We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hueston Woods General Manager Doesn't Care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hueston Woods General Manager Doesn't Care”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I sent the manager of Hueston Woods Lodge the following letter about complaints we had at the restaurant and the cabin on August 25, 2012. He never responded!

September 16, 2012

Tom Arvan
General Manager, Hueston Woods Resort and Conference Center
Xanterra & Resorts Inc
5201 LODGE RD.
College Corner, Ohio 45003

Dear Mr. Arvan:

My husband attended nearby Miami University in the early 70’s and so we decided to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary at Hueston Woods.

Overall, the people at the lodge did what they could to provide for guests, so no complaints there as they tried to be courteous and helpful. Our expectations were not met by the quality of the food and the less than comfortable cabins and beds.

We rented a cabin and had dinner at the Trailblazer dining room. We both ordered steaks -- a Delmonico steak and a Filet mignon. We were extremely disappointed to find that the steaks were not juicy but instead seemed dry, tough and chewy (not marbled with fat as is more normal for this cut of steak) . For steaks priced at over $30 each, these were certainly not worth the money. The Delmonico steak was even served with cheap frozen crinkle cut French fries. It would have been better if served with steak fries. Next time we would order a baked potato instead (not sure those were available that night).

We couldn’t wait to leave the restaurant and get to the cabin.

Our first impression was that the cabin was cute and practical, but sleeping on the bed was another story. Both of us had the worst sleep we’ve ever had. The bed was so uncomfortable my husband ended up sleeping on the floor, of all things. I tossed and turned the entire night and didn’t get hardly any sleep.

We also think your cabins would benefit by the installation of an overhead café fan to better distribute the air.For one thing the air conditioning unit kept going off and on all night. The window unit cycled on and off through the night so that we were alternately freezing and overheating, causing us to keep waking up to turn the unit on or off. For $169 per night, this should have been a more comfortable experience.

Almost a month has passed and we still feel like this experience could be vastly improved. It wasn’t the experience we expected and we’re still annoyed about it.

We would not be inclined to return or recommend it to others.

Sincerely,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank melomelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    102
    38
    23
    7
See reviews for
134
72
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is everything you would expect from a "State Park". Accomodations are "rustic" and recently rennovated. Modern conveniences in a quiet, off the beaten path setting make for a very enjoyable stay. Food was excellent and the staff was very attentive to any request.

Room Tip: Ask for rennovated rooms/cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjbss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in a pet friendly cabin( 27 )set in the woods bluff a short distance from Action Lake. The cabin was nicely updated and had a comfortable bed and cozy fireplace. We cooked our dinners on the firepit grill. We were in town to relax and the entire Hueston Woods complex was wonderful. Well kept trails, a nice canoe ride on the lake , and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I visited Huseton Woods for a leadership retreat so I didn't get to enjoy all of the amenities, but did have a pleasant stay. We had three meals at the facility and the food was great. The rooms, hallways, and bathrooms were a little run down, but clean. It was a good enough experience that I am considering taking my family there for a nice weekend getaway next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sj252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Threadbare carpeting, moldy odors, non working tv and a telephone with no cord! This was almost a nightmare but the staff was friendly and the bed bearable. My room overlooked the lake and the leaves were beginning to turn on the trees. The setting was lovely.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dinerone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twins5300
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Being that it was part of the Ohio State Parks I was not sure how well kept up it would be but I was not disappointed. It was more than I wanted to pay but worth it in the end. We were going to Oxford to visit my son (Freshman at Miami University) and it just happened to be "Homecoming" weekend. The local hotels and the campus conference center were all sold out. The state park is only 5 miles north of Oxford. I had driven through 1/3 of the park last time we were down to Oxford so knew the lodge was there.

I'd say it looks to be built in late 60's and found out later it was '67. You can still see some of that in it's style and design. They have tried to update it where they can but some areas still need some attention. The main lobby greets you with tall Alpine roof architecture and massive stone fireplace. There are many setting areas to lounge in - a gift shop - nice kid arcade area - indoor and outdoor pools and other lounge areas along the hallways to the rooms. Tons of seating.

Our room's linens were up to date and styled like many of the hotels. The towels were way softer than I imagined they would be. Excellent mattresses - pillows - and linens. We paid a little more to have a lake view which included a nice balcony. Chairs and table out there. Upper floors are key because of the view and they have vaulted timber ceilings. The carpeting was good - had a flat screen tv - mini fridge - and small coffee maker.

You have to remember that funds may be limited since it is state owned - however they are doing a great job at keeping it up to date. Some areas still need a little TLC though. There occasionally is a musty smell in our room but that may have been due to being on the ground floor. The bathrooms still need updating but you get a sink in the bath and one outside the bath. We enjoyed our stay there and will definitely stay again.

There are Tennis courts right across from the lodge along with Paint Ball forest (that my son will check out with his friends someday). Also you can rent cabins down the road - places for camping - tons of biking and walking trails - stables - a beach and harbor on the other side of the lake. Nothing is on top of each other - very spacious grounds.

If you like to get away from the downtown and out in the wilderness - you will love it! Starbucks is proudly sold in the lobby! There is a restaurant in the lodge as well but we didnt' try it.

4 stars out of 5!! from me!

Room Tip: Try to get 3rd floor with the beautiful vaulted ceilings all in wood - facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twins5300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a family cabin for 3 nights. From the website, it looked like cabins were nestled in the woods...it was more like a cabin building development. Lots of cabins in mostly open settings on a wide paved cul-de-sac. The cabins are well appointed & comfortable as a nice hotel room- all recently redone. Linens, towels & basic cooking needs are included- tvs in every room, Wifi, gas fireplace. The amenities at the lodge were nice- we used the indoor pool & although the building is a little dated, it is well kept. The biggest disappointment was the park amenities- it was after labor day so things were limited, but the Nature Center is dilapidated & the lake was foul. I had high hopes for this park, but Caesar Creek SP is so much better in terms of park amenities and park offerings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiotraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Corner
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
#5 of 8 in Oxford
112 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Oxford
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Courtyard Hamilton
Courtyard Hamilton
#1 of 1 in Hamilton
163 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Sycamore Inn
4.9 mi away
The Elms Hotel
The Elms Hotel
#4 of 8 in Oxford
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center

Property: Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center
Address: 5201 Lodge Rd, College Corner, OH 45003-9038
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > College Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in College Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center, located in the state park and just five miles from the Miami University of Ohio, is a spacious and comfortable retreat offering modern amenities. The park offers 3,600 acres of family fun! Activities include golf, boating, swimming, fishing, horseback riding, mountain biking, paintball, geocaching and much more. The lodge has 90 guestrooms and two luxury suites. We also offer 25 two-bedroom cottages, 10 couples cottages in the woods and two premier cottages on the lake. Our full-service Trailblazer Dining Room is open seven days a week, 365 days a year. The lodge is a great place for your next business meeting, family reunion or religious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hueston Woods Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hueston Woods Hotel College Corner
Hueston Woods Resort Conference Center
Hueston Woods Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/College Corner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing