We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Almost excellence itself.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost excellence itself.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The suite rooms have extra space and another tv - but save the cost - because the cheesy refrigerator/microwave on the floor detracts from the overall great this place is. For the hustle and bustle of a downtown ...thumbs up. The jacuzzi was broken.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brothers-in-arms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    743
    550
    316
    175
See reviews for
599
733
113
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had an event at the Wolstein Center and this hotel provided the perfect location. It was within walking distance. There is also a shuttle van available if you do not want to walk. Casino is about a $4-5 cab ride, restaurants are closeby. The staff at the hotel is amazing. Everyone is very helpful and will do everything to make your stay as perfect as can be. Kudos to the Valet staff. They are awesome. would recommend anyone from out of town to come on over to the Wyndham to stay, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallybeecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel was in a convenient location...walking distance to the rock and roll hall of fame (about 10 to 15 minutes) by the waterfront. Lots of pubs within a short walk. There is a new casino that just opened nearby as well. My room was spacious and clean. There is a leather chair with a built in flat surface that was great for working on laptops, not to mention that it was a comfortable chair. The king size bed was comfortable and clean. The soaps provided had a nice scent. The water pressure from the shower was great. Food and drinks available at the hotel were quite good. There was also free wifi in the hotel. express checkout was convenient. I just have to leave the keycard in the room and called the front desk to let them known that I am checking out. The hotel is about a 15 to 20 minute taxi ride from the airport and the fare is abut $35.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorettaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was there for a conference. The room was fine. The meeting rooms and food was good. I found the hotel staff helpful. There are alot of empty buidlings on Euclid Ave. A number of woman at the conference did not feel comfortable walking at night back from the House of Blues which is only a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Higher rooms were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Brian E.,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our meeting space, guest rooms, food and staff service! We hope to see you the next time you are in Cleveland.

Sincerely,

A. Strieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our recent trip to Cleveland brought us to this hotel as result from recommendations of the Cleveland Clinic. The staff was great - Marta (Dining), Tommy (Driver) and Kermit with the luggage were all extremely friendly along with the rest of the staff. The room was super clean with nice amenities. We were on the fourth floor which is reserved exclusively for Clinic patients. There was a nice room in addition to ours that is available to those on that floor with wide screen TV, books, games, and etc. Food was very good as well as the service. We are planning a return trip in the near future and this hotel will be our destination. For a city like Cleveland the room rates were quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor if going to Cleveland Clinic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear William R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for the Wyndham Cleveland. I will be sure to share your comments about our great staff with them. It sounds like the forth floor was perfect for your needs! We look forward to your return visit.

Be Well,

A. Strieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I travelled here on business for a small convention for a couple of days, so it wasn't my choice of hotel. However, I found the property to be fine for our needs.

The meeting rooms were fine. The catered food was very good. The location was excellent.

I stayed in a nice corner suite, which was a nice bright room, and the convention rate was only $119, so I can't complain about that. The bedding was a little worn, but the furniture was otherwise fine.

Overall, a good place for a business meeting at a good price. It's certainly not luxury, and I wouldn't choose to stay here for vacation with my wife, but it was great for my purposes this visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCH_in_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear DCH_in_Canada,

We are happy to hear that your business travels brought you to Cleveland and the Wyndham. Thank you for your comments, it is our hope that each of our guests has a great experience.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

A. Strieter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I know it's Cleveland but still...

The rooms are tired and a bit shabby, the bedding mediocre, some of the staff are indifferent and if it wasn't for the convenient location I would never stay here nor recommend it. Actually, I WON'T ever stay here again.

This is a three star hotel barely. There's no art on any walls in the rooms, mine had a ripped curtain and a dusty closet that hadn't been cleaned in weeks. It was a bit depressing.

If you don't need the location find a better option. This place needs a facelift. And some warmth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalityMgr, Manager at Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear tobeginwith:

Thank you for giving us your specific feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations with our guest room or staff experience. We strive to ensure that each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and will work to improve our products and service. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

A. Strieter
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
0.5 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square

Property: Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square
Address: 1260 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Cleveland at Playhouse Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Cleveland At Playhouse Square Hotel Cleveland
Wyndham Playhouse Square
Cleveland Wyndham
Wyndham Cleveland At Playhouse Square Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing