We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$168
$133
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$111
$80
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$131
$118
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveler rating
389
421
251
119
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
421
251
119
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic squaresans soucisan soucilobby bartower city centerbeautiful lobbybeautiful hotelan older hotelthe concierge loungeupgraded to a suiterock and roll hallparking garage isindoor poolbed was very comfortableclub levelold buildingself park
Filter
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

1.The unhelpful staff mutters the phrase, “Happy to serve” with sarcasm so lethal it was first patented by the French during WWII as their weapon of choice.
2.The elevator keys—for those on the higher floors—won’t always work. It’s not you. It’s not the elevator. It’s not your phone demagnetizing the cards. Trust me, I’ve spoken with other guests about this. The cards just suck.
3.When your elevator key repeatedly ceases to work the man at the Navigator booth will guardedly replace it with that patented, “Happy to serve” attitude. I think he’d rather you just scale the outside of the building to your room like Spiderman.
4.Being Spiderman will not help you get an ounce of flavor or a decent meal from room service. Room service. * shudders *
5.If you ask for a room close to the elevators because you have a son who has had recent surgery and can’t walk very far, they will give you the room that is exactly the furthest from the elevators no matter which way in the square—left or right--you choose to go. Clever. Devious. But clever.
6.If you use your Marriott Rewards to pay for your hotel, they will charge you anyway. When you complain that you used 120,000 Marriott Rewards for the room, the front desk person will say, “Hmmm, I see. These charges have already been approved. Let me research if there is any way to reverse these charges. I’ll have to call you back.” Really? Are you living in the same decade that your hotel was constructed in? I think electronically depositing the money you withdrew from the bank shouldn’t be that difficult.
7.The valets will happily sit having a cigarette while you juggle two bags of groceries and struggle to open the door directly in front of them. FYI: Bringing groceries is a good idea. Room service. *shudders *
8.If you dial 7 and any button that is supposed to get you to the front desk, room service, Navigator or any other “Happy to serve” service, there is a good chance that it won’t go through. You’ll call seven times. You’ll hear it ring, hear the brush of clothing, and be hung up on. Again and again. Really? Apparently you have to be rude to get anyone to care about you at this hotel. It’s a French thing.
9.The cleaning staff is awesome. And nice. And they really work hard.
10.If you have a convention at this hotel, they might make your well-groomed party guests line up for food at a buffet set up in the main lobby. You know, where you check in. It was awkward for everyone involved, not just the people struggling past with their travel worn clothes, smeared mascara, and bulk luggage. I tried not to make eye contact.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrustworthyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hello Trustworthy and thank you not only for visiting, but also for taking the time to write your thorough review. We have spent a considerable amount of time investigating the items you noted regarding your stay and unfortunately we most definitely require additional information in order to reply appropriately. We certainly don't want to make assumptions or overlook any part of your review. First and foremost, please know that on behalf of our entire team, we are sincerely sorry for any and all issues you experienced while visiting. Our general manager would very much like the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience and gain additional information. Should you be interested in emailing her, please do so to rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. We appreciate your time in contacting us, and please know that your feedback is definitely valued. Thank you again for visiting and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at this property for a conference between May 29-May 30.

Location - Excellent for downtown Cleveland. The train station is below it. You can fly into CLE and take the RTA for $2.25 and be at the hotel in 30 minutes. A cab will cost approximately $35. There is a mall next to it with a decent food court. For nightlife, there's a casino within walking distance and the famous 4th Street for dinner and bar spots.

Club lounge level - This worked great for me. The staff was absolutely incredible: Albert, Rochelle and Tonda. Not only were they incredibly friendly, but they were able to tell me how to get to places and just made the overall stay great. The food for breakfast and happy hour were fine. I really liked having access to water, juices and yogurt during the day.

Room - The room was a little depressing. I had an inside room facing the pool. It was dark, but it was cleaned very well everyday. There is enough closet space to put your things in and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was not luxurious, but it had really nice swag with their aveda products. I had enough towels everyday.

Lobby bar - This was a great feature in the hotel. We had several business meetings here, and it was a good place to catch up with coworkers. Great cocktails but not cheap.

Meeting rooms for the conference - It's a huge space that will fit about 700 people. The hotel had several rooms for our break-out sessions. Lou was our contact person, and he was very responsive.

Gym - The gym is tiny, but there was no one ever in there.

Check-in and check-out - Marcus checked me in the evening, and he was friendly and quick. I turned in my key cards to check-out, and it took all of 5 seconds.

My other colleagues stayed at the Westin. They said that the rooms were much nicer than this hotel BUT the location wasn't as convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pr0Jettser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hello Pr0Jettsetter and thank you for writing such an amazingly thorough review of our property. There is truly some excellent feedback here that we are very appreciative of receiving. We definitely want to apologize for the disappointment in your actual guest room. Obviously this is a critical part of your stay and we're truly sorry that you were not happier with the decor and location. We love our "swag" as well; Aveda products are wonderful and we're proud to work with them. Also thank you for pointing out so many of our wonderful navigators by name. We will be sure to pass this information directly to our general manager for her review and so that everyone will be recognized. Thanks again; we value your input. We hope to see you again very soon. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference there recently. I am sure that the hotel was very grand in its day and some of the common areas are still. The meeting room is worn. I believe that quite a few of the conference attendees were all put on the same floor, the 14th, with a fine view of the next building. The room was small and felt like it was put in as an after thought. There was hardly any room to walk around in. The heat/cooling system was terrible. When I can, I will up load a photo that I took of it. The temperature of the room could not be adjusted no matter how you turned the knob. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The hotel has a very good location in the heart of downtown Cleveland, close to almost anything you would want to do. The staff were helpful. Check in and out was easily done. I still have to complain about WiFi access. I do not understand why hotels gouge their clientele by charging over and above the accomodation cost for internet access in the room. I will never pay for that service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hello Sally and thank you not only for visiting but also for taking your time to post such a thorough review. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your guest room accommodations. It isn't that any of our 491 guest rooms were "afterthoughts", however believe it or not, each is entirely unique in layout, and size. We have no two identical rooms in the entire hotel. We're very sorry that you were not happy with yours. As for your other issues, our general manager would very much like to speak with you personally. Should you be interested in contacting her, please email rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. On behalf of the entire team here in Cleveland, we sincerely apologize and hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

World Class accommodations overlooking the activity of Public Square, backed by a panoramic vista of the downtown skyline. With indoor connections to Tower City Center, Horseshoe Casino, the Observation Deck, Quicken Arena, Progressive Field, Ritz-Carlton, the Federal Tower, as well as the Cinema Multiplex; you can not find a better location. The award winning Sans Souci restaurant overlooks Public Square.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a high floor overlooking Public Square.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Steve, thank you! We appreciate you staying with us and we definitely appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful compliments about our historic property. We love hearing that you enjoyed all the many conveniences within walking distance; it sounds like you took great advantage of the many downtown sights and scenes. On behalf of our entire team, we thank you and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room, although old was very elegant and the staff were superb. Great location right in downtown Cleveland. The room was spacious, amenities were great and the view was good. There was a comfortable couch and 2 chairs in the room and the staff brought in an extra bed so we were all comfortable!

Room Tip: I was with 2 other friends and we all had a bed. The hotel is very accommodating.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shebalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Greetings from Cleveland and thank you so very much for the wonderful five star review! We're thrilled to hear that your entire visit was a success! Hopefully you'll be returning again soon and we'll look forward to seeing you again then! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews