We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-Professional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
NM
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Hotel-Professional Staff”
Reviewed November 22, 2006

Stayed at this Hotel on a recent business trip. Enjoyed the bar and restaurant MUSE and the great staff. Property is adjacent to a shopping mall with places to eat and a cinema. And the beds and sheets are the most comfortable that I can remember. Good meeting rooms also.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank altitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    173
    67
    18
    29
See reviews for
119
276
35
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

I'm not a princess. I'm a typical Marriott customer who decided to try the Ritz because their weekend package was in line with Marriott prices. The double bed I slept in had wonderful linens and a soft fetherbed, but the mattress sagged. You can't cover up a poor foundation. Otherwise, the room was nice and the bathroom was much larger than most hotels. It may have been a while since it was redecorated, but it still was elegant. We really liked the steam room, sauna, pool, and whrlpool. It felt great after watching an athletic event in the cold and rain. Water bottles and apples were a nice touch. Staff were plentiful and very helpful. This is the area where they really shine. They allowed us to trade the two tickets included in our package for 2 additional breakfaxts. We had paid for the self-park package, but they offered valet parking and the valets were quick. Breakfast at the Century restaurant was a disaster. We weren't offered coffee until we'd been seated about 7 minutes. I knocked over my cup of coffee (definately not a princess move) while the waiter was taking my order. He didn't do a thing about it; no effort to clean it up, or bring me another cup of coffee. Luckily the thick tablecloth soaked it up. Towards the end of the meal, the waiter knocked over my husband's cup of coffee. Thank heavens for that thick tablecloth. We noticed them dumping cartons of orange juice into pitchers. The menu only listed "fresh squeezed orange juice". Amazing what you can get for $4. We did learn that the Century restaurant was closing that day and will reopen as something else. Let's hope that waiter is gone.

  • Liked — Most of the staff members were very helful.
  • Disliked — the mattress in our room and the waiter in the restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a package. 2 breakfasts, valet parking , and 2 tickets to area attractions only $20 more
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Wow! What an incredible hotel and a friendly and inviting staff. The club lounge with different food througout the day is worth the money. I would definitely go back and stay again.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoteljunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala, florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

Having just returned from a disappointing stay at the Ritz, I feel compelled to write my first advisory. This property certainly isn't up to Ritz standards. Check in was uneventful...with the exception that staff seemed bored and there was no doorman or bellman to assist with bags. The room was standard with two skimpy pillows. The bed was comfortable. We were disappointed to return to the room after our meeting to find only one bed made up. The smell in the hall each morning reminded me of car exhaust. The flowers in the lobby were lovely, but the ones in the hall had dirty water when we arrived.

I do appreciate the services of the conceriege and the excellent dining recommendations. And the water and towels for joggers in the a.m.

With a little work, this would be up to RC standards.

Helpful?
5 Thank rivercat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

I am a big fan of The Ritz and will only stay there when traveling. They just have the routine down perfectly. The rooms are classy and welcoming. The staff is warm and friendly. And they go out of their way to make you feel at home. I can't think of anything else I'd want out of a hotel.

You get what you pay for and in this case it is absolutely worth it. I will return as often as possible!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

First, I confess I was not a TripAdvisor poster last summer when I visited the Cleveland R-C. But seeing the most recent June '06 review reminded me of a remarkably similar experience. When the reviews start to sound familiar, you get the idea that negatives are not the rantings of a lone malcontent.

We stay at four and five star hotels on AMEX Platinum, which ususally gets you a pleasant supply of upgrades and amenities, such as late check-out, free breakfast, and room upgrade where available. Traveling on an overnight with our niece, we reserved a "deluxe" and asked for a roll-away, but we were prepared to pay for a suite if no upgrade was available. Turns out, no upgrade, no suites, and no rollaway (although for an extra $30, they might have been able to find one.) Complimentary meal was lunch, not breakfast (not much good for overnight stay leaving in the morning), but those can be the breaks with these upgrade deals: you don't always score.

We finally obtained a room that suited our needs, despite one of the nastiest front desk clerks in the history of hospitality (if you're that angry with the world, why not get into a different line of work?), and the absence of staff anywhere in the lobby. The shortage of staff was not surprising, to the extent the place looked empty (Cleveland Indians were not in town; have you been to Cleveland in August?), and the Club Level was similarly quiet. I'll dispense with the part of the story where the Club attendant assured me there were plenty of suites available, only to learn when he called the front desk that someone must have booked all of them in the past hour.

The balance of the evening and following morning were much the same. No staff, no service. Pool is nice, but I agree that spa attendants were, uh, disengaged. Plenty of restaurant choices near the hotel, which is walking distance to the baseball field (and also to football and basketball venues, but perhaps not so much when the wind blows off the lake.) But this hotel, with its faded brocade and worn carpets, needs a makeover, both in furnishings and attitude. They just weren't interested in puttin' on the Ritz.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank jackfurlongesq_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2006

This was my second stay at this Ritz Carlton. It is a nice hotel but not nearly as polished as other Ritz Carltons I've visited. The attention to detail (or lack there of) is what makes this Ritz a far cry from the others in this chain.

For example, I went to work out in the gym at 8am on a Saturday. There was no attendant at the gym's desk. You had to pick through a basket of keys to secure your possesions in the lockers. In the locker room there were no clean towels. Normally, there is fresh water with lemons by the locker room. On this day I could tell that the water had been sitting over night and there were no glasses to drink from!

The staff was attentive to my needs but I felt like I had to tell them what they should already know. This was evident by my having to remind the front desk staff that my particular credit card affords me certain privilages at the hotel. There is no such reminder needed at other Ritz Carltons.

Again, this is a very nice hotel but it does not meet the standards of other Ritz Carltons.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mike0steff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#3 of 38 in Cleveland
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Address: 1515 W 3rd St, Cleveland, OH 44113-1403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing