We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Grand Old Hotel in heart of the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
323 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel in heart of the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our weekend stay in Cleveland, and at the Renaissance. The location of this hotel is great. You are in the heart of downtown, near 6th Street restaurants and the entertainment district. The hotel is a real classic and has been retained in much of its original splendor. It is also a big plus, particularly in the winter, that you can walk directly to the new Horseshoe Casino, and the Tower City shops and a movie theatre, all without having to go outside. They have nice shops and a couple of coffee shops like Dunkin Donuts.

The room we had was very nice and they have done a good job updating the rooms without losing the charm of an older hotel. Bathroom was very bright, which is good. We had a room with two twin beds, and an area with a couch and TV, like a mini suite.

Loved the lobby bar, and the in-hotel restaurant has a good breakfast (make your own mini waffles). The bar and lobby area are very spacious and provide good views of the public square. It is also easy walking distance to a bunch of good restaurants. Also very near the baseball and basketball stadiums. You can also easily walk to the Rock and Roll Museum (in good weather).

They have Valet Parking at the hotel which comes in handy given the challenges getting a parking spot now that the casino is open, or if a game is going on at one of the stadiums.

The only complaint I would have was the Fitness "Center" on the 5th floor. It is more of a room, with very limited equipment and weights. We went on Saturday morning and there was no available equipment, but they only have a couple of treadmills, bikes, and elliptically. During the work week I can't imagine getting on the equipment. The facility is poor, and if I'd known how poor I would never consider this hotel if I was traveling on business. It is no longer a luxury to have a complete Fitness Center. This needs to be addressed or business will be lost.

It's a shame because this place has so many other things going for it. The front desk crew was mixed. We got got great service from some, and others that didn't follow up on things the way I'd expect.

So all in all a good hotel, with a few things that need to be addressed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Donald and thank you not only for staying, but for your thorough review of the property. We have taken your remarks, particularly those regarding our fitness center, and passed them to our general manager for her review. Our objective is to assure a property that is both welcoming and functional for both business and leisure travelers and your feedback is critical as we plan renovations and move forward with our continued improvements. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    360
    199
    102
    46
See reviews for
157
263
55
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel maybe one of the spots for weddings in downtown, Cleveland. This hotel maybe enjoying casino traffic, but it needs a rebirth. The valet parking is poor, understaffed and sets the stage for additional disappointments. Staffing and service maybe a managerial issue; the front desk at times looks like a line at Disney World.
We did not eat at the hotel. The staff never delivered the refrigerator we order and required 4 calls to get a day bed
The beds were ok.
For a downtown location is sight is no Reniassancs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Bernie, thank you for visiting and for taking the time to write your review. We tremendously appreciate your feedback as this allows us to improve moving forward. On behalf of our entire team, we apologize for any disappointment regarding the valet and front desk issues. In addition, we definitely apologize should there have been any type of miscommunication regarding the fridge. We do offer mini refrigerators for guests based on availability. Without more information, we are unable to know what exactly happened with that situation however we definitely apologize for any problems. We hope that you will return in the future and enjoy a better experience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

For the price, this is not worth it. Rooms small and in need of TLC. A/C old and smelly. Bed clothing soiled, towels soiled. No frig or microwave in room. wi-fi had a charge of $17.00 to use and still had trouble with the signal. Our room wasn't cleaned till after 4:30-5 pm each day (a hassle when you need to freshen up for evening activities) Concierge not even familiar with the area, couldn't give directions or even find local restaurants or sites.
There is extreme difficulty finding coffee in the morning, had to go next door to the mall to get coffee in am. Exspensive resturant and Bar. Food and Service at the Convention was fair.

I would suggest the Hampton inn as an alternnative. Much better service, cleaner rooms, frig, free wi-fi, microwave, breakfast and half the price.

Room Tip: I would suggest the Hampton inn as an alternnative. Much better service, cleaner rooms, frig, free w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Kwf47, thank you very much for your thorough review of our property. We sincerely apologize for any and all disappointments you experienced during your stay. Our general manager would very much like to speak with you regarding the issues you noted. Should you wish to speak with her, please email her directly at rencleveland@renaissancehotels.com. We're truly very sorry about the problems you note and hope that we are able to make this right with you in the future. Thank you again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for one night October 12, 2013 and to be perfectly honest our trip to Cleveland was awful,totally and utterly terrible except for one bright spot, this hotel! I won't get into details I will just say it was our first and last trip to Cleveland. Ok so having said that, this hotel far exceeded my expectations. When searching for a property our options were very few due to limited inventory but of the available options the Reaissance seemed to have the best location and is a Marriott property(a brand I trust) so we decided to give it a try. I was a little nervous because in most cases I do not stay aywhere with less than an 85% rating on TA and this propety had about a 65% rating but like I said option were few. Well I have to say this hotel deserves a much better rating, and I am not easily impressed. So here in brief is what I think...Is the hotel old?Yep it is, but that is part of the charm. Does it neeed some updating? Sure but no more than any other property that hasn't been recently renovated and I actually found my rooms( we had two on club floor) to be quite modern and well appointed. The rooms are a little smal but its a downtown hotel and its like any other downtown room,similar to what I have seen in Detroit and Chicago. The staff was great before, during, and after my stay. If you twisted my arm to find something to complain about I would say I was disapointed that there was no hair dryer in the room and I thought the bed could be more a little more comfy but other than that I've got nothin. Great staff,clean room,cool vibe, and great location, so if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Downtown Cleveland defintely give it try its far better than TA will lead you to believe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Jamie, thank you for staying with us and we are so very sorry to hear about your overall trip, but thrilled that we were the bright shining spot to an otherwise dark experience! We appreciate all of your feedback and should you return to Cleveland (hopefully you'll give our great city another shot), we would love to see you again as our guests. One correction is that we do in fact have hair dryers in our guest rooms. They are in a velvet bag hanging in the guest room closet. Our apologies that you were not aware of this while visiting. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were in town this past weekend (October 12th-13th) for the Browns-Lions game. Found this hotel to be close to First Energy Stadium as well as the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

Our room was spacious, the only complaint I had was there was little to no air conditioning. There was a nice restaurant on site, good food, nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exposforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Exposforever, thank you for staying and for your review. We appreciate all of the positive comments. We also apologize for any problems you may have experienced with the A/C. As I'm sure you are aware, our beautiful property is almost 100 years old and certain quirks do exist. We hope that you will return again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantucket
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here at the Renaissance for a wedding. The wedding took place in the White and Gold Rooms at the hotel. The old elevators and stately decor makes guests feel like they are back in the "good old days" of Cleveland. The room and bed were comfortable, the bathroom was sufficient. This property is in walking distance of a few fun restaurants and bars downtown as well as the new casino. Our valet service was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Courtney, thank you so much for your wonderful review of our beautiful, historic, property! We love hearing from guests who appreciate the grandeur of our 100 year old decor. Thank you again for visiting and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The lobby and public areas are exquisite. The room we had was smaller but well appointed. I'm sure the size of the room relates to the era in which the hotel was originally constructed. The service was very friendly and the lobby bartenders were awesome. It's an elegant place to stay near all of the attractions of downtown Cleveland.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeB9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Mike and thank you for writing your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we have to say that you are absolutely correct in your assessment of our room sizes. The property actually opened in 1918 and of our 491 guest rooms, no two are alike! Also thanks very much for the nice words about our bar tenders; we've passed this on to both our general manager and food & beverage director. Thank you again for staying with us and we'll hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
Hilton Cleveland Downtown
#1 of 38 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Property: Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Address: 24 Public Sq, Cleveland, OH 44113-2213
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing