We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art films specialty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Lee Cinema

Cedar Lee Cinema
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First opening its doors on Christmas Day 1925 as an 1,100 seat, single-screen theater, the Cedar Lee Theatre was transformed into a twin-screen theater in 1983 to compete with the increasing number of multiplexes and to meet the demand to play an ever growing number of specialty films. Two Hollywood-style screening rooms were added in 1991 - allowing guests to the theater to enjoy truly specialized films. Finally in 1994 two modern stadium-style theaters were added to bring the current screen count to six. For more than three decades the words "Cedar Lee Theatre" and "specialty film" have been synonymous in Cleveland. Ushering in an era when specialty film would transcend art-house appeal, and coupled with its unique concession stand the first to offer baked goods, sandwiches, specialty coffee drinks, and imported beer and wine the Cedar Lee Theatre continues to be the movie theater of choice for many Greater Clevelanders.
cleveland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Art films specialty”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Teenie Tiny movie theater screens. Its a nice place that shows only the small or limited release movies that the big name movie plexes don't show.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank makgambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    19
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Avant Garde movies”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great openings of interesting movies with once in a while a "chase em shoot em up" flick. Recommend watching their selections. Just saw Renoir.....lush and beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GastroKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novelty OH
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Popcorn and Movie”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The theater is clean. The staff is always friendly, The movie selection is always varied and typically includes listings for the artsy, foreign and independent and less commercialized fare. They have beer and wine to purchase. Although not yet including gluten-free beer in the options.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 57maro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It is different”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I enjoy this theatre because it has a great snack bar. I enjoy having a glass of wine after dinner in the theatre. The films are different and high quality. The theatre itself is getting old and needs to be remodeled. Choose your seat carefully or you will not be happy. There is an afternoon matinee also that is cheaper. I love going there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great off beat movies.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Only movie theatre I have ever been in where you could buy beer. I don't even drink beer. But I had to buy one just because I could. LOL

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Lee Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Lee Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing