We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June, 2013 and had a great experience. The valet was seamless and the common areas are all beautiful. There was a rehearsal dinner group gathering in the lobby and we were still able to check-in quickly. We had read the reviews and expected the "smallness" of both the elevator and bathroom. And they are certainly small! It was not an issue for us though. The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. All of the downtown attractions, restaurants and stadiums were within walking distance. I would stay there on our next visit to Cleveland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peaches2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theona S, General Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Peaches2004,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor. I appreciate all of your comments. We are a historic biulding in Cleveland and our location is perfect for exploring all that there is to do in the downtown area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night with wife and another couple for a concert at Q Arena. Was right in center of town overlooking a square with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Room was spacious, comfortable and up to date, but kept the charm of what appeared to be an older hotel. It is connected to a mall and the Arena though an above ground tunnel system, which worked out well because it was raining. Overall great stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theona S, General Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Eric G123,

Thank you so much for rating us on tripadvisor. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are in fact one of the historic landmarks in Cleveland.

We look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the exterior this place is spectacular old architecture. The lobby was nice and the building in general very impressive. The room we had was a double queen. It was really small and had probably the smallest bathroom I have seen in a while. For a family of 4 it was not comfortable. The air conditioning was pathetic. Our window AC unit was ancient. I'm guessing it was installed during the Eisenhower years. It was almost useless. Sweating in bed is no fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reffz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theona S, General Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Reffz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor, I appreciate your comments as this will continue to help us improve for our future guests. Due to the historic nature of our hotel, every room is a little bit different. We in fact do have all different size bathrooms and I hope if you come back to Cleveland you will give us another chance to take care of you and your family.

Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location, lobby, bar, restaurant are all grand examples of either new or classic architecture that are high-end and relaxing. However, the rooms are dated, small, and lack privacy. Further, the gym is a joke and the pool being an indoor pool has thick chlorine/ bromine fumes in the air and it's not a pleasure to hang out in it. When you get to your room, you may as well knock on your neighbor's doors and introduce yourself because you're going to get to know them and they are going to get to know you. From whatever TV channel is on to bathroom noises, ya hear it all. (Don't stay here for your Honeymoon!!!) So, my recommendation is to hang out in the gorgeous lobby as long as you can, then get back to your room and crash out. The breakfasts are really good and most Cleveland attractions, which are numerous, are within walking distance. Oh, the "self-park" garage is a pain too, lots of super-tight spaces in a sketchy, twisty, disjointed parking structure next door.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room facing pool courtyard, get one with a view of city or lake. The air is stuffy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaissanceMan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Gorgeous "Fancy" hotel, lots of history and charm. Check out the hotel bar, it is absolutely gorgeous! The soaps and shampoos are from Bath and Body Works! The location can't be beat, right in the middle of it all, with access to Tower City.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved, loved, loved - Cleveland. We spent the week of the Fourth of July right in downtown at the Renaissance. Old style elegance, very helpful staff and great location - the only downside is that the king bed room was small small small and the bathroom even smaller. Two people could not be in the bathroom at the same time. I went to the front desk and asked for an upgrade which they cheerfully gave me - at no extra charge. WOW what a difference that made in our week's stay. We were upgraded to a King Executive Suite and it was so much more pleasant.
Lots of history at this hotel. It was a nice experience.

Room Tip: King Executive Suit - is the way to go. Just a regular room is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theona S, General Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Although it was the July 4th weekend, the hotel and its staff was up to the task of meeting our needs. Valet parking was quick and efficient as was the check in at the front desk. The lobby is "old fashioned elegant" as are the hallways to the rooms. Our room was NOT too small at all despite reviews which indicate that the rooms are. Such a comfortable bed and pillow to the point that I overslept the first night as I seldom need to set an alarm and get up on my own.

The room did have a refrigerator, coffee maker and hair dryer contrary to other reviews. (The hair dryer is in a bag, hanging on a hook in the closet, and the coffee maker is on the shelf of the nightstand). The room A/C unit is adjustable: open up the door to the controls, folks.

The lobby bar is staffed with great people who have great customer service down pat. This is probably due to their manager, Maurice, who was very visible in the bar as well as the hotel restaurant, Sans Souci, where we had an excellent dinner. (Hint: if you like crab cakes, they are available at both locations, and are beyond outstanding.)

The hotel location is attached to the Town City Center mall and the Horseshoe casino and is within easy walking distance to both Progressive Field and to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Nearby over on 4th street, you will find many restaurants with many al fresco dining options.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdkmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theona S, General Manager at Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear jDKMSU,

Thank you so much for your comments. Maurice is a great manager I agree. He takes pride in the entire hotel and will recieve a note regarding your comments.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
0.2 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Cleveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Address: 24 Public Sq, Cleveland, OH 44113-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: $122 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Cleveland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated downtown Cleveland hotel is located on Public Square and is connected to Tower City Center's exclusive boutiques, restaurants and cinema. Within walking distance to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the Renaissance's luxury hotel features vaulted ceilings, high arched windows and a beautiful marble fountain. A city landmark, the iconic Renaissance Cleveland Hotel was built in 1918 and its architecture reflects Cleveland's unique style and rich history. Plush, spacious, newly renovated rooms with well-appointed and upscale amenities await guests at this luxury hotel. Experience Sans Souci, serving guests award-winning cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect for conventions and wedding receptions, the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel offers an abundance of elegant event space and a magnificent Grand Ballroom. Discover Cleveland's landmark social and business address at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Renaissance
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing