked the dated, worn, décor, because the food was very good. The windows aren't usually clean, and the furniture is not the cleanest, but hey, it's a state park! The restaurant prices were a little high, but we felt it was worth it for the quality of the food and the scenery. Not any more! I'm not even sure we will come to the Lodge for a weekend any more, which we have done occasionally over the years. If we do, we will have to leave the Lodge for meals.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Barb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here because the Oxford hotels were full. This lodge is in a beautiful setting; even in February the drive through the woods is interesting and there's a terrific view of the lake. However, the Lodge needs a major makeover. We stayed in two rooms; the carpet and tile floors and most of the bathroom were new, but the tub/shower area was old. The windows were filthy and there was a pile of old TVs inside the entry door by our rooms. I would not recommend staying here until they fully remodel the place. On the positive side, the staff was warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tut-tutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your response. You did visit while we were in the middle of our renovation project and I do apologize for the mess. All of our rooms and cottages have been remodeled and I hope you return to enjoy the level of hospitality I know we can deliver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Corner
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
#5 of 8 in Oxford
123 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Marcum Hotel & Conference Center at Miami University
4.9 mi away
The Elms Hotel
The Elms Hotel
#4 of 8 in Oxford
63 reviews
15.9 mi away
Courtyard Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
#1 of 1 in Hamilton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 5201 Lodge Rd, College Corner, OH 45003-9038
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > College Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Price Range: $119 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, located in the state park and just five miles from the Miami University of Ohio, is a spacious and comfortable retreat offering modern amenities. The park offers 3,600 acres of family fun! Activities include golf, boating, swimming, fishing, horseback riding, mountain biking, paintball, geocaching and much more. The lodge has 90 guestrooms and two luxury suites. We also offer 25 two-bedroom cottages, 10 couples cottages in the woods and two premier cottages on the lake. Our full-service Trailblazer Dining Room is open seven days a week, 365 days a year. The lodge is a great place for your next business meeting, family reunion or religious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hueston Woods Hotel College Corner
Hueston Woods Resort Conference Center
Hueston Woods Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/College Corner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing