We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pretty good property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty good property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at this property for a conference between May 29-May 30.

Location - Excellent for downtown Cleveland. The train station is below it. You can fly into CLE and take the RTA for $2.25 and be at the hotel in 30 minutes. A cab will cost approximately $35. There is a mall next to it with a decent food court. For nightlife, there's a casino within walking distance and the famous 4th Street for dinner and bar spots.

Club lounge level - This worked great for me. The staff was absolutely incredible: Albert, Rochelle and Tonda. Not only were they incredibly friendly, but they were able to tell me how to get to places and just made the overall stay great. The food for breakfast and happy hour were fine. I really liked having access to water, juices and yogurt during the day.

Room - The room was a little depressing. I had an inside room facing the pool. It was dark, but it was cleaned very well everyday. There is enough closet space to put your things in and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was not luxurious, but it had really nice swag with their aveda products. I had enough towels everyday.

Lobby bar - This was a great feature in the hotel. We had several business meetings here, and it was a good place to catch up with coworkers. Great cocktails but not cheap.

Meeting rooms for the conference - It's a huge space that will fit about 700 people. The hotel had several rooms for our break-out sessions. Lou was our contact person, and he was very responsive.

Gym - The gym is tiny, but there was no one ever in there.

Check-in and check-out - Marcus checked me in the evening, and he was friendly and quick. I turned in my key cards to check-out, and it took all of 5 seconds.

My other colleagues stayed at the Westin. They said that the rooms were much nicer than this hotel BUT the location wasn't as convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pr0Jettser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Pr0Jettsetter and thank you for writing such an amazingly thorough review of our property. There is truly some excellent feedback here that we are very appreciative of receiving. We definitely want to apologize for the disappointment in your actual guest room. Obviously this is a critical part of your stay and we're truly sorry that you were not happier with the decor and location. We love our "swag" as well; Aveda products are wonderful and we're proud to work with them. Also thank you for pointing out so many of our wonderful navigators by name. We will be sure to pass this information directly to our general manager for her review and so that everyone will be recognized. Thanks again; we value your input. We hope to see you again very soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    356
    193
    101
    45
See reviews for
150
257
55
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference there recently. I am sure that the hotel was very grand in its day and some of the common areas are still. The meeting room is worn. I believe that quite a few of the conference attendees were all put on the same floor, the 14th, with a fine view of the next building. The room was small and felt like it was put in as an after thought. There was hardly any room to walk around in. The heat/cooling system was terrible. When I can, I will up load a photo that I took of it. The temperature of the room could not be adjusted no matter how you turned the knob. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The hotel has a very good location in the heart of downtown Cleveland, close to almost anything you would want to do. The staff were helpful. Check in and out was easily done. I still have to complain about WiFi access. I do not understand why hotels gouge their clientele by charging over and above the accomodation cost for internet access in the room. I will never pay for that service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Sally and thank you not only for visiting but also for taking your time to post such a thorough review. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your guest room accommodations. It isn't that any of our 491 guest rooms were "afterthoughts", however believe it or not, each is entirely unique in layout, and size. We have no two identical rooms in the entire hotel. We're very sorry that you were not happy with yours. As for your other issues, our general manager would very much like to speak with you personally. Should you be interested in contacting her, please email rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. On behalf of the entire team here in Cleveland, we sincerely apologize and hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

World Class accommodations overlooking the activity of Public Square, backed by a panoramic vista of the downtown skyline. With indoor connections to Tower City Center, Horseshoe Casino, the Observation Deck, Quicken Arena, Progressive Field, Ritz-Carlton, the Federal Tower, as well as the Cinema Multiplex; you can not find a better location. The award winning Sans Souci restaurant overlooks Public Square.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a high floor overlooking Public Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Steve, thank you! We appreciate you staying with us and we definitely appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful compliments about our historic property. We love hearing that you enjoyed all the many conveniences within walking distance; it sounds like you took great advantage of the many downtown sights and scenes. On behalf of our entire team, we thank you and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room, although old was very elegant and the staff were superb. Great location right in downtown Cleveland. The room was spacious, amenities were great and the view was good. There was a comfortable couch and 2 chairs in the room and the staff brought in an extra bed so we were all comfortable!

Room Tip: I was with 2 other friends and we all had a bed. The hotel is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Greetings from Cleveland and thank you so very much for the wonderful five star review! We're thrilled to hear that your entire visit was a success! Hopefully you'll be returning again soon and we'll look forward to seeing you again then! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is my second time to stay at the Renaissance. The rooms are large with many windows overlooking the city or Lake Erie. The pillows were not the greatest, but the linens and towels were fine, and there was a complimentary robe to use. I was on the concierge floor, and the food in the lounge was quite good! The hotel is also four-block walking distance (seemed safe) from the "theater district".

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have the view, but also the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello CW! Thank you so much for returning recently for a second stay. We love hearing when guests return to our beautiful property. We wanted to apologize with the situation regarding your pillows. Please know that should you ever visit again, please feel free to notify our front desk of any such issue and our housekeeping team will be happy to swap pillows until you find something more suitable. Once again we appreciate you returning and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a great trip to Cleveland this past weekend! Our stay at the Renaissance was just terrific. The beds were so comfortable that all 4 of us had the best sleep we have had in a long time! The service was friendly and attentive, making our stay a pleasure. James, in the bar and Tonda in the Club Lounge were particularly exceptional! The details of this hotel are gorgeous with a grand lobby, beautiful trim work throughout and fine historic details that remind you that this structure has existed for many years and has been well maintained. While the bathrooms in the rooms are small, they are lovely. The location is convenient to the lake, the rehabbed warehouse district and various tourist attractions that would be of interest. Finally, I would be remiss in not mentioning the effort the staff took to get us back to the hotel Sunday night when we were stranded at a restaurant in Little Italy with no cabs willing to make the trip out to retrieve us. We called the hotel and they sent 2 taxis to us, which was greatly appreciated. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Cleveland, for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you are booking a king room for two, ask to not be on the corner as those rooms are smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Travelbug and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and glowing review of your stay with us. Please know that we have passed all comments directly to our general manager for her review. We appreciate you mentioning particular members of our team by name and will be sure that your kind words reach them directly. Also what a wonderful story about getting home; thank you for sharing! We definitely appreciate you staying and hope to see you again soon. Travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

For an old hotel, there is a lot of class. I loved staying here. It was in a great location and attached to a casino and small mall. The bartender made some awesome drinks. It was a great weekend. Cleveland is an interesting city and I would recommend staying here if you are visiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hello Victoria and greetings from Cleveland. Thank you so very much for the stellar five star review. We appreciate you staying and of course taking the time to post. Please come again soon; we'll look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Property: Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Address: 24 Public Sq, Cleveland, OH 44113-2213
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing