We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Height Restaurant”
Review of The Mad Greek - CLOSED

The Mad Greek
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Cleveland Landmark Restaurant Established in 1977 at Coventry Village. Experience The Finest in Greek & Indian Cuisine in a classic casual setting. Menu Highlights include Braised Lamb Shank, Kasseri Roasted Chicken, Grilled Flat Iron Steak, Aegean Pasta, Pan Seared Atlantic Cod, Chicken Tikka Masala, Kerala Fish Curry, and many other great dishes. Large & spacious dining room, outdoor patio with waterfall, street side dining, full bar, happy hour daily, catering, carryout & delivery. 5 minutes from Cleveland Clinic, University Hospitals, CWRU & University Circle.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Classic Height Restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Like everyone who went to CHHS, you either worked here or knew someone that did!
The Greek has been there since 1978 or so, and was previously in Coventry Yard before the fire.
I worked here from 1979-82.The restaurant had great traditional Indian and Greek food; the owners were (at that time) very interesting...Loki and Nicki made you aware you were in a family business..drama and all.
Back to the food: the hummus is by far the best out there...so much better than teh premade crap and only rivaled by Tommy's. The Dolmas and the Indian food are fantastic: Loki's mother made most of the recipes and they were like home for many Indian transplants that would dine with us.
I am sure the decor has seen better days, but.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidthebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    10
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food needs work”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Their staff are friendly, parking is convenient and restaurant is clean but their food needs improvement. Entrees tried: steak, fisherman stew, salmon and lamb. Lamb shank is good but the other 3 are just so so. A bit pricy too

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

As the title says, this was my worst dining experience for at least two years.

The service was bad (took an hour to deliver our meal) and the food was even worse. There were four of us in our party. The best any of us could say about the food was me saying it was mediocre.


Almost everything seemed to have been reheat, maybe even more than once. To top it off the prices were higher than most Indian and Greek restaurants in the Cleveland area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank twinsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently a Fine Place to Dine”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This favorite has been in business over 30 years. During this time, my family has enjoyed numerous meals and sampled a majority of food offerings. We have never been disappointed with the food or service. We especially like the Mezzo Sampler appetizer platter that provides enough to satisfy the appetites of both my wife and me. We also love the lamb shank, both Greek and Indian style. They also have a good selection of wine from around the world. Cheers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“fantasic food”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

the food is absoloutly amazing! It's a bit on the pricey side, but definitely worth what you pay for it! The only downside to my visit was that our waitress was absoloutly horrible, but the food was so delicious that I'm most definitely willing to give it another chance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nosferatue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Greek also viewed

 
Cleveland Heights, OH
Cleveland Heights, OH
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing