We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rolling the dice at the Ritz...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
326 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Rolling the dice at the Ritz...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

To be fair, I am going to separate this review into 2 parts - The hotel and its affiliates.

Part 1 - We enjoyed our recent stay at the Ritz Carlton in downtown Cleveland. The hotel is filled with the classic style and impressive service you would expect from this upscale chain. At first, we were a bit confused with the area of where the valet was located. It is NOT near the public square where our GPS advised us (as usual), it is located on West 3rd. Actually, once we realized where it was, it was very convenient and the valet was very fast and friendly throughout our entire stay. There are in and out privileges throughout your stay and I do believe it is $28 a day for parking. Honestly, the staff at the Ritz were all very helpful and friendly.

Our room request was honored, as we were assigned at King room on an upper level. The room was very spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. The flat screen TV had many channels including HBO and Pay Per View options if desired. There is an in room safe and ample closet space including 2 bath robes. The bathroom was also very large and I loved the marble sink and shower.

There is a mini bar and a desk/work area with internet connection. There are ice machines on each floor and room service if desired.

The pool is a heated indoor pool located on the 7th floor in the spa area. There is also a large hot tub, plenty of towels and lounges. The pool was very refreshing and quiet while we were there.

The only thing that was a bit odd was the changing of elevators needed to go from your room to the lobby and then to the valet outside. I know this is because of the connection of the hotel to the mall, it was not difficult to do, it was just odd.

The hotel is connected to a large indoor mall/subway station/casino and is located in the center of downtown Cleveland in the Public Square. It is very close to clubs, restaurants and attractions.

We would not hesitate to stay here again if the opportunity arises.

Part 2 - The mall and the casino. At first, the mall connected to the Ritz was interesting and convenient. We checked in early in the day and spent some time in the afternoon strolling around some of the shops. Most were your typical mall stores like Bath & Body, shoe stores, Food court (with a variety of options), candy store, book store, etc. There is also a Hard Rock connected to the mall. During the day it was a bonus to have this available to the Ritz guests, however at night....a completely different story!

In the evening after dinner with friends, we decided to head over to the casino which is connected to the mall. You have to walk through about half the mall and then take elevators or escalators down to the bottom floor near the subway and walk through a connector to get to the casino. Once at the casino, there is security and your typical casino activity.

The casino seemed pretty nice, but it was loud even for a weekend night. The one thing I did like was that it was completely smoke free and we could breathe. The casino seemed clean and staff helpful.

Here were the problems: 1st, there are no real signs once in the casino to designate where you are to go to get back to the hotel. We had to ask several casino employees who didn't know either. This could be and was a bit challenging for us. (However, maybe its set up that way so you wont leave...lol) So here is a tip...don't drink or use your GPS to get back, you may be sorry.

2nd and the biggest problem, the looong walk back to the hotel at night. The actual walk is not that long, however it is SCARY!!! Once down the connecting corridor to the mall and out of site of casino security...YOU ARE ALONE on your walk back. We saw no security on our walk to and from the casino which is frightening. We did see several sketchy characters "hanging out" or whatever they were doing around the area which made us extremely uncomfortable. My husband, who is a big strong guy, was furious at the lack of security for the Ritz and casino visitors. The concept was good, the follow through....not so much!

This is a dangerous situation that seriously needs to be addressed between the Ritz and the casino if they are going to be working together. Its not about "IF" there will be an incident, its only about "WHEN" if there hasn't been already! I hope this is resolved soon, so then we may consider going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mickeymotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    169
    66
    16
    24
See reviews for
110
265
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This feels as if it was built as a top quality hotel and is being kept to a lesser standard now. The bones are high quality, but i would guess the rates don't allow the refurbishing that a top quality asset requires. I am also concerned that as the hotel is being used as a hotel for the casino that the quality of the service will suffer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Melizondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Oh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent one night at the Ritz for our anniversary, and it was an incredible experience. The lobby is beautiful and the service is incredible. The hotel had chocolate covered strawberries and chocolate waiting for us in our room, which was on the top floor. We had access to the club room, which allowed us complimentary alcohol and food almost all day. The room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. Also a very quiet environment-- no banging doors to wake me up. The girl in the club room (Emily?? , Erica? ) gave exceptional service. Also loved that the Ritz is connected to the casino (which is gorgeous, by the way). Can't say enough about this property. Only complaint (of course, there has to be something, right?) is that for this $, I would think wireless would be free. But that's it-- the rest was outstanding. I would definitely suggest the Ritz for a special occasion for anyone.

Room Tip: If you are staying at the Ritz anyway, check out the club room privileges package. It might be wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel complimentary from a Casino offer. We were expecting nothing but the best at a Ritz-Carlton. When we arrived for valet service, we were quickly greeted by friendly attendants. Our name was asked and as we walked away we could hear the attendant calling ahead to let the desk know that we were arriving and what we were wearing so that we could be identified when we approached. However, I'm not sure who he had called because when we stopped at the lobby desk to check in, they had no idea who we were. Needless, they checked us in and told us where to find the casino, restaurant, and other areas of interest.
We were given a room on the 9th floor with a partial view of the lake. The room was very clean and comfortable for the most part. I was a little surprised that although very clean, the room appeared a little dated in its decor. After traveling more frequently lately, we also noticed that the rooms are not set up with charging stations or outlets near the bedside. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and will probably be staying there again soon (as my husband is a patient of a Cleveland Clinic doctor).
One item to note- the shopping "mall" that is connected to this hotel is somewhat run down and filled with stores I'd never heard of. It is also very confusing to navigate (as we found out one evening trying to return to the hotel from inside the mall). Security seems to be adequate, but I wouldn't wander around the mall or the surrounding area too much late in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busymombjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed one night, comped by Harrah's. It was a bit confusing when we got there as check in is several floors up. Out room was a few more floors up then to the "basement" only to find ourselves in a mall with hallways connecting to Harrah's casino. All in all, it was lovely and close to the casino. Another weird thing was there was no pop machine or vending machines on any of the hotel floors, which is fine if you know in advance. Ice yes, food/pop no.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went to Cleveland for the first time in late July to catch the Tigers / Indians series. Me and a buddy decided to go since I was comped by the Horseshoe casino for 3 nights at the Ritz. As far as the hotel itself goes I have no issues whatsoever the room was nice, the staff was for the most part cordial and helpful. The only issue I had was on our first night as we were heading down to the casino we happen to run into the Detroit Tigers ball team as they were staying at the same hotel and we asked Prince Fielder for a picture which he was more than gracious to pose for one with me and seconds after a member of the hotel staff informs us we are not allowed to do that but in a tone that we should have known that. As if it is clearly written or explained to us upon check in obviously it is not so we found her a bit rude in her approach in telling us. What I liked was location to ball park and casino, comfy beds and overall nice hotel. As for the 4 rating I found it hard to find, I don't like having to switch elevators to get to our floor, our room was free but they go for 300+ a night and if we had paid that I may even drop it to a 3. There just was no wow factor for that kind of room price. If comped would stay again obviously but if had to pay that amount would be shopping around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koalasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Ritz over labor day weekend and it was amazing. i booked a king on a high floor away from the elevator and thats exactly what i got.

Check in was very quick and painless. The room was excellent. The staff was SO friendly and always said hello in passing. Keep it up Ritz Carlton!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspatrick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#2 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Address: 1515 W 3rd St, Cleveland, OH 44113-1403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The epitome of Midwestern hospitality and the only downtown Cleveland hotel to receive a four-star, four-diamond rating, The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland features: ideal heart-of-downtown location; 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Cuyahoga River, Lake Erie, and downtown Cleveland; exceptional dining in MUSE and Lobby Lounge on 6; 24-hour Fitness Center; indoor access to Tower City Center; easy walking access to downtown attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Cleveland Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cleveland
Ritz-Carlton Cleveland
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing